Privacy manager

Discussion in 'General' started by Zach, Nov 10, 2008.

  1. Zach

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    How can I test this function, I do not understand exactly how to create a scenario to test it.
    Can somebody help me, please ?

    thanks.
     
  2. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ok

    Into trunk, Privacy manager can be use into this case.

    The caller have disabled the CID (indentity secret)
    If you have a trunk for this call type. The caller must be answer at the question 'entrer your phone number..Etc' or something like that.

    Privacy manager is a filter.
     
  3. Zach

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    thanks for your answer.

    how do you disable it, the CID is a number ?
    And how do you use it in a trunk ?
    It doesn't work for me .
    thanks
     
  4. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    oups, i'm confuse.

    It's not into the trunk but into the incoming route and extension :(

    I'm stupid. :silly:

    Excuse me ;)
     
  5. Zach

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I am sorry but it doesn't work.
    I created an incoming route, enable "privacy manager" and enable it into the extension and nothing happens.

    What is wrong ?
     
  6. Zach

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you provide me an example of configuration please ?
    To understand better.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  7. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ok.

    Make a trunk.
    Make an incoming call (any DID / any CID) with enabled privacy manager.
    Don't enabled this function on extension.

    With this configuration, all the caller would be enter their phone number.

    For me I make 2 incoming calls.

    Any CID/DID -> Privacy manager. (if is ok : next --- if not ok: hangup)
    _0./any DID -> ring group.

    It's work good.
     
  8. Stinger81

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've done some testing over here:

    You can enable it in any inbound route, whether or not CID's or DID's are specified. Of course, it wouldn't be logical to enable it on a route with a specified CID, but that's not what we are discussing here.

    When you enable it, there are two options:
    1) Someone calls, sending his (m/f) number -> Privacy Manager doesn't interrupt, call comes through normally
    2) Someone calls, hiding his (m/f) number -> Privacy Manager drops in asking for his (m/f) number

    In case of (2), the call gets a CID named "Privacy Manager", to show that the call got interrupted by the Privacy Manager. Problem is, the response of the caller isn't used anywhere. Not on your display, not in the CDR. (at least, in my installation, 1.3-2)
     
  9. Zach

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    forgive me because I am a beginner with Elastix and PABX.
    It doesn't work.
    What is the link between your trunk and the "incoming route"?
    I don't understand well.
     
  10. Stinger81

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't matter, we all were beginners once... ;)

    There is no real link between trunks and inbound (or incoming) routes.
    The only imagionable link between trunks and inbound routes would be the DID, but as that field can be empty, it can't really count as a link.

    When Asterisk is getting an inbound call, it doesn't really care about from which trunk it comes, only what it's destination (i.e. the called number) is. It looks up that number in the list of inbound routes and picks the one that best matches the number and than it follows the rules in that route and puts the call to the final destination.

    Hope this has been a bit helpful...
     
  11. Zach

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Juste one thing.
    How do you do that "2) Someone calls, hiding his (m/f) number -> Privacy Manager drops in asking for his (m/f) number"
    I used "CID Num alias" it doesn't work.
    What should I do to hide my identity ?
     
  12. Stinger81

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    A good question indeed, to which I do not know the answer...
    I have been looking for how to do that too, for quite a while...
     
  13. Zach

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    No one, an idea ?
     
  14. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    May be that your operator disabled this service (Identity control)
    Normaly within trunk you can set Never override CallerID
    If you leave blank callerid you send nothing or the identity operator

    But, i not sure.

    I just know that it's work for me. :huh:
     

Share This Page