Send Fax through IAX2

Discussion in 'General' started by fernandov, May 30, 2009.

  1. fernandov

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the following scenario.

    E1 <--> Asterisk (Main) (IAX2) <--> (VPN) <--> (IAX2) Asterisk (Branch)

    I want to use a E1 number that is connected to the (Main Asterisk) to send/receive fax from (Asterisk Main) to the (Asterisk Branch) through the IAX2.

    Is there a way I can do this?


    Thanks to suggestion/opinion
     
  2. ramoncio

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, you should configure a trunk (iax2/sip) between your two offices, and a outgoing route in each box with for example this dial pattern: 7|. telling it to use the trunk.
    So when you are in box A and dial 7XXXXXXXXXX it will use box B to dial out XXXXXXXXXX and viceversa.
     
  3. fernandov

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe I did not explain myself clearly. I want to pass virtual faxes. Last night I was thinking the following scenario.

    E1 # --> Inbound route @ Box A routes to to IAX2 extension @ box B --> Box B has the virtual fax with IAX2 extension instead of boa A.

    Does that sound like a good solution?
     
  4. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Given the fragility of T30 and it's incredible demands on untainted data stream, I refer you to

    http://www.voip-info.org/wiki/index.php ... k+IAXmodem

    with particularity to termnetd and ttyd. where the iaxmodems and the hylafax server(s) are on different machines/networks. The Hylafax/Hylafax+ forums will give you more details as to how to achieve this

    The rtp <-> iaxmodem communication is time critical and unforgiving, the serial connection to hylafax however can be buffered and theoretically stretched to the other end of the internet.
     
  5. ramoncio

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes you could do this.
    Box A can have an inboud route sending all faxes to box B iaxmodem extension.
    With the outbound route 7|. in box A sending you to the IAX2 inter office trunk, as I used in my example above, you would need to setup a custom extension:
    local/7[iaxmodem extension in B]@from-internal
    and send whatever inbound calls you want to this extension.
    Of course, the faster the link between both boxes the more reliable all this will work.
     

Share This Page