setting up a fail over destination

Discussion in 'General' started by keithspicer58, Dec 24, 2010.

  1. keithspicer58

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    30 years installing pbx's, 2 years selling voip services. I counted on our voip programmer for everything technical, not working out so well. My question is where in elastix do I set up a failover number. In case the internet goes down or the server loses power I want the calls to go to another number. Is it under routes or destinations? Sorry for such a newbie question.
     
  2. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Think about it, no available server no service, no service , no way to control any forwarding/redirection, you will have to deploy an HA (High Availability) cluster (drbd/corosync perhaps) for a hardware failure, add BGP for a route failure, and use a VSP that offers such fail-over service when all the above fails. To be honest Elastix/Asterisk is really not that easily scaleable, look into a true SIP proxy, maybe Kamailio or FreeSwith both are open source both can be "clouded"
     
  3. mmoritomo

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    --removed content--
     
  4. witekprytek

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to refresh this topic.
    Is there really no way to route some calls using Asterisk?
    We can use failover trunk and manipulate outbound routing to pass the call via other trunk (I have it configured for IAX2 trunk) -so why are we not able to forward call to some destination if all trunks fails instead of playing "all_busy_"

    Maybe somebody could write some application using AGI to forward call to specific number if the destination is not available, or build custom context using for example "custom context" module from FreePBX

    I will be grateful for any example or suggestions.
     
  5. witekprytek

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi;
    Maybe solution described in this topic could help somebody with "failover destination" issue
     

Share This Page