Unable to get video working

Discussion in 'General' started by KCITS, Jun 18, 2010.

  1. KCITS

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I hope this is not too much of a newbie question but I have been battling for days trying to get video working with either X-lite or bria. The free versions were crashing so I tried version 4 beta and eventually paid for a version of bria 3.

    I keep getting the message "Waiting for remote Video"

    I have searched for and followed instructions in many posts most relating to asterisk or trixbox, but this does not help.

    I have added the below lines in sip_custom.conf, in fact in frustration I have tried adding it to several sip_ conf files, but still get the same message.

    videosupport=yes
    maxcallbitrate=384
    allow=g729
    allow=g723
    allow=h261
    allow=h263
    allow=h263p
    allow=h264

    What am I missing, perhaps there is a need to "allow video" for each extension.

    At this stage I am just testing on a LAN between workstations with no firewall or router.
     
  2. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hi.

    First, prefer to put on every extension the video codec instead of general parameters.
    Second, try to get the good Xlite version: V3.0 Build 53117 and disable the automatic update (dial a key sequence like ***7469), leave blank the field.
    After this version, when you try to send a video, the Xlite breakdown with some error.

    XLite, not use the H264 into the free verison, and the H261 is not use.
    So, use only H263 & H263p.

    Select the code into Xlite.

    I use the video between XLite and a gxv3140.

    Regards
     
  3. KCITS

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    Sorry if I misunderstand, but by suggesting that I input this into each extension, do you mean I should append the sip_additional.conf by entering the below lines under each users extension?

    As I have gone into PBX, extensions, and clicked on a users extension but can not find anywhere to enter the values you supplied.

    PK
     
  4. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    No, into every extension on Freepbx, you have the field allow
    Into this field, you must put for example:
    ulaw&h263&h263p

    So:
    disallow : all
    allow: ulaw&h263&h263p

    don't modify sip_additionnal.conf manually.

    Every information into sip_general_custom.conf are used when there's no SIP information. So, it's only the SIP default parameters. But it's not very reliable. It's better to put the good parameters into every extension device. Like that, you could have a control on your config.
     
  5. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    Else, you could read at first, Elastix Without Tears to know how to configure Elastix.

    Regards
     
  6. KCITS

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Franck
    Thanks for your suggestions, we did scour the LWOTears pdf but did not find anything to assist with this problem.

    I removed the entry from sip_custom.conf and have entered in the values,

    disallow all
    allow ulaw&h263&h263p

    but still the message "waiting for remote video" is displayed, i can only see the local camera image in the small window.

    I searched the logs in /var/logs/asterisk to see if there are any clues but I did not find any reference to these codecs or failures, I only see that the call was successfully established.
     
  7. KCITS

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    Restarted asterisk service and i was unable to start video at all until i re-entered :

    videosupport=yes
    maxcallbitrate=384
    allow=g729
    allow=g723
    allow=h261
    allow=h263
    allow=h263p
    allow=h264

    into sip_custom.conf, not sure if I need all these values but, now although I can activate video again there is still no remote video displayed.

    Any additional help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  8. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    You did put these codecs into Freepbx on every extension using the video?
    Verifiy the call with this cmd (CLI).
    sip show channels
    and look at the codecs used.

    Code:
    sip show channels
    Peer             User/ANR         Call ID      Seq (Tx/Rx)  Format           Hold     Last Message
    193.107.20.92    104              26bc0a7b799  00102/00000  0x8 (alaw)       No       Tx: ACK
    193.107.20.66    122              YmU5NDlkNzJ  00101/00002  0x2 (gsm)        No       Rx: ACK
     
  9. KCITS

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    I entered the values into Elastix web interface but confirmed they were also in the freepbx, extension, details also

    I executed the command and returned
    Peer User/ANR Call ID Seq (Tx/Rx) Format Hold Last Message
    192.168.47.69 8000 30a8a03f74f 00102/00000 0x3c0004 (ulaw| No Tx: ACK
    192.168.47.29 1000 YTMyMWNhYjE 00101/00003 0x4 (ulaw) No Rx: ACK
    2 active SIP channels
     
  10. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    If I talk about sip_general_custom.conf, I did never talk about sip_custom.conf!
    [*]videosupport=yes
    [*]maxcallbitrate=384

    and use only these codecs for the video.
    allow=h261
    allow=h263
    allow=h263p

    These parameters need to put only into the general section and not anywhere.

