why i cannot access my elastix server from outside

Discussion in 'General' started by mancoeg, Feb 5, 2010.

  1. mancoeg

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello

    i've installed elastix server with a real ip and disabled linux firewall

    my router is D-link 2640T with a disabled Firewall too

    i also opend the port 80 and 5060 on the router for that real ip

    i can access elastix webbased from inside my lan but i cannot from outside

    may be i forgot something
    any help will be appreciated
     
  2. hinzinho

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    0
    I never had any issues with accessing it from outside. Just make sure you have your router NAT'd correctly. Also test if the ports are opened correctly using this site:

    http://www.canyouseeme.org/
     
  3. gainusha

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    elastix uses https so you also need to open 443
     
  4. djgreencable

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    For this to work correctly you have two options:

    1 - Use port forwarding with the necessary port (80, 443, 5060, etc) to the "IP Address" of Elastix;

    2 - Configure your Elastix with public "IP Address".
     
  5. mancoeg

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh yes it works now

    thank you every body

    you are really good people i hope you all have a happy long life.


    __________________
     
  6. Amphibian

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    2
    Question?

    I clicked on the above listed link to check if ports are reachable, and when checking for port 5060 it says that it could not see your connect on my IP, connection refused, timing out. All the other ports like 22 & 80 show good. Is it normal for it to say this on this port or should I look for where I have problem. I have ports 5060-5070 (1 for udp & 1 for tcp), 10000-20000 (same udp/tcp) and others open and forwarded to server's IP.


    Thanks
    William
     
  7. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unless you have a tcp server on 5060 that site will so report that condition, (you don't)

    use

    nmap -v -sU -p 5060-5070 <ip off server>

    from a machine outside your LAN to check the UDP services. (change the port argument to check for other UDP services.

    man nmap

    and you will see how to a comprehensive audit af your machine in fuller detail, for any protocol/port you care to.

    p.s.

    Point nmap at the wrong machine or network and you WILL get told off!!
     
  8. Amphibian

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you sir for the information.


    William
     

Share This Page