PRI drops calls

Discussion in 'General' started by akroom, Jun 28, 2009.

  1. akroom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey there!

    calls incoming or outgoing from my PRI channel get dropped randomly and out of no apparent reason.

    The system has the following configuration:

    e1 card by xorcom
    one fxo module connected with 3 lines to a panasonic.
    asterisk 1.4
    elastix 1.5-2.3

    here are the config lines below, do you see any misconfiguration that can lead to this disaster??

    Chan_dahdi.conf



    [trunkgroups]



    [channels]

    context=from-pstn

    signalling=fxs_ks

    rxwink=300 ; Atlas seems to use long (250ms) winks

    usecallerid=yes

    hidecallerid=no

    callwaiting=yes

    usecallingpres=no

    callwaitingcallerid=yes

    threewaycalling=yes

    transfer=yes

    canpark=yes

    cancallforward=yes

    callreturn=yes

    echocancel=yes

    echocancelwhenbridged=no

    faxdetect=incoming

    echotraining=128

    rxgain=0

    txgain=0

    callgroup=1

    pickupgroup=1

    restartinterval=never



    ;Uncomment these lines if you have problems with the disconnection of your analog lines

    busydetect=yes

    busycount=3



    immediate=yes



    #include chan_dahdi_additional.conf

    #include dahdi-channels.conf



    ---------

    chan_dahdi*.conf



    ; Autogenerated by /usr/sbin/genzaptelconf -- do not hand edit

    ; Zaptel Channels Configurations (zapata.conf)

    ;

    ; This is not intended to be a complete zapata.conf. Rather, it is intended

    ; to be #include-d by /etc/zapata.conf that will include the global settings

    ;



    ; Span 1: XBUS-00/XPD-00 "Xorcom XPD #00/00: E1_TE" (MASTER) ClockSource

    group=0,11

    context=from-zaptel

    switchtype = euroisdn

    signalling = pri_cpe

    channel => 1-15,17-31

    ;group=0,11

    ;context=default



    ; Span 2: XBUS-00/XPD-01 "Xorcom XPD #00/01: E1_TE" RED

    group=0,12

    context=from-zaptel

    switchtype = euroisdn

    signalling = pri_cpe

    channel => 32-46,48-62

    ;group=

    ;context=default



    ; Span 3: XBUS-00/XPD-10 "Xorcom XPD #00/10: FXO"

    ;;; line="63 XPP_FXO/00/10/0"

    signalling=fxs_ks

    callerid=asreceived

    group=1

    context=from-zaptel

    channel => 63

    ;context=default



    ;;; line="64 XPP_FXO/00/10/1"

    signalling=fxs_ks

    callerid=asreceived

    group=1

    context=from-zaptel

    channel => 64

    ;context=default



    ;;; line="65 XPP_FXO/00/10/2"

    signalling=fxs_ks

    callerid=asreceived

    group=1

    context=from-zaptel

    channel => 65

    ;context=default



    ;;; line="66 XPP_FXO/00/10/3 RED"

    signalling=fxs_ks

    callerid=asreceived

    group=1

    context=from-zaptel

    channel => 66

    ;context=default



    ;;; line="67 XPP_FXO/00/10/4 RED"

    signalling=fxs_ks

    callerid=asreceived

    group=1

    context=from-zaptel

    channel => 67

    ;context=default



    ;;; line="68 XPP_FXO/00/10/5 RED"

    signalling=fxs_ks

    callerid=asreceived

    group=1

    context=from-zaptel

    channel => 68

    context=default



    ;;; line="69 XPP_FXO/00/10/6 RED"

    signalling=fxs_ks

    callerid=asreceived

    group=1

    context=from-zaptel

    channel => 69

    ;context=default



    ;;; line="70 XPP_FXO/00/10/7 RED"

    signalling=fxs_ks

    callerid=asreceived

    group=1

    context=from-zaptel

    channel => 70

    ;context=default
     
  2. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I see one

    busydetect=yes

    busycount=3

    The only thing these settings will do for an ISDN line is to CAUSE random and apparently unexplained hangups.
    My guess is you changed it, inappropriately, to stop the random hangups. But change it anyway (this change will take a full stopping of asterisk and a reload of your hardware driver to reflect the change)

    If the problem remains turn on pri debugging a nd explore the logs of a failed call.
     
  3. akroom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    still didn't help!

    would posting the log file here, would help?
     
  4. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    He He

    . . . would posting the log file here, would help?


    Help who? :)

    You will normally find that a "pri debug intense" will produce way too much to post (but plenty to read yourself) maybe the problem is at a SPAN level (do they all disconnect at the same ?) do you sync to the provider's clock source as your Master. (maybe reread the Xorcom documentation here ), (BPV errors or frame slippage would be a clue example), these should be attested to first.

    a reference:


    http://www.voip-info.org/wiki/view/Asterisk+CLI

    Particularly the section on ZAP, and more so PRI

    (the reference within:

    http://www.att.com/cpetesting/pdf/tr41459_99.pdflower

    is more or less authoritative, ISDN is all derived from AT&T's original work, even EuroISDN.)


    will get you going as you debug, once you can confidently and repeatedly identify the problem, you have probably solved it yourself 99%.
     