    Of course, if you modify a paramter into a config file, you must reload asterisk, So, 2 way!
    CLI> restart now or
    CLI> reload

    Please, read the document Elastix Whithout Tears. ;)

    An example with my config file: (sip_general_custom.conf).
    Code:
    videosupport=yes
    disallow=all
    allow=alaw
    allow=g729
    canreinvite=no
    nat=yes
    language=fr
    defaultexpirey=1800
    dtmfmode=auto
    qualify=yes 
    srvlookup=yes
    notifyringing=yes
    notifybusy=yes
    notifyhold=yes
    limitonpeers=yes
    subscribecontext=blf
    call-limit=5
    jbenable=yes
    jbforce=no
    jbmaxsize = 200                ; Max length of the jitterbuffer in milliseconds.
    jbresyncthreshold = 1000
    tos_sip=cs3                    ; Sets TOS for SIP packets.
    tos_audio=ef                   ; Sets TOS for RTP audio packets.
    tos_video=af41                 ; Sets TOS for RTP video packets.
    And an example config extension:
    Code:
    [122]
    deny=0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0
    disallow=all
    secret=*********
    dtmfmode=rfc2833
    canreinvite=no
    context=from-internal
    host=dynamic
    type=friend
    nat=yes
    port=5060
    qualify=yes
    callgroup=1
    pickupgroup=1
    allow=gsm
    allow=h263
    dial=SIP/122
    accountcode=Distants
    mailbox=122@default
    permit=0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0
    callerid=device <122>
    call-limit=50
    You could see that I have 2 codecs:
    One for the audio codec and the other for the video codec.
     
  11. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yes so, you've only one audio codec.
    Put your video codec into you extension 8000 and 1000.
     
  12. KCITS

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Franck

    thanks for your continued support, i know this must be frustrating for you but i did enter the forum throught he newbie door :)

    I thought that I had entered the video codec into the extension by adding the string "ulaw&h263&h263p" in the allow section of the extensions properties? I think I must be mising something

    Let me re-cap

    I enter the lines
    videosupport=yes
    maxcallbitrate=384
    allow=h261
    allow=h263
    allow=h263p

    Into sip_general_custom.conf, and only here. (btw this file was empty).

    Then enter in the allow section for the extension ulaw&h263&h263p as a single line.
    enter sip show channels in the CLI but only see ulaw

    view sip_additional.conf
    the two extensions look like this

    [1000]
    deny=0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0
    disallow=all
    type=friend
    secret=********
    qualify=yes
    port=5060
    pickupgroup=
    permit=0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0
    nat=yes
    mailbox=1000@device
    host=dynamic
    dtmfmode=rfc2833
    dial=SIP/1000
    context=from-internal
    canreinvite=no
    callgroup=
    callerid=device <1000>
    allow=ulaw
    allow=h263
    allow=h263p
    accountcode=
    call-limit=50

    [8000]
    deny=0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0
    type=friend
    secret=****
    qualify=yes
    port=5060
    pickupgroup=
    permit=0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0
    nat=yes
    mailbox=8000@device
    host=dynamic
    dtmfmode=rfc2833
    dial=SIP/8000
    context=from-internal
    canreinvite=no
    callgroup=
    callerid=device <8000>
    allow=ulaw
    allow=h263
    allow=h263p
    accountcode=
    call-limit=50

    To me this seems to be all ok, with the exception that my sip_general_custom.conf is very bland in comparison to yours, there is no tos settings for sip, audio or video is this relevant? but there is still no remote video. I am stumped
     
  13. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    I go away for some hours, I come back later.

    Remember that you must reload Asterisk after every modification!

    You must select your video codec into you Xlite config too. Right clic (Options / Advenced / Video Codecs).

    Letme know.

    Regards
     
  14. KCITS

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    I have copied below the output sip show channel for the two extensions, i can not specifically see in there that videosupport is allowed, but do see the codecs in the 8000 extension only. I will work on this and RTFM very closely :) . I will copy any progress to this forum.

