Outbound route by extension?

Discussion in 'General' started by etang, Jun 5, 2008.

  1. etang

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to setup outbound route by extensions?
    Say I have 2 companies sharing the same box. Each has their own SIP accounts. So company A has extension 5000-5010 using SIP trunk #1 to dial out on. Company B has extension 6000-6010 using SIP trunk #2 to dial out on?

    Thanks

    Edwin Tang
     
  2. dingoland

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    By extensions, i don't know, but by prefix in the outbound rules yes.
    You have to setup 2 outbound routes with differents prefix in the outbound dial paterns.
    For users A, tell them to use 5 for example to go out and for users B, tell them to use 6 to go out.

    Maybe, you can filter by context but i cannot tell you more, i m not a freepbx expert.
    Wait for a freepbx expert ;)

    Regards
     
  3. zeus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can do that with different prefix in the outbound dial paterns, as dingoland describe above. Now if you want ext 1 not to dial from outbound route from ext 2 you must control the context of the extension. This can be done with custom contexts module from freepbx http://freepbx.org/trac/browser/contributed_modules/release/customcontexts-0.3.4.tgz

    This module is officially untested but i use it for a long time now without any problems.

    I think this can work for you.

    Regards ;)
     
  4. chrisuk1978

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Edwin,

    The most flexible way to achieve this is to use the A2Billing module already installed with the Elastix distro.

    Using A2Billing, you can set up the trunks in A2Billing and then use ratecards to differentiate between company A and company B (or for more granularity, individual users).

    See my post from the FreePBX forums to describe the setup of this:

    The only downside of this procedure is that extensions_additional.conf is rewritten by FreePBX each time you save and apply extension changes from the Elastix interface. So far, I have been remodifying extensions_additional.conf each time I need to do this (step 7 followed by step 14 only). For a relatively stable production system, this should not create a significant headache.

    It is worthwhile setting accurate billing costs up for each trunk, which may involve many time related entries. This is a little tedious but yields rewards in that you can then accurately use this to account for each companies call costs, and should you wish to add additional trunks in the future you could use the system to do the least cost routing. You may decide to use this as your billing solution.

    Once the trunks and ratecards are configured adding users is a cinch! The complete process should take you no more than a couple of hours to implement and test.

    I use a similar configuration at home to do the least cost routing for the house.

    Hope this is helpful.

    Best regards,
    Chris.<br><br>Post edited by: chrisuk1978, at: 2008/06/08 23:09
     
  5. johnryan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    In my phones I setup a Dial Plan that adds the number 3 to the beginning of every number. Then In my outbound routes I told it to look for anything starting with 3 and route them to specific trunk. Then went to the trunk and told it to remove the 3. This allows me to setup specific extensions to use specific outbound routes.
    If anyone needs specific instructions just ask and I'll post them...
     

Share This Page