Sata Raid

gbrook

Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
74
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Is Sata Raid 1 supported (Centos Raid SW) during installation?

Cheers
Garry
 

lek

Guest
#2
Yes, you should enter in "advanced" mode when you're installing.

Just type "linux advanced" in the first installation screen.
 

gbrook

Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
74
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
Thanks for that.

I will try on the next reinstall.

I assume it is fairly straight forward for a relatively newcomer to linux

Cheers
Garry
 

rafael

Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
1,454
Likes
1
Points
0
#4
It is the exact same partition tool you use on Red Hat, CentOS or Fedora.

Regards,

Rafael
 

gbrook

Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
74
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
Hi Edgar

I typed linux advanced at the installation prompt and it just went through the usual - keyboard type - timezone and password and didn't do anything in regards to setting up the two disks in raid

Did I need to do anything else?

Regards
Garry
 

gbrook

Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
74
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
OK

The the command is actually:-
linux ks=cdrom:/ks_advanced.cfg

The install starts normally but there is a new screen for partitioning and RAID

I assume that the custom partitioning is used but when I get in there I am lost as to setting up the partitions as I am new to the linux world

Is anyone able to help with typical settings for the partitioning etc in order to get RAID 1 going?

Cheers
Garry
 

rafael

Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
1,454
Likes
1
Points
0
#7

gbrook

Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
74
Likes
0
Points
0
#8
Hi,

I am trying really hard to get away from TrixBox and the shenanigans going on over there but the only stumbling block left is that I wish to always have 2 80GB (minimum) SATA Drives in RAID 1.

I also actually prefer the Elastix GUI and as I use Rhino Cards the installation is very simple in all other aspects. Probably the only thing I prefer in TrixBox then still is the File Configuration Editor.

The RAID is really easy to do in TrixBox as it is just a command line option "sataraid" and it goes off and does it all itself and then installs TrixBox.

I am getting there with linux but not enough to manually setup the RAID 1 in the Elastix installation (mount points etc). Is someone able to provide in depth help as to the steps and settings in the setup box for partitions and RAID during the Elastix installation?

A small payment could also be made available.

I could also then document these steps for adding to the Documentation for others

Cheers
Garry<br><br>Post edited by: gbrook, at: 2008/06/22 04:27
 

gabriel

Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
31
Likes
0
Points
0
#9
You have to be more specific, you are trying to use software raid witch linux provide or you are trying to use the motherboard raid ?
If you are using the motherboard you have to type "linux sata-raid" if you are trying to use linux software raid you type " advanced "

hope that help


Gabe
 

CleveJ

Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
100
Likes
0
Points
0
#10

gbrook

Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
74
Likes
0
Points
0
#11
Thank you - that is exactly what I was looking for - worked like a charm.

I am now TrixBox free

Cheers
Garry
 

gbrook

Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
74
Likes
0
Points
0
#12
Thank you - that is exactly what I was looking for - worked like a charm.

I am now TrixBox free

Cheers
Garry
 

CleveJ

Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
100
Likes
0
Points
0
#13
gbrook said:
Thank you - that is exactly what I was looking for - worked like a charm.

I am now TrixBox free

Cheers
Garry
Hi Garry,

Nice to hear that it worked for you and you have go rid of :evil: T
 

martinparks

Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
13
Likes
0
Points
0
#14
Thank you as well. I have been looking for this. Very easy to understand and fallow.
 

martinparks

Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
13
Likes
0
Points
0
#15
As a test. I unplugged "sdb" the system worked just fine

I then unplugged "sda" it booted to GRUB hard drive error screen.

What does this mean? Does it mean that the RAID is not working or am I missing something ?
 

nothings_found

Joined
Nov 5, 2007
Messages
72
Likes
0
Points
0
#16
It means that GRUB is only installed on the MRB or sda and not on the MRB of sdb

You will need to manually setup the MRB on both drives after a software raid setup.

I'm running my Elastix server on a RAID 1 (BOOT 4 Drives) and my swap, /, home on a RAID 5 (4 Drives)

Do this to install the MBR information to both drives.

# grub
grub> device (hd0) /dev/sdb
grub> root (hd0,0)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> device (hd0) /dev/sda
grub> root (hd0,0)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> quit

And then test again.
 

nothings_found

Joined
Nov 5, 2007
Messages
72
Likes
0
Points
0
#17
For any curious ones this is my RAID setup.

Code:
Personalities : [raid6] [raid5] [raid4] [raid1]
md2 : active raid1 sdd1[3] sdc1[2] sdb1[1] sda1[0]
      200704 blocks [4/4] [UUUU]

md0 : active raid5 sdd3[3] sdc3[2] sdb3[1] sda3[0]
      6289152 blocks level 5, 256k chunk, algorithm 2 [4/4] [UUUU]

md3 : active raid5 sdd5[3] sdc5[2] sdb5[1] sda5[0]
      42627840 blocks level 5, 256k chunk, algorithm 2 [4/4] [UUUU]

md1 : active raid5 sdd2[3] sdc2[2] sdb2[1] sda2[0]
      184923648 blocks level 5, 256k chunk, algorithm 2 [4/4] [UUUU]

unused devices: <none>
Code:
/dev/md1                /                       ext3    defaults        1 1
/dev/md2                /boot                   ext3    defaults        1 2
devpts                  /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
tmpfs                   /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
/dev/md3                /home                   ext3    defaults        1 2
proc                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
sysfs                   /sys                    sysfs   defaults        0 0
/dev/md0                swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
 

martinparks

Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
13
Likes
0
Points
0
#18
Thank you very much, that was it and the test went fine. I can unplug the drives and all is working as it should.

Thanks again "nothings_found"
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,968
Messages
131,029
Members
17,679
Latest member
rodmontgt
Top