Voice issue with PRI

tsku

Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
62
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Dear Guys,

I'm newbie in elastix and asterisk and perhaps someone is kind enough to show me some lights.

I've installed Elastix 2.0.2 with a Digium 4 X E1 card (TE405P) and the system was detected the card and I can make call in and out without problem. The only issue I have is the voip quality when we terminate call to PRI. The voice is noisy when talking. But SIP calls is working fine. Could it be codec issue or it is the PRI issue so I have contact Telikom to check for it?

Regards
 

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#2

tsku

Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
62
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
Hi Karma,

Thank for your quick information and I just have a quick read thru the docs but no luck to find a good information pertaining to my issue.
 

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
Read it again.
In 9 minutes you can't have time to read it and do some tests.
You might have a irq problem, or something like that.
That document is really good to fix sound quality issues.
 

tsku

Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
62
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
dear Karma,

Just checked the IRQ and it is confirm a dedicated IRQ. The IRQ latency also show normal (10002 within 10s). Therefore, we can conclude no IRQ issue for card.

Since this is not the ECHO issue, I've skip the echo cancellation portion

CPU0 CPU1
0: 11539775 11518712 IO-APIC-edge timer
1: 0 2 IO-APIC-edge i8042
7: 1 1 IO-APIC-edge parport0
8: 2 1 IO-APIC-edge rtc
9: 0 0 IO-APIC-level acpi
12: 3 2 IO-APIC-edge i8042
50: 1 1 IO-APIC-level ehci_hcd:usb1, uhci_hcd:usb2
58: 518563 519820 IO-APIC-level ata_piix, eth2
66: 70410 70907 IO-APIC-level eth0
74: 11497336 11516550 IO-APIC-level wct4xxp
82: 157 0 PCI-MSI HDA Intel
90: 18 0 PCI-MSI HDA Intel
169: 0 0 IO-APIC-level uhci_hcd:usb5
185: 0 0 IO-APIC-level uhci_hcd:usb3
233: 86 91 IO-APIC-level uhci_hcd:usb4
NMI: 0 0
LOC: 23097469 23097475
ERR: 0
MIS: 0


cat /etc/asterisk/chan_dahdi.conf
; Auto-generated by /usr/sbin/hardware_detector
[trunkgroups]

[channels]
context=from-pstn
signalling=fxs_ks
rxwink=300 ; Atlas seems to use long (250ms) winks
usecallerid=yes
hidecallerid=no
callwaiting=yes
usecallingpres=yes
callwaitingcallerid=yes
threewaycalling=yes
transfer=yes
canpark=yes
cancallforward=yes
callreturn=yes
echocancel=yes
echocancelwhenbridged=no
faxdetect=incoming
echotraining=800
rxgain=0.0
txgain=0.0
callgroup=1
pickupgroup=1

;Uncomment these lines if you have problems with the disconection of your analog lines
;busydetect=yes
;busycount=3


immediate=no

#include dahdi-channels.conf
#include chan_dahdi_additional.conf
 

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
Hi tsku,

Can you also post your dahdi-channels.conf , chan_dahdi_additional.conf and /etc/dahdi/system.conf files?

You could run dahdi_test for some minutes and see what results it brings.
 

tsku

Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
62
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
###dahdi-channels.conf -> pls note I've 2 x PRI is connected and therefore i commended span 3 & 4
; Autogenerated by /usr/sbin/dahdi_genconf on Wed Sep 29 15:29:55 2010
; If you edit this file and execute /usr/sbin/dahdi_genconf again,
; your manual changes will be LOST.
; Dahdi Channels Configurations (chan_dahdi.conf)
;
; This is not intended to be a complete chan_dahdi.conf. Rather, it is intended
; to be #include-d by /etc/chan_dahdi.conf that will include the global settings
;

; Span 1: TE4/0/1 "T4XXP (PCI) Card 0 Span 1" (MASTER)
group=0,11
context=from-pstn
switchtype = euroisdn
signalling = pri_cpe
channel => 1-15,17-31
context = default
group = 63