  5. mikedmr

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Had the same problems, and i still could not find the answer...:-(

    mike
     
  6. rejil.rajan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    A few things you can do is

    check by changing the timing configured in zaptel.conf. Incorrect timing causes random drops

    The other thing is to have resetinterval=never in the zapata.conf, some Telecom providers tend to reset the PRI line which will even drop a live call.
     
  7. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    mike:

    you don't use ISDN so this thread will confuse you, as you don't have "the same problem"

    check my other reply.

    dicko
     
  8. akroom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    here's my dahdi file: where is the timing you're referring to?

    [trunkgroups]

    [channels]
    context=from-pstn
    signalling=fxs_ks
    rxgain=-6
    txgain=-9
    rxwink=300 ; Atlas seems to use long (250ms) winks
    usecallerid=yes
    hidecallerid=no
    callwaiting=yes
    usecallingpres=no
    callwaitingcallerid=yes
    threewaycalling=yes
    transfer=yes
    canpark=yes
    cancallforward=yes
    callreturn=yes
    echocancelwhenbridged=no
    echocancel=no
    echotraining=no
    faxdetect=incoming
    callgroup=1
    pickupgroup=1
    restartinterval=never
    callprogress=no

    ;Uncomment these lines if you have problems with the disconnection of your analog lines
    busydetect=no
    ;busycount=3

    immediate=no

    #include chan_dahdi_additional.conf
    #include dahdi-channels.conf
     
  9. rejil.rajan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    In the file you pasted here, please change the "restartinterval=never" to "resetinterval=never"

    Please could you paste this file here /etc/dahdi/system.conf

    In this file you would have defined span=1,1,0,ccs,hdb3.
     
  10. akroom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    # Autogenerated by /usr/sbin/genzaptelconf -- do not hand edit
    # Zaptel Configuration File
    #
    # This file is parsed by the Zaptel Configurator, ztcfg
    #

    # It must be in the module loading order


    # Span 1: XBUS-00/XPD-00 "Xorcom XPD #00/00: E1_TE" (MASTER) ClockSource
    span=1,1,0,ccs,hdb3,crc4
    # termtype: te
    bchan=1-15,17-31
    dchan=16

    # Span 2: XBUS-00/XPD-01 "Xorcom XPD #00/01: E1_TE" RED
    span=2,2,0,ccs,hdb3,crc4
    # termtype: te
    bchan=32-46,48-62
    dchan=47

    # Span 3: XBUS-00/XPD-10 "Xorcom XPD #00/10: FXO"
    fxsks=63
    fxsks=64
    fxsks=65
    fxsks=66
    fxsks=67
    fxsks=68
    fxsks=69
    fxsks=70

    # Global data

    loadzone = us
    defaultzone = us
     
  11. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    I again question that your Span 1 should be the master clock , it needs to slave to the Telco's clock or the sync will slip eventually, if you loose the D channel then everything falls over.


    from your post:
    # Span 1: XBUS-00/XPD-00 "Xorcom XPD #00/00: E1_TE" (MASTER) ClockSource
    .
    .

    Have you been to:

    http://www.xorcom.com/downloads/astriba ... #configure
     
  12. akroom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    alright, thanks in advance for your reply.

    what's the command to slave it?
     
  13. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    akroom:


    I'm sure that the url I posted will be far more authoritative, especially as you have other zaptel hardware involved.

    Your original descriptions of failure just smack to me of a timing problem (been there, done that), I am in a T1 world not E1 ISDN wise, they are very similar but not the same.
     
  14. akroom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Dicko..

    it seems that there is so little information about slaving the timing on the internet.

    i checked the link you sent, and the installation/configuraiton we have on that box has nothing wrong.
     
  15. akroom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Dicko..

    it seems that there is so little information about slaving the timing on the internet.

    i checked the link you sent, and the installation/configuraiton we have on that box has nothing wrong.
     
  16. rejil.rajan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    In which port is the PRI line connected to, if it is in the first port. The configuration looks fine. Add the resetinterval=never and check if there are call drops. If call drops still exist, change the following line
    "span=1,1,0,ccs,hdb3,crc4" to "span=1,0,0,ccs,hdb3,crc4"
     
  17. akroom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    what difference does the changing 1 to 0 make?

    thanks in advance for your reply.
     
  18. rejil.rajan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    A span definition is in this format:

    span=(spannum),(timing),(LBO),(framing),(coding)


    Timing defines how you want to synchronize the timing of the devices. To not use this span as a sync source, use
     
  19. akroom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  20. rejil.rajan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please could you paste your current

    system.conf file and chan_dadhdi.conf file
     

Share This Page