password for asterisk user

Discussion in 'General' started by mkoblar, Jan 27, 2011.

  1. mkoblar

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    For announced server (based on Elastix) I must copy some files to /var/spool/astrisk/outgoinig folder. I can do this with root account (via vbs script), but I don't like this solution (security reason, i must also chante ownership to asterisk user).

    Can anyone help me - what's default password for user asterisk

    Best regards

    Marko
     
  2. fmvillares

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    user asterisk does not access the system login...it does not have a password for login or use...its a nologin user....try this:man chmod, man chown, man chgrp
     
  3. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should never "copy" into that folder, to paraphrase the words of Asterisk "that process is very aggressive" and calls will sooner or later fail.

    You should follow that advice and copy them onto the machine and then move them into that directory.
     
  4. mkoblar

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TNX for info. I already copy files like root , after that I change "ovnership" with chown...

    Best regards

    Marko
     
  5. mkoblar

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK. I found that hint to copy required "call" into that folder... But maybe I've made misstake. But direct copy to into that folder is also very fast :). I have try also with other directoy, and every minute, I copy files to .../outgoing folder (In this solution I should wait up to 1 minute....)

    Best regards

    Marko
     
  6. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    cp is very fast but does it "one line at a time" so some WILL break when asterisk takes the half copied file as a call file. Both mv and chown are "a-tomic" and do it in one step. (believe me on this one , been there, done that :) )


    also, running any process as root is intrinsically a security risk, it's just bad-practise, get used to using unprivileged accounts and sudoer for this sort of procedure.

    dicko
     

Share This Page