Remote SIP Extensions and sip_nat.conf Questions

robclay

Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
36
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
I have a main office with the Elastix Server Setup on a public Class C IP range... The server has a hardcoded, real public IP of AAA.AAA.AAA.AAA.

I have a satellite office with 1 static IP and then NAT'd behind a Netopia Router. The Static IP is BBB.BBB.BBB.BBB. Local IP of 192.168.0.XXX

My phones at the satellite office (Grandstream 2000s) work great when I first plug them in. I can call my main office, I can call between extensions. No problems.

After awhile, they lose connection. I will dial an extension, and after a certain timeout (maybe 90 seconds) they display a message "There was no response received from the server."

Should I need to edit my sip_nat.conf file to get these guys to work without losing connection? The Grandstream has a 20 second keep alive option set.

If yes, would it be:

externip = AAA.AAA.AAA.AAA ;(substitute your public ip address)
localnet = AAA.AAA.AAA.0/255.255.255.0 ;(substitute your lan subnet address)
nat=yes

and what does that give me for my remote office? I don't know how that will help the 192.168.0.XXX Phones.

Thanks for any insight.

- Robert
 

robclay

Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
36
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
So I have done some research, and the sip_nat.conf file in my scenario does not need to be changed.

I also did a little better timekeeping... and the phones will stay registered for 30 minutes. Currently, there are 3 phones on the network. I tried a STUN server on one, no help.

If I reboot a phone, it will register again.

I am starting to think the issue is on my AAA.AAA.AAA.AAA network firewall.

- Robert
 

Patrick_elx

Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,120
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
yes it could be your firewall that does not let a session open too long.

You could either change the setup in your firewall (depending on your firewall)
or you can maybe play with the keep alive / registration time to keep your connection open.
 

Patrick_elx

Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,120
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
another way will be to have a VPN between your two LAN.
 

robclay

Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
36
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
Used PUTTY and did a TCPDUMP HOST BBB.BBB.BBB.BBB and port 5060

I then reset just one phone... the other 2 are on and have an IP - but they are not communicating with the server.

Here are the results:

I truncated AAA.AAA.AAA.AAA to just be AAA-IP and BBB.BBB.BBB to be BBB-IP so that it fits easier. AAA is my real IP of Elastix Server. BBB is WAN IP of Remote Office:

[root@norvoip1 ~]# tcpdump host BBB-IP and port 5060
tcpdump: verbose output suppressed, use -v or -vv for full protocol decode
listening on eth0, link-type EN10MB (Ethernet), capture size 96 bytes
16:29:37.943251 IP adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547 > AAA-IP.sip: SIP, length: 620
16:29:37.943721 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 425
16:29:37.943744 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 522
16:29:38.044413 IP adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547 > AAA-IP.sip: SIP, length: 790
16:29:38.044463 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 425
16:29:38.051666 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 539
16:29:38.051707 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 555
16:29:38.054252 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 574
16:29:38.146949 IP adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547 > AAA-IP.sip: SIP, length: 520
16:29:38.168263 IP adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547 > AAA-IP.sip: SIP, length: 519

Edited out similar messages...

16:54:18.984433 IP adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547 > AAA-IP.sip: SIP, length: 520
16:55:18.544135 IP adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547 > AAA-IP.sip: SIP, length: 4
16:55:18.984240 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 539
16:55:19.096705 IP adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547 > AAA-IP.sip: SIP, length: 520
16:56:18.445878 IP adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547 > AAA-IP.sip: SIP, length: 4
16:56:19.096756 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 539
16:56:19.191369 IP adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547 > AAA-IP.sip: SIP, length: 520
16:57:18.420157 IP adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547 > AAA-IP.sip: SIP, length: 4
16:57:19.191282 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 539
16:57:19.322314 IP adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547 > AAA-IP.sip: SIP, length: 520
16:58:18.416292 IP adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547 > AAA-IP.sip: SIP, length: 4
16:58:19.321845 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 539
16:58:19.402468 IP adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547 > AAA-IP.sip: SIP, length: 520
16:59:18.424538 IP adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547 > AAA-IP.sip: SIP, length: 4
16:59:19.402342 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 539
16:59:19.519245 IP adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547 > AAA-IP.sip: SIP, length: 520
17:00:19.518929 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 539
17:00:20.518702 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 539
17:00:21.518560 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 539
17:00:22.518418 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 539
17:00:23.518277 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 539
17:00:33.517949 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 539
17:00:34.517734 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 539
17:00:35.517591 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 539
17:00:36.517452 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 539
17:00:37.517309 IP AAA-IP.sip > adsl-BBB-IP.msy.bellsouth.net.51547: SIP, length: 539

Does this help anyone debug the issue? It seems as though my PBX is trying to reach the BBB side, but gets refused.

BBB side is a Netopia Router Model 3347.


Thanks for any help / thoughts or guidance!

- Robert
 

robclay

Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
36
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
I just installed X-Lite on a computer running on the BBB network. Hasn't lost connection yet.

So that would mean it would have to be a GXP-2000 issue then, correct?
 

rollinsolo

Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
279
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
Yes most likely the phone, if that phone supports use of a Stun Server use it right away, unregister it, then re-register it, and if it has a keep alive option, send those frequently, also Netopia, is that Nuvox dsl? just curious, that is what I used at some remote sites.
 

robclay

Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
36
Likes
0
Points
0
#8
Thanks for the response,

I did use a STUN server (public one) at one point... still reached the magical 30 minute time and then became unreachable. I will try that again... maybe I did something wrong, or use a different STUN server. AT&T DSL.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,915
Messages
130,920
Members
17,595
Latest member
feparra121
Top