Questions about Elastix and analogue phone at home

Discussion in 'General' started by samiux, Sep 2, 2008.

1. samiux

Hi all,

I am a newbie to Elastix and Asterisk. I bought a piece of X100P card and installed Elastix on a spare machine for experiment. My home has only 1 analogue line (landline). I am living in Hong Kong and the landline is charge in monthly for unlimited call in local. The line also registered for long distance call function from the telecom provider.

Now, I want to set the Elastix up for the following purpose :-

Firstly, I want to phone out or receive call from outside when my wife is talking on the phone. What should I do? Do I need to install another analogue line for the purpose. Or, just buy a piece of interface card? If yes, what type and model of interface card should I buy (your recommendation is appreciated)?

Secondly, I want to make long distance call from Hong Kong (my home) to other countries (e.g. UK or USA when my wife is there). What should I do? I think I know that I should have DID. If so, what type of DIDs that I need (inbounding or outbounding) for my Elastix and my wife's softphone, hardphone, or mobile?

Thirdly, my wife may travel often. I want to call her by Elastix system. What should I do then? Do I need to buy inbounding DID (for Hong Kong) and set it up at her softphone that runs under Windows? Or, directly call her on her mobile? In addition, I do run Linux (or say Ubuntu Desktop edition). Or, do I need to buy a hardphone (or IP Phone) for her to plug into the network in other country?

Lastly, would you mind telling me where to get more basic concept and information or document about the IP-PBX (Elastix)?

Many thanks for your time to answer my extremely stupid questions?

Samiux

2. busster8