SIP phones are not registering with Elastix

Kranti

Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
28
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Hi all,

I have purchased software from elastix 2 weeks ago
After installtion of Elastix Pbx, my Sip phones are not registering with Elastix. I tried with X-lite soft phone.
Can somebody please help

Thanks,
Kranti
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#2
What's your LAN configuration and what's your FreePBX configuration for all extension?
 

Kranti

Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
28
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
We configured extensions 222, 500, and 501 with same secret as user name. We didn't change any settings in the free pbx. But if we change Sip.conf file it is working fine.
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#4
What do you change into the sip.conf file?
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#5
Only think.
After creating the extension, there isn't codec enabled into your extension.
By default, it's the file's parameters are enabled.

So, you must do include some default parameters into sip.conf if you want that your extensions works!
But there isn't registration problem!
 

Kranti

Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
28
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
Attached is my sip.conf which I am using. I am not able to locate which param i need to modify to make my softphone work. Please assist in modifying this config file.
 

Kranti

Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
28
Likes
0
Points
0

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#8
I don't know why you have this big sip.conf file!

You must use Freepbx configurateur!

Me, i use freepbx and there's no problem.
You, can sea my sip.conf it's not same!!

>more sip.conf :

Code:
; do not edit this file, this is an auto-generated file by freepbx
; all modifications must be done from the web gui

[general]
disallow=all
allow=alaw
allow=speex
canreinvite=no
nat=yes
defaultexpirey=1800
dtmfmode=auto
qualify=yes
;
; enable and force the sip jitterbuffer. If these settings are desired
; they should be set in the sip_general_custom.conf file as this file
; will get overwritten during reloads and upgrades.
;
; jbenable=yes
; jbforce=yes

; These will all be included in the [general] context
;
#include sip_general_additional.conf
#include sip_general_custom.conf
#include sip_nat.conf
#include sip_registrations_custom.conf
#include sip_registrations.conf

; These should all be expected to come after the [general] context
;
#include sip_custom.conf
#include sip_additional.conf
#include sip_custom_post.conf
Remake your install completly. Normally, you have not done a lot of changes on the file sip.conf. Use simply PBX configuration. Else, try my parameters sip.conf if you want.


Reply me
 

Kranti

Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
28
Likes
0
Points
0
#9
Well. with your config file, softphones are registering but communication is not happening. Getting message "Call Failed: Not Found".
My config file is shipped with the latest release of Elastix v1.1.7. This latest config has video support and are looking for this new feature. But seems like, for me, basic feature itself is not working.
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#10
The lastest Elastix version is 1.3.2.
Some prolbem are with the 1.1.7

Ok, if i read your post, and that your extensions are registred, it's so possible that you are a config problem.

Look at sip_additional.conf now, and see if your extensions is here with what parameters!
 

Kranti

Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
28
Likes
0
Points
0
#11
[222]
type=friend
secret=222
record_out=Adhoc
record_in=Adhoc
qualify=yes
port=5060
pickupgroup=
nat=yes
mailbox=222@device
host=dynamic
dtmfmode=rfc2833
disallow=
dial=SIP/222
context=from-internal
canreinvite=no
callgroup=
callerid=device <222>
call-limit=4
allow=
accountcode=
call-limit=50

That is the content of my config file for particular device. As you mentioned, there are couple of issues with v1.1.7 and one of the major issue with registration process itself. Now, that I have 1.1.7, how can i upgrade to 1.3.2? Y'day I did "yum -y update" and it updated almost 176 packages. Anything specific to be done to upgrade to latest version?
Thanks in advance.
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#12
You don't select all.
go to System / update / installor and select only : Elastix RPM Repository for CentOS.
and remake yum update.

For the 1.3.2, should be on line only this Monday for the updates.!

For all goods informations and tuto: These links.
Wiki
Elastix Without Tears
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#13
Oups...
In my sip.conf file, change allow=alaw by allow=ulaw.
It isn't the same codecs.
alaw= G711a (European)
ulaw= G711µ (UK, US, an other).
I'm in Europe so i use alaw! ;)

the more important is that you must have the same codec between your extensions and Elastix (Asterisk).
 

Kranti

Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
28
Likes
0
Points
0
#14
Thanks Danard for your help on this subject. I will update my version and will post it in this group. Many thanks again!
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#15
Ok ...Thanks.

Reply me. ;)
 

Chilling_Silence

Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
488
Likes
0
Points
0
#16
Its worth noting that with a stock standard sip.conf file, all you need to do is add the following to enable Video Calling:
videosupport=yes
maxcallbitrate=384
allow=h261
allow=h263
allow=h263p
allow=h264

Everything else should already be set, with Elastix-1.2
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#17
Why do you want to add video codecs? :blink:

For the instant, these extension do not works! Wait...
After, he can add codecs. (h264 don't enabled with Xlite free).

In my file, i deleted my video configuration and some lines, for not to disturb.
 

Kranti

Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
28
Likes
0
Points
0
#18
Hi danard,

We are unable to upgrade from Elastix 1.1.7 to 1.3.2.
We followed the same instructions as you mentiones in the last posting.

Please help us in upgrading to 1.3.2
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#19
Ok!

Into Web GUI Elastix, SYSTEM / UpDate / Isntallator
Select Elastix RPM Only.
You must have a web access from your Elastix server.

And, with SSH console, login root, and make a :
>yum update.

You must have all RPM with the news versions.

Type Y for Yes

Give me the result please.
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#20
Otherwise, make a fresh complet install.

Download Elastix 1.3.2 version
Put your CD into the CDROM reader
Reboot your station.
Follow the instructions.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,902
Messages
130,887
Members
17,566
Latest member
Fpino
Top