Outbound Calls

Discussion in 'General' started by p_heath, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. p_heath

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I'm relatively new to Elastix so please bear with me and I apologise now for my ignorance!

    We have a Xorcom XR1000 box - currently with only 1 line connected but no LED's on the box.

    I have setup a trunk with 11 X's in the Dial Rules

    I have also setup an outbound rule with 11 X's in with the trunk assigned.

    Whenever I try and dial out I just get an automated message. I don't want to have to dial a 9 to get an outside line.

    Thanks
    Paul. :)
     
  2. fmvillares

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you have 11 X´s you need to dial 18003333333 (11 numbers only) for example and only that type of numbers will get out
     
  3. p_heath

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm only entering 11 numbers - UK numbers are 11 digits but it still doesn't appear to make a difference. I have also tried X. but this produces the same error
     
  4. fmvillares

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Re:Outbound Calls

    and in line down down in the page of your outbound route you have selected the correct trunk?
     
  5. p_heath

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have setup 8 trunks (for the 8 ports on the box) and these are selected in order 1-8 in the trunk sequence.
     
  6. fmvillares

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Re:Outbound Calls

    mmm with that info not a single clue...what does the asterisk cli said to you when dialing out?
     
  7. alambro1

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Re:Outbound Calls

    Launch your SSH client and login to your server.

    Type "asterisk -r" as seen below
    [root@srv-a ~]# asterisk -r

    Type "dahdi show channels" as seen below, this will output a list of all of your channels. Channels 1-23 are my T1 Pri with 24 being the b-channel. I have 4 T1's (only 1 is active) hence the reason the next number in the list is 97. Channels 97-112 are my FXS and 113-120 are my FXO.

    srv-a*CLI> dahdi show channels
    Chan Extension Context Language MOH Interpret
    pseudo default default
    1 from-pstn default
    2 from-pstn default
    3 from-pstn default
    4 from-pstn default
    5 from-pstn default
    6 from-pstn default
    7 from-pstn default
    8 from-pstn default
    9 from-pstn default
    10 from-pstn default
    11 from-pstn default
    12 from-pstn default
    13 from-pstn default
    14 from-pstn default
    15 from-pstn default
    16 from-pstn default
    17 from-pstn default
    18 from-pstn default
    19 from-pstn default
    20 from-pstn default
    21 from-pstn default
    22 from-pstn default
    23 from-pstn default
    97 from-internal default
    98 from-internal default
    99 from-internal default
    100 from-internal default
    101 from-internal default
    102 from-internal default
    103 from-internal default
    104 from-internal default
    105 from-internal default
    106 from-internal default
    107 from-internal default
    108 from-internal default
    109 from-internal default
    110 from-internal default
    111 from-internal default
    112 from-internal default
    113 from-pstn default
    114 from-pstn default
    115 from-pstn default
    116 from-pstn default
    117 from-pstn default
    118 from-pstn default
    119 from-pstn default
    120 from-pstn default
    srv-a*CLI>


    Next type "dahdi show status", this will tell you if your devices are active or not as seen below. Ok means that the devices are active.

    srv-a*CLI> dahdi show status
    Description Alarms IRQ bpviol CRC4
    Xorcom XPD #00/00: T1 OK 0 0 0
    Xorcom XPD #00/01: T1 RED 0 0 0
    Xorcom XPD #00/02: T1 RED 0 0 0
    Xorcom XPD #00/03: T1 RED 0 0 0
    Xorcom XPD #00/10: FXS OK 0 0 0
    Xorcom XPD #00/20: FXS OK 0 0 0
    Xorcom XPD #00/30: FXO OK 0 0 0

    Next, See Attachment. Create a new trunk called Test FXO Trunk, set max channels at 1 and set the Zap Identifier as the first open FXO port from the output above (mine is 113, yours will be different), save settings. Now create an outbound route called Test-Route, enter in the dial patterns you see in the attachment. These dial patterns will allow calls to any 800, 866, 877, 888, 10-digit or 7-digit numbers you dial. Next, in the trunk sequence box select the trunk you created in the previous step (mine was ZAP/113, yours will be different).

    Now, make sure you have an active line plugged into the proper port for which you setup your trunk. Test this line by plugging in a standard analog telephone and place a call, if the call goes through you know the line is active, plug the line back into the proper port on the PBX.

    Now, test a phone connected to the PBX to make sure it is setup properly by dialing *98 (voicemail), if you get voicemail then you have a phone that is properly communicating with the PBX. Now go back to "Outbound Routes" in the PBX and make sure that "Test-Route" is at the top of the list if you have multilple outbound routes. Apply and save all changes. You should be able to make a call now.

    NOTE: If you are dialing from an analog phone attached to one of the PBX's FXS ports you CANNOT use the # key to send the call, you must wait for the timeout period and the call will be placed automatically. If you press the # key the call will fail everytime.
     
  8. alambro1

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Re:Outbound Calls

    The attachment appears to not be working so....Dial plan below.

    If your service provider requires you dial a 1 before ten digit numbers then use this:
    1800NXXXXXX
    1866NXXXXXX
    1877NXXXXXX
    1888NXXXXXX
    1NXXNXXXXXX
    NXXXXXX


    If your service proivder does not require a 1 before ten digit number then use this:
    800NXXXXXX
    866NXXXXXX
    877NXXXXXX
    888NXXXXXX
    NXXNXXXXXX
    NXXXXXX
     
  9. p_heath

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks very much for all the useful information!

    I'll give it a try and let you know how I get on.
     
  10. p_heath

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your advice. I am not able to make outbound calls and internall between extensions
     

Share This Page