Provisioning Polycom 501 - HELP

Discussion in 'IP Phones' started by oomph, Aug 20, 2008.

  1. oomph

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone have experience in provisioning the polycom 501's?


    When I scan for phones the Elastix Server can see the phone. However, when I "SET" it nothing happens. Even if I reboot the phone after applying changes.

    Are there specific settings on the phone that I'm missing?

    Does someone have a link describing how to do this?



    Thanks!
     
  2. cyvotel

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you loaded the firmware in the tftp directory? you can download the firmware for free from polycom website.
     
  3. seaq

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi i'm testing Polycom provisioning but i'm having trouble with them because the provisioning server by default is FTP and not tftp.

    What should i do? can i send via dhcp the tftp server info? or should i manually reconfigure the polycom's to use TFTP? or elastix can send the configuration via FTP?

    thanks in advance
     
  4. edk

    edk

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    when the phone in start up press "setup" button to enter start up menu .
    in the menu choice "server..." select "trivial ftp" and save the changes .
    now yours phone ready to boot from tftp.
     
  5. jgutierrez

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep, also put your elastix's ip as the tftp server address
     
  6. ramoncio

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Elastix's provisioning module just needs you to put the phone's bootloader an the sip files inside the /tftpboot folder, is that right?
    And what happens if you have 2 different Polycoms? Is there a way to do that using tftp?
    I did it last year with a IP500 and a IP600, but using vsftpd and creating 2 different ftp users and shared folders in /home, one for each phone.
    Is there a way to change the folders where Elastix's phone provisioning module puts its macaddress.cfg files so we can use different ftp folders?
     
  7. jgutierrez

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    the tftp directory is set at:
    /var/www/html/modules/endpoint_configuration/configs/default.conf.php

    what you ask is at:
    /var/www/html/modules/endpoint_configuration directory
     
  8. ramoncio

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Muchas gracias por la informacion!!
     
  9. jedaustin

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you hit a dead end I have a perl script that I wrote for Polycom 301/501 phones that lets you feed it a csv file with the extensions/etc to create the appropriate files in the /tftpboot directory.

    Also if your pbx isn't providing the dhcp for the phones you'll need to point your internal dhcp server to your elastix server for tftp.
    for example, my /usr/etc/dhcpd.conf file on my smoothwall firewall looks like this:

    authoritative;
    ddns-update-style ad-hoc;

    option voip-tftp-servers code 150 = ip-address;
    option voip-tftp-servers 192.168.1.11;


    subnet 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0
    {
    option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
    option domain-name "";
    option routers 192.168.1.1;
    option domain-name-servers 192.168.1.1, 208.67.222.222;
    option ntp-servers 209.139.208.96, 69.36.240.252;
    option tftp-server-name "192.168.1.11";
    range dynamic-bootp 192.168.1.100 192.168.1.200;
    default-lease-time 3600;
    max-lease-time 7200;
    }
     
  10. ramoncio

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    jedaustin, can you post this perl script here, or maybe send it to me?
    I'd like to try it.
    Should it work with the ip600 too??
     

Share This Page