Problem with GNOME Desktop Installation

Discussion in 'General' started by voipbuddy, Jun 2, 2010.

  1. voipbuddy

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys i was able to install X windows but while installing Gnome it gives me below error>

    [root@elastix ~]# yum install "GNOME Desktop Environment"
    Loaded plugins: fastestmirror
    Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
    * base: ftp.iitm.ac.in
    * centosplus: ftp.iitm.ac.in
    * addons: ftp.iitm.ac.in
    * extras: ftp.iitm.ac.in
    elastix-beta | 951 B 00:00
    elastix-base | 951 B 00:00
    elastix-extras | 951 B 00:00
    base | 1.1 kB 00:00
    elastix-updates | 951 B 00:00
    centosplus | 1.9 kB 00:00
    addons | 951 B 00:00
    extras | 2.1 kB 00:00
    Excluding Packages from Beta RPM Repository for Elastix
    Finished
    Excluding Packages from Base RPM Repository for Elastix
    Finished
    Excluding Packages from Extras RPM Repository for Elastix
    Finished
    Excluding Packages from CentOS-5 - Base
    Finished
    Excluding Packages from Updates RPM Repository for Elastix
    Finished
    Excluding Packages from CentOS-5 - Addons
    Finished
    Excluding Packages from CentOS-5 - Extras
    Finished
    Setting up Install Process
    Parsing package install arguments
    No package GNOME Desktop Environment available.
    Nothing to do
    [root@elastix ~]

    so what shud i do?
     
  2. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    What you should do is RTFM again!!

    try:

    yum groupinstall "GNOME Desktop Environment"

    which is what the FM said (whatever M you got), and said quite plainly.

    dicko
     
  3. voipbuddy

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Dicko its worked well!
     
  4. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    You, or others, might find

    yum grouplist

    to be equally eye-opening
     
  5. JCMilleniuM

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is no error, just that you have the error, Look for the answer it there already.
     

Share This Page