vitual fax problems

lonelife

Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
11
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
i installed elastix1.3 and add a IAX extensions,vitual fax, and give a DID number to the extension(the DID number is SIP,but the DID number can be called by any pstn)

er...er...when i dialed the DID number by a NEC fax,i will hear the fax voice,then press start button,i am waiting....,it's wrong,the fax give me some wrong delicate,and the vitual fax can't receive the fax

i had read the "elastix without tears",but it still wrong

could any one help me? thanks

PS:
PSTN(NEC fax)-->SIP TRUNK(DID number)-->ELASTIX-->IAX EXTENSION(vitual fax)

The IAX EXTENSION could receive or send FAX?
 

jgutierrez

Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
5,737
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
is your fax extension registered?
try
asterisk -rx "iax2 show peers"

when you receive a fax, does it at least arrives into the "Fax viewer"?
 

lonelife

Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
11
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
yes,the iax extensions had registered

and i see the fax state,it's receiving.....but at last i can't get any fax,not send to my email and i can't find any PDF or tiff document in the server(/var/spool/hylafax/recvq/)

just find some logs at /var/spool/hylafax/log/
 

lonelife

Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
11
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
Oct 20 18:16:08.33: [ 3955]: SESSION BEGIN 000000009
Oct 20 18:16:08.33: [ 3955]: HylaFAX (tm) Version 4.3.3
Oct 20 18:16:08.33: [ 3955]: CallID: "4773888" "4773888" "<NONE>" "s"
Oct 20 18:16:08.33: [ 3955]: MODEM set XON/XOFF/FLUSH: input ignored, output disabled
Oct 20 18:16:08.33: [ 3955]: <-- [4:ATA\r]
Oct 20 18:16:12.13: [ 3955]: --> [7]
Oct 20 18:16:12.16: [ 3955]: ANSWER: FAX CONNECTION DEVICE '/dev/ttyIAX1'
Oct 20 18:16:12.16: [ 3955]: STATE CHANGE: ANSWERING -> RECEIVING
Oct 20 18:16:12.16: [ 3955]: RECV FAX: begin
Oct 20 18:16:12.16: [ 3955]: <-- HDLC<32:FF C0 04 B5 00 AA 12 9E 36 86 62 82 1A 04 14 2E B6 94 04 6A A6 4E CE 96 F6 76 04 2C 74 CC 74 CC>
Oct 20 18:16:12.16: [ 3955]: <-- data [32]
Oct 20 18:16:12.16: [ 3955]: <-- data [2]
Oct 20 18:16:13.23: [ 3955]: --> [7]
Oct 20 18:16:13.23: [ 3955]: <-- HDLC<23:FF C0 02 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04>
Oct 20 18:16:13.23: [ 3955]: <-- data [23]
Oct 20 18:16:13.23: [ 3955]: <-- data [2]
Oct 20 18:16:14.05: [ 3955]: --> [7]
Oct 20 18:16:14.05: [ 3955]: <-- HDLC<13:FF C8 01 00 73 5F 23 01 FB C1 01 01 18>
Oct 20 18:16:14.05: [ 3955]: <-- data [13]
Oct 20 18:16:14.05: [ 3955]: <-- data [2]
Oct 20 18:16:14.63: [ 3955]: --> [2]
Oct 20 18:16:14.63: [ 3955]: <-- [9:AT+FRH=3\r]
Oct 20 18:16:15.15: [ 3955]: --> [7]
Oct 20 18:16:25.16: [ 3955]: MODEM TIMEOUT: receiving HDLC frame data
Oct 20 18:16:25.16: [ 3955]: <-- data [1]
Oct 20 18:16:25.17: [ 3955]: --> [2]
Oct 20 18:16:25.17: [ 3955]: DELAY 1500 ms
Oct 20 18:16:26.67: [ 3955]: <-- [9:AT+FTH=3\r]
Oct 20 18:16:26.67: [ 3955]: --> [7]
Oct 20 18:16:26.67: [ 3955]: <-- HDLC<32:FF C0 04 B5 00 AA 12 9E 36 86 62 82 1A 04 14 2E B6 94 04 6A A6 4E CE 96 F6 76 04 2C 74 CC 74 CC>
Oct 20 18:16:26.67: [ 3955]: <-- data [32]
Oct 20 18:16:26.67: [ 3955]: <-- data [2]
Oct 20 18:16:28.64: [ 3955]: --> [7]
Oct 20 18:16:28.64: [ 3955]: <-- HDLC<23:FF C0 02 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04>
Oct 20 18:16:28.64: [ 3955]: <-- data [23]
Oct 20 18:16:28.64: [ 3955]: <-- data [2]
Oct 20 18:16:29.50: [ 3955]: --> [7]
Oct 20 18:16:29.50: [ 3955]: <-- HDLC<13:FF C8 01 00 73 5F 23 01 FB C1 01 01 18>
Oct 20 18:16:29.50: [ 3955]: <-- data [13]
Oct 20 18:16:29.50: [ 3955]: <-- data [2]
Oct 20 18:16:30.10: [ 3955]: --> [2]
Oct 20 18:16:30.10: [ 3955]: <-- [9:AT+FRH=3\r]
Oct 20 18:16:37.10: [ 3955]: --> [0:]
Oct 20 18:16:37.10: [ 3955]: MODEM <Empty line>
Oct 20 18:16:37.10: [ 3955]: MODEM TIMEOUT: waiting for v.21 carrier
Oct 20 18:16:37.10: [ 3955]: <-- data [1]
Oct 20 18:16:37.10: [ 3955]: --> [2]
Oct 20 18:16:37.10: [ 3955]: DELAY 1500 ms
Oct 20 18:16:38.60: [ 3955]: <-- [9:AT+FTH=3\r]
Oct 20 18:16:38.60: [ 3955]: --> [10:NO CARRIER]
Oct 20 18:16:38.60: [ 3955]: DELAY 1500 ms
Oct 20 18:16:40.10: [ 3955]: <-- [9:AT+FTH=3\r]
Oct 20 18:16:40.10: [ 3955]: --> [5]
Oct 20 18:16:40.10: [ 3955]: RECV FAX: RSPREC error/got EOT
Oct 20 18:16:40.10: [ 3955]: RECV FAX: end
Oct 20 18:16:40.10: [ 3955]: SESSION END
 