; Span 2: TE4/0/2 "T4XXP (PCI) Card 0 Span 2"
group=0,12
context=from-pstn
switchtype = euroisdn
signalling = pri_cpe
channel => 32-46,48-62
context = default
group = 63

;; Span 3: TE4/0/3 "T4XXP (PCI) Card 0 Span 3"
;group=0,13
;context=from-pstn
;switchtype = euroisdn
;signalling = pri_cpe
;channel => 63-77,79-93
;context = default
;group = 63

;; Span 4: TE4/0/4 "T4XXP (PCI) Card 0 Span 4"
;group=0,14
;context=from-pstn
;switchtype = euroisdn
signalling = pri_cpe
;channel => 94-108,110-124
;context = default
;group = 63



## chan_dahdi.conf
; Auto-generated by /usr/sbin/hardware_detector
[trunkgroups]

[channels]
context=from-pstn
signalling=fxs_ks
rxwink=300 ; Atlas seems to use long (250ms) winks
usecallerid=yes
hidecallerid=no
callwaiting=yes
usecallingpres=yes
callwaitingcallerid=yes
threewaycalling=yes
transfer=yes
canpark=yes
cancallforward=yes
callreturn=yes
echocancel=yes
echocancelwhenbridged=no
faxdetect=incoming
echotraining=800
rxgain=0.0
txgain=0.0
callgroup=1
pickupgroup=1

;Uncomment these lines if you have problems with the disconection of your analog lines
;busydetect=yes
;busycount=3


immediate=no

#include dahdi-channels.conf
#include chan_dahdi_additional.conf


##/etc/dahdi/system.conf
# Autogenerated by /usr/sbin/dahdi_genconf on Wed Sep 29 15:29:55 2010
# If you edit this file and execute /usr/sbin/dahdi_genconf again,
# your manual changes will be LOST.
# Dahdi Configuration File
#
# This file is parsed by the Dahdi Configurator, dahdi_cfg
#
# Span 1: TE4/0/1 "T4XXP (PCI) Card 0 Span 1" (MASTER)
span=1,1,0,ccs,hdb3,crc4
# termtype: te
bchan=1-15,17-31
dchan=16
echocanceller=oslec,1-15,17-31

# Span 2: TE4/0/2 "T4XXP (PCI) Card 0 Span 2"
span=2,2,0,ccs,hdb3,crc4
# termtype: te
bchan=32-46,48-62
dchan=47
echocanceller=oslec,32-46,48-62

# Span 3: TE4/0/3 "T4XXP (PCI) Card 0 Span 3"
span=3,3,0,ccs,hdb3,crc4
# termtype: te
bchan=63-77,79-93
dchan=78
echocanceller=oslec,63-77,79-93

# Span 4: TE4/0/4 "T4XXP (PCI) Card 0 Span 4"
span=4,4,0,ccs,hdb3,crc4
# termtype: te
bchan=94-108,110-124
dchan=109
echocanceller=oslec,94-108,110-124

# Global data

loadzone = us
defaultzone = us





###dahdi_test
Opened pseudo dahdi interface, measuring accuracy...
99.998% 99.991% 99.997% 99.997% 99.997% 99.995% 100.000% 99.997%
99.997% 99.997% 99.998% 100.000% 99.996% 100.000% 99.998% 99.999%
99.997% 99.997% 100.000% 99.995% 99.995% 100.000% 99.999% 99.996%
99.997% 99.996% 99.994% 99.999% 99.997%
--- Results after 29 passes ---
Best: 100.000 -- Worst: 99.991 -- Average: 99.997151, Difference: 99.997272
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#8
Then perhaps it's time for

dahdi_monitor

rx/txgain settings and

miliwatt testing

(previous posts here)

and no it's probably not a codec issue you can only use ulaw and alaw on a PRI, Malaysia only uses alaw, but the difference on a voice call between ulaw and alaw is purely a marginal pre/de emphasis.
 

tsku

Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
62
Likes
0
Points
0
#9
Hi Dicko,

the RX/TX currently using default which is 0.0. If not mistaken the RX/TX gain will only affect the audio volume instead of noise?

How should I do the dahdi_monitor and the miliwatt test? Sorry because I'm still learning asterisk and perhaps you can share with me more.

