Problem with Hylafax and IAX connection

Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
65
Points
0
After restarting amportal the IAXmodem are registered and reachable, everything seems to be
working fine.
After a few hours all IAXmodem channels are UNREACHABLE and no faxes are received.
On the Asterisk side the only error we can see is:
NOTICE[4123] chan_iax2.c: Peer '350' is now UNREACHABLE! Time: 3

On the IAXmodem device we see the following registration timeout error:
Registration timed out.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2008
Messages
117
Points
0
I got it running better with a touch in iax.conf ---> maxregexpire = 3600 . it delays the regitrations.
I did it and now my PBX runs better but still sometimes i see freezed modems needing to be restarted.
I really don't know what's wrong with this.
Try and let me know.

good luck!
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
65
Points
0
Not sure, I don't currently have access to the server, will try it in the morning.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
5,737
Points
0
Hi there I have had the same problem using asterisk 1.4.19, if I'm not mistaken.

When I was using that version, I have created an script that will monitor my iax2 fax extension, and if they were down, it restarted them, that way, I wouldn't have to be checking 'em at every hour :S

Do the following:
1. add a crontab task
crontab -e
*/1 * * * * /etc/verificar_iax2.sh

2. create a script in /etc
#!/bin/sh
desregistrado=0
desregistrado=$(/usr/sbin/asterisk -rx "iax2 show peers" | grep "(Unspecified)" | wc -l)

if [ ! $desregistrado = 0 ]; then
/usr/sbin/asterisk -rx "restart when convenient"
mail jorge@elastix.com -s "Iax2 fax extensions down, asterisk was restarted"
fi






As you can see, I use "restart when convenient" that means, that it won't restart asterisk if there is a call (it won't be dropped), it will only restart if there is no activity, you may also use "restart gracefully", you may check it and see if you use it or not.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2008
Messages
117
Points
0
Nice script but is not the solution, the bug will still in your PBX i know that sometime we haven't another choice than live between bugs :woohoo: :woohoo: :laugh: :laugh:
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
65
Points
0
Well the first solution worked ( or seems to be) now I need to try the second option, but I do not know if I will notice the results for that.
Further, it would be nice to hear from the dev team as to what is causing this bug !?!?
 
Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Points
0
Thanks tolengo. I din't know about the maxregexpire parameter. I used to modify iaxmodem's /etc/iaxmodem/iaxmodem-cfg.ttyIAX* for every modem changing the refresh parameter from 300 to 60, but this is a much nicer solution.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2008
Messages
117
Points
0
I am glad to contribute to Elastix, it is a fantastic solution.

saludos ;)
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2008
Messages
117
Points
0
I glad to contribute with Elastix fanatics like me :) , it is a fantastic solution.

saludos
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,987
Messages
131,100
Members
17,716
Latest member
Orbit114
Top