Updating Elastix

Discussion in 'General' started by Joshoua, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. Joshoua

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone.
    I have currently installed, the Elastix 1.5.2-2 distribution, and I can say that I am quite happy.
    Not that the 1.6 version is out, I have no idea on how to upgrade.
    Should I just insert the CD and reboot the server choosing Upgrade on the boot menu?
    Should I update using yum from an SSH connection?
    What should I backup?
    Will I have to set up my system from scratch after I upgrade?
    Please let me know of your ideas. I really put a lot of effort in making the system as I wanted, I do not want to lose it now.
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. jcardinal

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    It was recommended to me that I just do a "yum update" to go from 1.5.2 to 1.6. However, I had modified every default password I could find on the system, and some of them were reverted to their defaults after the update. Also, it seems the directory where backups are stored has changed from /var/www/html/backup/ to /var/www/backup/. I had a script (from this post) in cron that was creating daily backups, so that script needed to be modified to store the backups in the new location.

    Other than those minor issues, upgrading via yum was pretty easy. That said, the better backups you have before you start the upgrade, the better you'll feel if things start to go badly. Good luck!
     
  3. nachogomez

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Joshoua

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply guys.
    I have not done the update yet but I will try it this weekend.
    Hope everything goes OK or people in the office will have a panic attack :)
     
  5. loanrefi

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have done a yum update and everything is working fine except Faxing. Faxing was working fine prior to the upgrade, now it's broken. I have no inbound/outbound faxing. All the settings remain the same before the upgrade.

    I even ran /usr/sbin/faxsetup to see if it would fix things but I went through the prompts and didn't fix anything.

    The issue is this;

    The fax number Dialed is answers but no fax tone, Virtual Fax List shows modems with no activity.

    If I loginto AVANT Fax and go to log section there is no record of any activity of any kind.

    I already went through my extensions to re-save the information along with the inbound destinations nothing changed.

    Here is my setup prior to upgrade & after. Prior to upgrade faxing was working fine.

    1. In FreePBX -
    Extension: 1880
    Display Name: 80 20 Mtg Fax1
    This device uses iax2 technology.
    Assigned DID/CID "(888)123-4567
    Voicemail: Disabled

    In Route DID Number (888)123-4567
    Fax Handling
    Fax Extension: Disabled
    Fax Email: "Nothing"
    Fax Detection Type: None
    Pause After Answer: "Blank"

    Set Destination: Extension 1880

    In Virtual Fax List My Setup is this;
    Virtual Fax Name: * 80 20 Mtg Fax1
    Fax Extension (IAX): * 1880
    Destination Email: * fax@example.com
    Secret (IAX): * 1880
    Caller ID Name: Fax1
    Country Code: * 1
    Caller ID Number: 8881234567
    Area Code: * 888

    I need to get AvantFAX working.
    I have NV_Apps_elastix_0-f1b156f398276beb9feb5856e88edc88.zip installed

    I need help getting inbound/outbound faxing working.

    Thanks!
     
  6. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you updated Asterisk, it is possible you fell into the

    calltoken*=

    security enhancements with IAX2 connections fix-it needed.
     
  7. loanrefi

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    vi /etc/asterisk/iax_general_custom.conf
    Add this line
    calltokenoptional = 0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0

    Fix the issue!!

    I upgraded two virtual machines, one in VMware with Ubuntu 8.04LTS as host and 2nd with ESXI 4 as host. The only problem I had on both upgrades was this "calltonen" thing.

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page