Upgrading from 1.1 to 1.2

Discussion in 'General' started by azmerlin, Sep 25, 2008.

1. azmerlin

Has anyone done this upgrade, any issues, any problems ?
    Also, how exactly is it done ? do I need to start from new ? backup, install and restore or what, I have never done this before and seem to have bugs in my current ( working) PBX which I hope the new version will fix.
    Please help

2. Bob

Bob

Azmerlin,

On the the whole the upgrade is relatively simple. I have done a lot of them and none have failed.

If you are really worried, I would do a backup of your Freepbx, just so that you have the really time consuming work backed up, and if you need to get your PBX back online performing basic functions, then this will get you going usually within 30 mins from starting a rebuild.

I personally only do a Freepbx backup on all the systems (although I have never needed it) that I have upgraded.

With no disrespect to the Elastix Developers, I could not place a large amount of trust in the Elastix Backup, partly due to its earlier days where it failed, but also to be honest, there are just way to many variables that could fail with all the applications loaded, which are not under Elastix direct control.

The only backup I would trust is a disk image backup, and you could use Clonezilla for this and probably other similar ones around.

Otherwise, all you have to do is

yum -y update on your current working Elastix box at the console.

Which will upgrade all the linux tools, Elastix, etc to the latest version.

If you still have problems, bugs after the upgrade, let us know what is causing problems.

Regards

Bob

3. azmerlin

Thanks for the info bob,
    So what you are saying is that all I need to do is type yum -y update and wait ?
    Will all the settings, faxes, users and so on remain and potentially continue working as usual ?
    Thanks

4. Bob

Bob

Azmerlin,

Steps are:

1) at the Linux console type
    yum update yum