Trunk access

Discussion in 'General' started by Telco, Dec 13, 2007.

  1. Telco

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is the issue. I have my home and my company on my elastix. I want to be able to pick up any of the phones in my house and dial out thru the house sip trunk. Then I want to be able to pick up any of my office phones and dial out thru the office trunks. I know I can assign 9 then number and 8 then number to get different outbound routes. But here is the question. HOW DO I PREVENT A PHONE FROM EVER ACCESSING A PARTICULAR TRUNK WHILE HAVENING ACCESS TO THE OTHERS?

    Kids have figured out if the house trunk is busy to dial 8 then number and they can dial out on my office lines.

    In a Typical PBX this is called class of service.

    Any ideas.
     
  2. tbooth

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can put a password on the your outbound routes
     
  3. Telco

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I have done that but... That causes problems with VmX and call forwarding.

    Not to mention it is a pain in the butt when you are making 100's of calls everyday. Always having to enter in the password.
     
  4. pcabarga

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need to create two different contexts. Put the home phones on context A and Office phones on context B. You have to create a Custom Route to trunks A and B. on the configuration on trunk A you include context A only and the same for B. And of course context A and B include context from-internal.

    This way office phones can't access the home trunk and home phones can't access the office trunk.
     
  5. Telco

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perfect, That is exactly what I was/am looking for. Could you give me an example to go by. Where do I add the custom routes?
     
  6. Telco

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I think I have figured this out. DO I put the context=whatever in the outbound settings of the trunk. Then create a whatever context in the extentions_custom.conf? What whould I put there if I am right?

    For example I have ext 100-110 are my office exts and 111-120 are my home exts.
     

Share This Page