sangoma cards

davidraw

Can so kind hearted sole please post how to install this obtuse little card on Elastix.

I am not a Linux beginner, I have been putting systems togther with databases and web servers for years. However, they never need a kernal patch.

First of all no yacc, yum install byacc wouldn't install because it didn't have a certificate. No idea what that was about. After 5 hours, I managed to get a bison tar and installed that.

Second, no sources. A google search revealed that centOS don't want you to have the sources, but if you really want them, there is a cryptic, completely incomprehensible page on how to get them.

After 13 hours, I have handed over my computer to Sangoma to see what they can do.

I know any hardware in Linux is tricky, but Sangoma are so obtuse they border on the impossible (I was told so when I bought the cards). The salesman had NEVER had anyone successfully install one! Everyone came back and bought a Digium.

I have spent £1000 ($2000!) on bits of hardware for Asterisk that simply don't work. Is VoIP just the biggest con on the planet? Digium cards' FXO ports are so noisy they are unusable in the real world, Sangoma cards are impossible to install, Siemens SIP phones are just terrible. The only things that seems to work are the ATAs.

And then you have to cope with the internet traffic breaking up or even dropping your calls... but that's another story.

Please, anyone who has managed a Sangoma install, please post how...

Thanks,

- David

davidraw

UPDATE:

1. I installed elastix 0.8 from scratch
2. I found bison tar somewhere and installed that (the one already installed doesn't do it and yum install doesn't get anything newer)

This is what the Sangoma tech did:

I have installed the driver on your system. Basically I download the
http://people.redhat.com/dledford/Infin ... 686/kernel
-devel-2.6.18-8.el5.i686.rpm and installed this rpm. Than I compile and