Updating Elastix

Joshoua

Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
15
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Hello everyone.
I have currently installed, the Elastix 1.5.2-2 distribution, and I can say that I am quite happy.
Not that the 1.6 version is out, I have no idea on how to upgrade.
Should I just insert the CD and reboot the server choosing Upgrade on the boot menu?
Should I update using yum from an SSH connection?
What should I backup?
Will I have to set up my system from scratch after I upgrade?
Please let me know of your ideas. I really put a lot of effort in making the system as I wanted, I do not want to lose it now.
Thanks in advance.
 

jcardinal

Joined
Jul 13, 2009
Messages
35
Likes
0
Points
6
#2
It was recommended to me that I just do a "yum update" to go from 1.5.2 to 1.6. However, I had modified every default password I could find on the system, and some of them were reverted to their defaults after the update. Also, it seems the directory where backups are stored has changed from /var/www/html/backup/ to /var/www/backup/. I had a script (from this post) in cron that was creating daily backups, so that script needed to be modified to store the backups in the new location.

Other than those minor issues, upgrading via yum was pretty easy. That said, the better backups you have before you start the upgrade, the better you'll feel if things start to go badly. Good luck!
 

nachogomez

Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
65
Likes
0
Points
0
#3

Joshoua

Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
15
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
Thanks for the reply guys.
I have not done the update yet but I will try it this weekend.
Hope everything goes OK or people in the office will have a panic attack :)
 

loanrefi

Joined
Aug 20, 2009
Messages
41
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
I have done a yum update and everything is working fine except Faxing. Faxing was working fine prior to the upgrade, now it's broken. I have no inbound/outbound faxing. All the settings remain the same before the upgrade.

I even ran /usr/sbin/faxsetup to see if it would fix things but I went through the prompts and didn't fix anything.

The issue is this;

The fax number Dialed is answers but no fax tone, Virtual Fax List shows modems with no activity.

If I loginto AVANT Fax and go to log section there is no record of any activity of any kind.

I already went through my extensions to re-save the information along with the inbound destinations nothing changed.

Here is my setup prior to upgrade & after. Prior to upgrade faxing was working fine.

1. In FreePBX -
Extension: 1880
Display Name: 80 20 Mtg Fax1
This device uses iax2 technology.
Assigned DID/CID "(888)123-4567
Voicemail: Disabled

In Route DID Number (888)123-4567
Fax Handling
Fax Extension: Disabled
Fax Email: "Nothing"
Fax Detection Type: None
Pause After Answer: "Blank"

Set Destination: Extension 1880

In Virtual Fax List My Setup is this;
Virtual Fax Name: * 80 20 Mtg Fax1
Fax Extension (IAX): * 1880
Destination Email: * fax@example.com
Secret (IAX): * 1880
Caller ID Name: Fax1
Country Code: * 1
Caller ID Number: 8881234567
Area Code: * 888

I need to get AvantFAX working.
I have NV_Apps_elastix_0-f1b156f398276beb9feb5856e88edc88.zip installed

I need help getting inbound/outbound faxing working.

Thanks!
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
If you updated Asterisk, it is possible you fell into the

calltoken*=

security enhancements with IAX2 connections fix-it needed.
 

loanrefi

Joined
Aug 20, 2009
Messages
41
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
vi /etc/asterisk/iax_general_custom.conf
Add this line
calltokenoptional = 0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0

Fix the issue!!

I upgraded two virtual machines, one in VMware with Ubuntu 8.04LTS as host and 2nd with ESXI 4 as host. The only problem I had on both upgrades was this "calltonen" thing.

Thanks!
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,900
Messages
130,884
Members
17,561
Latest member
marouen
Top