Polycom IP 560s and Buddies, Presence, Intercom

Discussion in 'General' started by sangelo, Feb 7, 2011.

1. sangelo

clearly a noob here... Just started playing with Elastix this weekend. I have some polycom ip 560's running sip 3.2.4 as I downloaded sip.ld with that version to the tftp root and the phones pick it up.

When I boot the phones with the 3.2.4 image I get an error on the phone stating sip.cfg is using some pre 3.2 options. So I grabbed the sip-interop.cfg from the polycom 3.2.4 release and uploaded to the tftp root and renamed it to sip.cfg and rebooted the phones. No more message on the phone about the pre 3.2 sip.cfg..

Great.. but now, I don't have a few features like Buddies, setting my presence and I want to configure intercom. Can someone provide me with some direction on how to add these features back in? I assume I need to add them into the sip.cfg file?

I've attached the sip-interop.cfg that I renamed to sip.cfg and uploaded to my tftproot if this helps..

Thanks! http://forum.elastix.org/old_files/sip-20110207.txt

2. hinzinho

Your sip.cfg is missing a lot of items. I am not sure where you got the sip-interop.cfg, but I would re-download the sip.cfg from Polycom website again. This is posted on Polycom website. Make sure you download the right file:

PLEASE NOTE:
    Combined download should be used where phones may be running pre-4.0 BootROM.
    Split download file is recommended, but requires that all phones are running BootROM 4.0 or newer.

Another caution is when you using the Elastix endpoint manager, it will replace your sip.cfg file. Either make the sip.cfg read only or put it to another directory.

3. sangelo

hmmm.. I downloaded the split files. Well, this is where I'm not sure. When I downloaded the 3.3.1 release from Polycom and expanded the .zip there is a config directory. In the config directory is where I got the sip-interop.cfg file. Along with that there are numerous other files:

Applications.cfg
    features.cfg