sip dial plan

Discussion in 'General' started by veritech, Jun 18, 2009.

  1. veritech

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could someone suggest a good sip dial plan: on the Aastra 35i phone.

    I am in Canada with:
    10 digit dialing
    extensions: 200-250
    ring groups: 600-610

    I am using:
    sip dial plan: "0|911|411|[2-9]xxxxxxxxx|x+#|*xx"
    but I am having problems with the extensions

    Thanks
     
  2. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    sip dial plan: "[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxx|2XX|6XX|011x+|0|911|411|*xx"

    (But you need 0, 911 and 411 be explicitly handled by asterisk. (in the US (and Northern US :) ) 411 is info, and 911 is emergency (112 to most of the rest of the world) )
     
  3. veritech

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    downloaded, read, but obviously not absorbed.

    should send dial plan terminator be on?

    Thanks
     
  4. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you refer to "Elastix Without Tears", then I'm not surprised, you asked a question about an Aastra phone, THAT reference is available at:

    http://www.aastra.com/cps/rde/xbcr/SID- ... 4.1_06.pdf

    But briefly:
    The dialstring clauses are separated with the "pipe" character "|" it is parsed left to right, once an expression is matched the call will be placed, if there is no explicit match but a clause that terminates with a + is an implicit match then the call will be placed after the digit timeout value or when the # is pressed, whichever comes first.

    If you have the "send terminator on" then the dialed number will be appended with that terminator character, This is phone specific behavior and depending on your dial plan in asterisk then it might or might not shorten the call construction process, (Asterisk itself also uses the # as a dial string terminator, which is not necessarily a coincidence)

    So the answer to your question is "it depends", but there is no harm done by having it on.
     
  5. veritech

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem with the dialplan is conflicting area codes/extensions

    If I try to dial (226) 555-1234, it stops on the 226 as an extension.
    Our local area codes are 519 and 226

    would it be better to either drop the 2XX from the dial plan, or change all extension to a 4 digit that won't conflict with area codes.

    Thanks
     
  6. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the phones are programmed either locally or by tftp(or whatever) with

    sip digit timeout: 6

    then a six second grace period will be enforced for an ambiguous dialstring (a matched dialstring will be sent immediately on match however), I suggest you have the "live dialpad" off as you debug.
     
  7. veritech

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    The phones are being programmed by aastra-scripts and the dialplan is set in aastra.cfg in /tftpboot

    but.......

    my issue is that the dialplan:

    sip dial plan: "[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxx|2XX|6XX|011x+|0|911|411|x+#|*xx"

    if the user dials a phone number in the area code 200 or 600 (cell phones in our area have the 226 area code and ottawa is 613), I have the users dialing "1" first as if they start dialing a phone number like 2265551234 it stops at 226 and tries it as an extension.

    I am thinking about migrating everyone to a new extension range, or remove the 2xx|6xx from the dial plan and get them pressing # after entering extensions.

    Joe
     
  8. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    1plus dialling is always preferable in NANP land

    sip dial plan: "[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxx|2XX|6XX|011x+|0|911|411|x+#|*xx"
    would then be
    sip dial plan: "1[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxx|2XX|6XX|011x+|0|911|411|x+#|*xx"
    and I believe all your problems will go away

    (asterisk should strip the 1 if necessary)

    All the phones would need rebooting if you you did that (in aastra.cfg) of course.
     

Share This Page