no audio on external phone

Discussion in 'General' started by adcphones, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. adcphones

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am getting no audio both way with external phone, using dynamic ip

    sip_nat.cong

    externhost=junqueirasip.selfip.net
    localnet=192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0­
    externrefresh=10
    nat=yes
    qualify=yes
    canreinvite=no

    can somebody help please
     
  2. Kriss

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have a firewall that could drop some RTP trafic ?
    Have you tried :
    externip=67.205.200.91
    in your /etc/asterisk/sip_nat.conf

    No error on the codecs side ?
     
  3. alben

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a similar problem.
    I have elastix 1.6..12, i have 2 trunks setup with voip providers working fine.
    Local extension to extension calls work fine, but external extension registers, calls, rings, pick up but no voice.
    my sip_nat.conf looks

    nat=yes
    externip=190.43.78.40
    localnet=192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0
    externrefresh=10

    my elastix server is 192.168.1.46
    in my zyxel router just for testing i set to default all to 192.168.1.46

    i apreciate your help
     
  4. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    The audio payload is not SIP, it is an rtp stream on an arbitrary port (negotiated by SIP) between 10000 and 20000 (by default) your router must allow and forward such connections to your Asterisk Server without attempting any port translation and vice versa at the router on the far-end to the extension, suspect the far-end router.

    dicko
     
  5. alben

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,
    in my router i defaulted all to my elastix, just for testing (called DMZ?) so is not my router, i the remote router i am able to make voip calls (means rtp is flowing?)
    Also in a elastix IRC channel i heard that custom context might messed up elastix, i have custom context installed.
    thanks again
     
  6. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the extension is registered and can place and ring calls (all SIP) then it's not custom-contexts.

    That only leaves the routers. There is nothing else to be said

    you can try rtp debug from asterisk and tcpdump from bash to find out what you did wrong.

    dicko

    p.s.

    .
    .
    sip_nat.cong

    externhost=junqueirasip.selfip.net
    localnet=192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0­
    externrefresh=10
    nat=yes
    qualify=yes
    canreinvite=no
    .
    .
    .

    the nat, qualify and canreinvite do NOT belong in this part of sip.conf and it's inclusions.
     
  7. witekprytek

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    alben: what is your trunk configuration?
    If you forward all traffic to your astsreisk server you do not need to use sip_nat.cfg
    You can forward sip port 5060 udp to your elastix server and rtp udp 10000-20000 to your elastix server too (check the range of rtp in /etc/asterisk/rtp.conf
    I have :
    rtpstart=10000
    rtpend=20000)

    Then comment everything in sip_nat.cfg.

    In your SIP trunk configuration set nat=yes.

    This solution works fine for me.
     
  8. alben

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Re:no audio on external phone

    my sip_nat.conf look like this:

    nat=yes
    externip=190.43.87.41
    localnet=192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0
    externrefresh=10

    i use trunks for voip provider only, i think i dont need trunks for extension to extension calls,

    my ip is dynamic changes once a day,

    thanks
     
  9. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Re:no audio on external phone

    My apologies for commenting on the wrong sip_nat.conf.

    If your ip is dynamic then you need to use

    externhost=myhostname.someorg.org

    and register with a dynamic dns provider, preferably in Peru if available, or edit that file every day when it changes.
     
  10. DaveD

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Re:no audio on external phone

    With Elastix version 1.6 doesn't sip_nat.conf get replaced with sip_general_custom.conf
     
  11. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Re:no audio on external phone

    It doesn't really matter, sip.conf "includes" sip_general_custom.conf immediately before sip_nat.conf, but they are both still included. it's a matter of style, I prefer to put the nat related stuff in the appropriately named file, but as ever the "last one wins"

    regards

    dicko
     
  12. alben

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Re:no audio on external phone