    CLI sip show channel NDQ1YWRjNWR
    * SIP Call
    Curr. trans. direction: Incoming
    Call-ID: NDQ1YWRjNWRkZWFjZTgxMzAzMWMwZDQ5ZTkwNzAzZGQ.
    Owner channel ID: SIP/1000-00000007
    Our Codec Capability: 1572868
    Non-Codec Capability (DTMF): 1
    Their Codec Capability: 3670284
    Joint Codec Capability: 1572868
    Format: 0x4 (ulaw)
    MaxCallBR: 384 kbps
    Theoretical Address: 192.168.47.29:61230
    Received Address: 192.168.47.29:61230
    SIP Transfer mode: open
    NAT Support: Always
    Audio IP: 192.168.47.5 (local)
    Our Tag: as6e966cd0
    Their Tag: 8e5d0d23
    SIP User agent: Bria 3.0 release 3.0.1.1 stamp 56993
    Username: 1000
    Peername: 1000
    Original uri: sip:1000@192.168.47.29:61230
    Caller-ID: 1000
    Need Destroy: 0
    Last Message: Rx: ACK
    Promiscuous Redir: No
    Route: sip:1000@192.168.47.29:61230
    DTMF Mode: rfc2833
    SIP Options: eventlist

    CLI sip show channel 101272cc691
    SIP Call
    Curr. trans. direction: Outgoing
    Call-ID: 101272cc691fe9e87d1ccb9572c0e7a3@192.168.47.5
    Owner channel ID: SIP/8000-00000008
    Our Codec Capability: 1835020
    Non-Codec Capability (DTMF): 1
    Their Codec Capability: 1572876
    Joint Codec Capability: 1572876
    Format: 0x1c0004 (ulaw|h261|h263|h263p)
    MaxCallBR: 384 kbps
    Theoretical Address: 192.168.47.69:20346
    Received Address: 192.168.47.69:20346
    SIP Transfer mode: open
    NAT Support: Always
    Audio IP: 192.168.47.5 (local)
    Our Tag: as55a41266
    Their Tag: b05da798
    SIP User agent: X-Lite Beta release 4.0 Beta 2 stamp 56233
    Username: 8000
    Peername: 8000
    Original uri: sip:8000@192.168.47.69:20346
    Need Destroy: 0
    Last Message: Tx: ACK
    Promiscuous Redir: No
    Route: sip:8000@192.168.47.69:20346;rinstance=184ad37196532a8a
    DTMF Mode: rfc2833
    SIP Options: (none)
     
  15. KCITS

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    one thing I have noted and I am not sure if this is relevent

    Whichever extension receives the call has the below codecs listed when executing "sip show channel *******"

    Format: 0x1c0004 (ulaw|h261|h263|h263p)

    The extension which intitiates the call displays

    Format: 0x4 (ulaw)
     
  16. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yet here, you have a H261 that's not supported by XLite.
     
  17. KCITS

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have removed the H261 codec, only leaving the below
    Format: 0x180004 (ulaw|h263|h263p)

    unfortunately I still still get the message "waiting for remote video" on all extensions.

    I am not sure where to go to diagnose further, I have tested it on a fresh VM build with the same result.

    Is this perhaps broken in Elastix 1.6.2-2
     
  18. KCITS

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem appears to be with counterpaths X-Lite and Bria softphones. In frustration we installed BOL Sip Phone on one PC.

    When the call is initiated from this application the video works correctly at both ends, although when we return a call to the “BOL Sip Phone” from either Xlite or Bria, the video is still unable to be displayed at either end.

    Has anyone else seen this problem?

    Anyway, I have emailed their support and I will post their reply, and fix (if received) back to this forum.
     
  19. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hi. I said you about these versions there was some video problems . You should try to take a specific version V3.0 Build 53117.

    You can try to find it on google with only => X-Lite_Win32_1103d_53117 and take the result. Lots of link are there!

    With this version I've not any problem.

    If there's a video problem with your verison, yes you must contact the counterpath support.
     

Share This Page