jgutierrez

Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
5,737
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
I forgot to ask you, from where you are receiving a fax?

If it is from a SIP/IAX2 trunk:
* what codec are you using? if it is a compression codec, it is very likely that you will have troubles, try with ulaw/alaw

* does your provider uses T.38? If I'm not mistaken, asterisk has some troubleas dealing with it...


If it is from an analog line:
* it is likely that there is noice within it, I'll recommend you to stop asterisk and run:
fxotune -i 4
it will start scanning all your ports, and try to use the correct impedances for each one of them, also it will deals with eco issues.

* have you set any gains? try to set them to zero (rxgain, txgain)

* have you enabled a custom eco cancellation property/value ?
 

lonelife

Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
11
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
hi
jgutierrez,thanks for your help

er...i am receiving a fax from SIP trunk,the provider uses T.38 and also ulaw/alaw,i changed the code but it still unsucessfull.

somebody tell me elastix deal with fax has some problems ,said elastix has bugs with hylafax,is it true?
 

jgutierrez

Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
5,737
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
noup, there is no troubles between hylafax and elastix :silly:

in your case, asterisk still doesn't handles correctly T.38, I have been reading that there is some work being done about it.

I have found something, take a look on it, if you are going to try it, be sure to test it first on a system that isn't in production.

http://www.voipinfo.org/wiki/view/Asterisk+T.38

Let me know what happens
 

lonelife

Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
11
Likes
0
Points
0
#8
dear jgutierrez

first, i must thanks for your reply and help!

at last,i changed a ATA,close the T38 protocol,only use Ulaw,and disabled eacho,set rx\tx gain to zero,finally i success! i really appreciated you offering to help!

by the way,if i use the IAX extension send a fax to PSTN,it's not success,any step must i to do ?
 

lonelife

Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
11
Likes
0
Points
0
#9
i am sorry
factually,it is still wrong

i confirm my instruction

FAX machine(ATA,and register on a sip proxy,no t38,use Ulaw)-->SIP DID--->ELASTIX--->IAX EXTENSION
it's working well

but

PSTN--->SIP DID--->ELASTIX--->IAX EXTENSION
it's working wrong
 

lonelife

Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
11
Likes
0
Points
0
#10
i think i have to post my steps

