Upgrading modules for Unembedded FreePBX

Discussion in 'General' started by Nakkoush, Feb 14, 2009.

1. Nakkoush

I am new to Elastix and migrant from Trixbox..

After installing Elastix 1.3, which is the latest stable version I found here, I went to the unembedded FreePBX module updates where I found that almost all the modules needs to be updated..

Is it safe to upgrade all what is availbe as for modules admin for the unembedded FreePBX?
    Does it affect the stability of Elastix or creates any conflicts?

2. wiseoldowl

There are really two issues here:

Should I upgrade the modules that need upgrading? YES, those are safe to upgrade.

Should I install and use the upgrade module to go to the next version of FreePBX? You can, but you may find that it breaks the extensions pages in Elastix (all the fields will be blank), so you will then have to use Unembedded FreePBX to add or edit extensions until the next version of Elastix comes out (or find the fix to Elastix that was posted on this board - I just can't remember where that message was or I'd point you to it).

At least, this is my experience. YMMV but other than the possibility of blank extension pages in Elastix (and there IS a fix for that posted in one of these forums) I don't think you will have any issues. I have always let FreePBX upgrade modules and that has never caused a problem.

3. Nakkoush

Thanks wiseoldowl, in this case I prefer to remain without updating anything untill the next stable Elastix release with the issues of updates sorted out..

4. wiseoldowl

That might be counterproductive because FreePBX module updates (as opposed to major version updates) are often issued to fix bugs in the individual modules. But, it's your system, and if everything you use is working exactly as you expect then perhaps your strategy is viable.

5. Nakkoush

Being a newbie at Elastix and in IP PBX in general, I prefer not to mix up things in the beginning..

6. agidi