    Hi dicko

    my rtp debug fills up my screen with this

    Got RTP packet from 192.168.1.130:16386 (type 08, seq 000094, ts 076400, len 000160)
    Sent RTP packet to 192.168.1.33:16384 (type 00, seq 031484, ts 076400, len 000160)
    Got RTP packet from 192.168.1.130:16386 (type 08, seq 000095, ts 076560, len 000160)
    Sent RTP packet to 192.168.1.33:16384 (type 00, seq 031485, ts 076560, len 000160)
    Got RTP packet from 192.168.1.130:16386 (type 08, seq 000096, ts 076720, len 000160)
    Sent RTP packet to 192.168.1.33:16384 (type 00, seq 031486, ts 076720, len 000160)
    Got RTP packet from 192.168.1.130:16386 (type 08, seq 000097, ts 076880, len 000160)
    Sent RTP packet to 192.168.1.33:16384 (type 00, seq 031487, ts 076880, len 000160)
    Got RTP packet from 192.168.1.130:16386 (type 08, seq 000098, ts 077040, len 000160)
    Sent RTP packet to 192.168.1.33:16384 (type 00, seq 031488, ts 077040, len 000160)
    Got RTP packet from 192.168.1.130:16386 (type 08, seq 000099, ts 077200, len 000160)

    my elastix server is 192.168.1.47, .....1.130 is my ATA device but ...1.33 is not in my LAN.

    this is my router screeenshot


    thanks a lot
     
  13. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Re:no audio on external phone

    Then I suggest you start with:-

    http://www.voipuser.org/forum_topic_7295.html

    To understand the basics of SIP/SDP and so to identify which part of your network is misreporting to SIP (the SDP part of SIP) as to how to write the VIA's, It is not your Server and your NAT descriptions are obviously correct. Something is translating the rtp port (that will be a firewall somewhere) and the Address (probably also a firewall)

    you can read the INVITE's and VIA's at the Asterisk CLI with :-

    sip set debug peer <ext>.

    dicko
     
  14. alben

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    following the problem that external phone has no voice,
    if i am able to place voip calls from my local extension (using providers as betamax) that eliminates my local router as the source of the problem?
    also if i am able to place voip calls from my remote extension(not using elastix) that leaves out that router as source of the problem

    thanks again
     
  15. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Although you have eliminated the routers as possibilities, Your logs show however show otherwise.

    As I said before


    sip set debug peer <ext>.

    to see what is misconfigured.
     
  16. alben

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    following my study case, with my same network i connected another elastix 1.6 server and now i do have voice in external phones. Then, something is wrong with my first elastix server.
    The following is what i found is different in both cases:

    ----elastix with no voice--------------------

    dialparties.agi: Methodology of ring is 'none'
    -- dialparties.agi: Added extension 2001 to extension map
    -- dialparties.agi: Extension 2001 cf is disabled
    -- dialparties.agi: Extension 2001 do not disturb is disabled
    > dialparties.agi: extnum 2001 has: cw: 0; hascfb: 0 [] hascfu: 0 []
    dialparties.agi: ExtensionState: 0
    dialparties.agi: Extension 2001 has ExtensionState: 0
    -- dialparties.agi: Checking CW and CFB status for extension 2001
    -- dialparties.agi: dbset CALLTRACE/2001 to 1000
    -- dialparties.agi: Filtered ARG3: 2001
    -- AGI Script dialparties.agi completed, returning 0
    -- Executing [s@macro-dial:7] Dial("SIP/1000-082c7390", "SIP/2001||tr") in new stack
    -- Called 2001

    ----elastix with voice------------------------

    dialparties.agi: Methodology of ring is 'none'
    -- dialparties.agi: Added extension 200 to extension map
    -- dialparties.agi: Extension 200 cf is disabled
    -- dialparties.agi: Extension 200 do not disturb is disabled
    dialparties.agi: ExtensionState: 0
    -- dialparties.agi: dbset CALLTRACE/200 to 201
    -- dialparties.agi: Filtered ARG3: 200
    == Manager 'admin' logged off from 127.0.0.1
    -- AGI Script dialparties.agi completed, returning 0
    -- Executing [s@macro-dial:7] Dial("SIP/201-08b03f10", "SIP/200||tr") in new stack
    -- Called 200
    -- SIP/200-08b5f478 is ringing
    -- SIP/200-08b5f478 answered SIP/201-08b03f10
    --------------------------------------------------------------

    the line
    dialparties.agi: extnum 2001 has: cw: 0; hascfb: 0 [] hascfu: 0 []

    must be causing the problem?


    thanks a lot
     

Share This Page