Thanks.
 

tsku

Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
62
Likes
0
Points
0
#10
Hi Dicko,

FYI, the server currently located in PNG not in Malaysia.
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#11
There is a thread that starts at

http://www.elastix.org/component/kunena ... g=en#16550

It is a little old and zaptel is now dahdi , but I believe the essentials are the same,

I suggest you turn your echo canceler off first before proceeding, it will mask too much, and correcting imbalance noise and echo is far more effective after optimizing everything below that level first.

Be aware that "noise" can also be causes by frameslips and sync errors at the physical PRI level. pri debug and dahdi_tool in the absence of a line analyzer can be helpful in a pinch.
 

tsku

Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
62
Likes
0
Points
0
#12
Hi Dicko,

When I turn on Pri Bebug for SPAN 1, I got lot of messages as below, what does it mean?

-- Got SABME from network peer.
Sending Unnumbered Acknowledgement
-- Got SABME from network peer.
Sending Unnumbered Acknowledgement
-- Got SABME from network peer.
Sending Unnumbered Acknowledgement
-- Got SABME from network peer.
Sending Unnumbered Acknowledgement
-- Got SABME from network peer.
Sending Unnumbered Acknowledgement
-- Got SABME from network peer.
Sending Unnumbered Acknowledgement
-- Got SABME from network peer.
Sending Unnumbered Acknowledgement
-- Got SABME from network peer.
Sending Unnumbered Acknowledgement
-- Got SABME from network peer.
Sending Unnumbered Acknowledgement
-- Got SABME from network peer.
Sending Unnumbered Acknowledgement
-- Got SABME from network peer.
Sending Unnumbered Acknowledgement
-- Got SABME from network peer.
Sending Unnumbered Acknowledgement
-- Got SABME from network peer.
Sending Unnumbered Acknowledgement
-- Got SABME from network peer.
Sending Unnumbered Acknowledgement
-- Got SABME from network peer.
Sending Unnumbered Acknowledgement
-- Got SABME from network peer.
Sending Unnumbered Acknowledgement
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#13
Sorry , I don't know, I've never run into that.
 

tsku

Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
62
Likes
0
Points
0
#14
I noticed whenever telikom come and check the line (i.e. plug and unpug PRI), i've to restart the service or this message will turn up and we can't make call out through PRI. After I restart the service (both dahdi and asterisk) and the message just disappear and I can make call out again. Is this normal?
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#15
My guess is it's a misconfigured PRI interface, one of you guys aren't speaking quite the same signaling language, you will have to check with your provider there there are dozens if not more variations.
ref:

http://www.voip-info.org/wiki/view/Asterisk+PRI

Perhaps you could post your carrier, maybe someone has experience with them.


Good luck
 

tsku

Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
62
Likes
0
Points
0
#16
Just to report my PRI the quality issue solved by just disable the CRC4 for my E1. I guess the telikom PRI do not support CRC4 and caused the quality issue and they are using Alcatel.
 

Damgero

Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
0
#17
Re: Re:Voice issue with PRI

hi tsku, im having trouble installing a te405p on elastix 2.0, system detects it, but is not working like should be, it dont detect any cable on it, reading this forum, i see that you were able to do it work, did you have some trouble installing it?, or elastix detect it automacly?

sorry about my english, i hope you understand.
 

fmvillares

Joined
Sep 8, 2007
Messages
1,785
Likes
0
Points
0
#18
Re: Re:Voice issue with PRI

try this replacing dchan=xx to hardhdlc=xx
it occurs sometimes if the physical link is different from the standard one
 

Damgero

Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
0
#19
Re: Re:Voice issue with PRI

Still the same, leds on the card, are off.. after loading driver. when server is booting card flashes red, after loading driver it goes off. it should be flashing red until detects a cable plugged in
 

fmvillares

Joined
Sep 8, 2007
Messages
1,785
Likes
0
Points
0
#20
Re: Re:Voice issue with PRI

do you try with newer dahdi 2.4.1 and latest libpri??? which versions u r using?
 

Members online

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,898
Messages
130,879
Members
17,560
Latest member
manuelc
Top