1:creat a IAX extension
user extension:300
display name:fax300
secret:300
fax extension:freepbx default
fax email:use my email
fax detctiont type:NVFax

others keep it

2:creat a vitual fax
vitual fax name:test fax
destination email:use my email
fax extension:300
secret:300
country code and area code:use my country code and area code

3:pBX--general settins:keep all default

4:add a sip trunk,it's also a DID number and could be called from PSTN

5:inbound routes:any did/any cid,and set the destination to extension:300,others keep default

Okay,just do it,dial the DID number from PSTN by a fax machine,i can get the fax tone,press the start buttom of fax machine and see the vitual fax status is:Receiving facsimile on ttyIAX1

at last,i could't receiv any PDF document!my fax machine tells me something wrong and fax send Failure

any step i did wrong? or i must to do other step?

help me please!

ps:i am very sad for my poor English:( ,or anybody understand Chinese? i wish i can type it in Chinese:laugh:
 

jgutierrez

Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
5,737
Likes
0
Points
0
#11
ok,

lets try the following:

1. Edit your IAX2 extension (the one that is used to receive your faxes)

Go to the Fax Handling Section:
* Fax Email
leave it blank
* Fax Detection Type
set it to "none"


2. Go to General Settings

Go to the section "Fax Machine"
* Extension of fax machine for receiving faxes
set it to "system"


Try again to receive a fax
 

lonelife

Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
11
Likes
0
Points
0
#12
thanks jgutierrez

I did it as you told me,but it's still work out:(
 

jgutierrez

Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
5,737
Likes
0
Points
0
#13
well, if your provider uses T.38 on your SIP trunk you will have some problems...
 

lonelife

Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
11
Likes
0
Points
0
#14
thanks

and i am going to pause the vitual fax test,turn to common fax,such as follow struction

PSTN--FXO(gateway,G711)--elastix--fxs(gateway,and registed in elastix by sip,G711)--fax machine

the fax machine can receive fax or send fax?

regards
 

jgutierrez

Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
5,737
Likes
0
Points
0
#15
The fax machine can send/receive faxes, well that depends on the mode that it is working on. I have set up a fax machine in fax mode, and it wasn't able to receive faxes, then I switch it into voice-fax mode, and it started receiving faxes B) you will need to do some tests to achieve the corrrect mode.

Also when you try to send axes, you must select the correct moe, for instances I have many trobles when it is set to "T.38", instead I use "Voice and Fax Passthrough"

By the way, when you receive fax through a SIP trunk, you must take into account some settings:
1. that your trunk is using the correct codec (ulaw or alaw), don't use any compression codec, such as g729
2. that your trunk doesn't uses T.38 (asterisk won't be able to handle it directly)
 

garcia.ronald.d

Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
134
Likes
0
Points
0
#16
Hola,

Tengo configurado 4 fax virtuales (3000,3001,3002,3003), funcionan perfecto, reciben y envian fax sin ningún problema.

El problema es con Jhylafax, este programa en configuración pide un usuario, contraseña y servidor al cual se va a conectar. Por ejemplo:

Servidor:10.52.4.41 (servidor de asterisk)
usuario: 3000
passwordXXXX

En teoría el jhylafax debería tomar la extensión 3000 para realizar la llamada, pero el jhylafax agarra cualquier extensión de fax.

Esto es un problema si, por ejemplo: yo mando un fax en teoría con mi fax virtual 3000, pero en realidad usa el 3001. Si una persona manda un fax al 3001 este estará ocupado.

es más, en las opciones de usuario y password del jhylafax coloco un password cualquiera que no esté configurado en mi asterisk e igual realiza las llamadas.

Pareciera que la autenticaciñon con hylafax no se está haciendo, deja pasar a cualquiera que venga de hylafax

Por favor, que puede estar pasando?
 

jgutierrez

Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
5,737
Likes
0
Points
0
#17
Bueno, yo te recomendaría que uses un ATA junto con una máquina de fax para hacer envíos, y para la recepción puedes usar el hylafax
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,913
Messages
130,917
Members
17,589
Latest member
cristian.saiz
Top