Nothing happens

Discussion in 'General' started by Noel, Aug 7, 2008.

1. Noel

I am very new to elastix, however have been busy trying out different PBX systems of late.
    I have a Patton SmartNode configured for with 2 FXO ports and had a 3CX system set up on Windoze with a variety of linksys, Patton and soft phone extensions.
    Next I set up trixbox and had the same gear running through that + a connection to an ITSP.
    I mostly hail from Windoze, but used to spend a bit of time with Red Hat and Sendmail many moons ago.

Now I am attempting to set up elastix as it's feature set looks very good, well it could be if I could get it to do anything.

The whole thing is dead - from a telephony perspective.
    I have a pretty user interface.
    I can set up all of my extensions and trunks, set my inbound and out bound routes
    I can't get any phones to register, hard or soft.
    If I pick up a phone and dial it dials then reads disconnected.

Running Ethereal during this time produces no traffic to or from elastix.

Initially the elastix server would not resolve DNS, however that is now corrected by running 'setup' and inserting the name server (which was already showing in elastix anyway) that enabled me to ping members of my network by name, so I know the elastix box can see everything now and I can ping the elastix box from everywhere.

I have tried running asterisk -rvvvvv, which is all well and good, but it appears that there is nothing much to log.

Again using Ethereal, I can see the Patton box trying to register with elastix and getting 404 errors. Traffic however is very sparse, as opposed to trixbox, where there was a fair bit of traffic generated, ARP and DNS calls and the like, together with registration request etc.

I have followed elastix without tears to get to a point where it is usable, but that hasn't helped.
    Now all I need is elastix with hair.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

2. rafael