TDM400 abortr errors

Discussion in 'General' started by r1200gs, Feb 15, 2010.

  1. r1200gs

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an elastix server that goes bonkers and fills the messages log with this set of errors:

    Feb 13 20:45:12 myservername kernel: TDM PCI Master abort
    Feb 13 20:45:12 myservername last message repeated 169 times
    Feb 13 20:45:12 myservername kernel: TDM PCI Mastr ar abort
    Feb 13 20:45:12 myservername kernel: <r aborr abortr abort
    Feb 13 20:45:12 myservername kernel: r abort
    Feb 13 20:45:12 myservername kernel: r abort
    Feb 13 20:45:12 myservername kernel: r abortr abortr abortr abort
    Feb 13 20:45:12 myservername kernel: r abortr abortr abortr abort
    Feb 13 20:45:12 myservername kernel: r abortr abortr abort
    Feb 13 20:45:12 myservername kernel: r abort
    Feb 13 20:45:12 myservername kernel: r abortr abort
    Feb 13 20:45:12 myservername kernel: r abortr aborr abortr abortr abortr aborr abortr abortr abortr aborr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abor
    tr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr a
    bortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abortr abort

    After we turn off the server and reboot it all is fine. I believe that this a sign of a bad card, but am not sure. What else would cause this?
     
  2. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. r1200gs

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    cat /proc/interrupts
    CPU0
    1: 2 Phys-irq i8042
    6: 5 Phys-irq floppy
    7: 0 Phys-irq parport0
    8: 1 Phys-irq rtc
    9: 0 Phys-irq acpi
    11: 0 Phys-irq ohci_hcd:usb1
    12: 4 Phys-irq i8042
    14: 220636 Phys-irq ide0
    16: 55842 Phys-irq aic7xxx
    17: 603166 Phys-irq eth0
    19: 24964835 Phys-irq wctdm24xxp0
    20: 24960866 Phys-irq wctdm
    256: 11362378 Dynamic-irq timer0
    257: 0 Dynamic-irq resched0
    258: 0 Dynamic-irq callfunc0
    259: 0 Dynamic-irq xenbus
    260: 0 Dynamic-irq console
    NMI: 0
    LOC: 0
    ERR: 0
    MIS: 0
     
  4. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    you might want to try booting into the non xen kernel.
     
  5. r1200gs

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using some not so great TDM cards and a single processor older Compaq server. The plan was to get all the phones deployed and then upgrade the server when the next budget comes around, which it has. It looks like the analog card of favor is the sangoma ones now. A multi-processor server is also in the budget. What would the upgrade process be like? I am hoping that if I stick with the same distro I can back up and restore w/o a whole lot of total reconfig.
     
  6. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Older Compaq and flakey clones could well be a problem especially if using the xen kernel, it's just not necessary and justs add that extra level of interrupt routing , just edit your /boot/grub/grub.conf so the default=n points at the non xen version (n is 0 based)

    As to migration, I am very happy with mondoarchive, it should clone the system to other hardware without too many problems, once you get your head around the partitioning and the unreadable screens if you don't boot "expertly" and export TERM=vt100 before running the mondorestore script.
     
  7. r1200gs

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    For some reason the other kernels do not see the cards and thus make a very poor phone system...
    I am pretty sure it is because the kernel modules are not there. I have tried to build the modules but that was back in July and when things were working in the xen kernel I just left it and went on to getting all the stations happy.

    As to the mondoarchive, thanks and I will look at that as my upgrade path.
     
  8. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    then the ACPI/APIC settings might help, best to just turn both off and set your bios to disable all the normal culprits (com ports printers, modems etc.) you only need a couple free for your WTDM cards, anyway good luck

    dicko
     
  9. fmvillares

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    try passing this options to the non xen kernel acpi=off --noapic

    see ya
     

Share This Page