New Aastra xml scripts

Discussion in 'General' started by donhwyo, Feb 8, 2009.

  1. donhwyo

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been able to get the new xml scripts to install in Elastix. I am not even sure what some of them do yet. Every thing here is at your own risk. Backup everything you can think of. Don't do this on production. ETC ETC

    This is from 1 install and 1 upgrade. Your mileage may vary.

    First for upgrade from old already working setup. Reread first paragraph. Read it again.

    Did you read it and understand it? Yes OR No

    No = Close this thread
    Yes = Proceed at your own risk. You have been warned!

    As I said this is work in progress. This is how aastra said to install the betas. My method follows. I assume that trixbox would update the way I did and it should work and did. Choose your poison. Fix their urls if you want to use the final version.

    Code:
    cd /tmp
    wget http://65.205.71.13/xml-beta/aastra-ipphone-2.4.1-1.noarch.rpm
    wget http://65.205.71.13/xml-beta/aastra-xml-scripts-2.2.0-1.noarch.rpm
    rpm -e aastra-xml-scripts
    rpm -e aastra-ipphone
    rpm -i aastra-ipphone-2.4.1-1.noarch.rpm
    rpm -i aastra-xml-scripts-2.2.0-1.noarch.rpm
    setup-aastra-xml
    reboot
    

    Code:
    wget http://yum.trixbox.org/centos/5/RPMS/aastra-ipphone-2.4.1-1.noarch.rpm && rpm -Uvh aastra-ipphone-2.4.1-1.noarch.rpm
    Code:
    wget http://yum.trixbox.org/centos/5/RPMS/aastra-xml-scripts-2.2.0-1.noarch.rpm && rpm -Uvh --force aastra-xml-scripts-2.2.0-1.noarch.rpm
    Code:
    setup-aastra-xml
    Logoff an extension and log back on. You should be on the new scripts.


    For a new install. This is what I do for a test box. Do as much or as little as you like. On a test box I like the gui but not in production. Hudlite is optional I have upgraded the versions since the last version in the older thread. If you do this from a clean install it should work. If you have changed passwords (and you should on a production machine) you will need to edit some files. Wait your not supposed to be doing this on a prodution machine are you. Oh well some will.

    You can cut and paste from here. Be careful as I don't know if line feed and scrolling may be broken.

    Code:
    Install cd  Elastix 1.3  #clean install no updates to any thing until this works
    
    yum update yum
    
    yum install nano
    
    nano /etc/sysconfig/network
    
    nano /etc/hosts
    
    Create trixbox repo with default off
    
    #### copy down to ####
    echo "[trixbox]
    name=trixbox RPM Repository for CentOS and RHEL
    baseurl=http://yum.trixbox.org/centos/5/RPMS/ 
    gpgcheck=0
    enabled=0" > /etc/yum.repos.d/trixbox.repo
    
    ####
    
    mkdir /etc/asterisk/hud && chown -R asterisk.asterisk /etc/asterisk/hud && chmod -R 755 /etc/asterisk/hud
    
    yum --enablerepo=trixbox install ircd-hybrid perl-Curses perl-Term-ReadKey perl-Tk perl-Net-DNS perl-POE perl-POE-Component-Client-DNS perl-XML-Simple perl-XML-NamespaceSupport perl-XML-SAX perl-XML-Parser libX11 bind-utils.i386 
    
    wget http://yum.trixbox.org/centos/5/RPMS/hudlite-server-1.4.32-2.i686.rpm && rpm -Uvh hudlite-server-1.4.32-2.i686.rpm --force
    
    wget wget http://yum.trixbox.org/centos/5/RPMS/tbm-hudadmin-2.6.1.0-5.noarch.rpm && rpm -Uvh --nodeps --force tbm-hudadmin-2.6.1.0-5.noarch.rpm 
    
    chconfig ircd on && service ircd start
    
    #hud should be working now
    
    
    #Next step not needed for KDE. See http://bugs.centos.org/view.php?id=2483
    
    wget http://mirror.centos.org/centos/5/os/i386/CentOS/nautilus-sendto-0.7-5.fc6.i386.rpm  && rpm -Uvh --nodeps nautilus-sendto-0.7-5.fc6.i386.rpm	
    
    
    
    yum grouplist    #Shows list of available groups
    
    # Substitute "KDE (K Desktop Environment)" for "GNOME Desktop Environment" if you prefer.  #Not tested
    
    yum groupinstall "X Window System" "GNOME Desktop Environment" firefox
    
    startx
    
    #goto 127.0.0.1 in firefox. Some pages require flash plugin. Click manual install and install the yum repo version.
    
    yum install flash-plugin   #logoff x
    
    #edit /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf  change RewriteEngine On to off	# or figure out how to do certificates on phone
    
    service httpd restart
    
    ##configure some extensions, paging, parking, conference per the forum above.
    
    yum --enablerepo=trixbox install mDNSResponder-util mpg123
    
    wget http://yum.trixbox.org/centos/5/RPMS/aastra-ipphone-2.4.1-1.noarch.rpm && rpm -ivh aastra-ipphone-2.4.1-1.noarch.rpm
    
    wget http://yum.trixbox.org/centos/5/RPMS/aastra-xml-scripts-2.2.0-1.noarch.rpm && rpm -ivh --force aastra-xml-scripts-2.2.0-1.noarch.rpm 
    
    yum install php-gd
    
    setup-aastra-xml 
    
    chmod -R a+rwx /tftpboot && chown -R asterisk.asterisk /tftpboot
    
    
    
    #### copy down to #### edit as needed **** creates /etc/asterisk/phpagi.conf
    
    echo "// example phpagi.conf
    
    [phpagi]
    
    #enable debuging
    debug=true
    
    #use internal error handler
    error_handler=true
    
    #mail errors to
    admin=youremail
    
    #host name of this server
    hostname=elastix.yourdomain
    # temporary directory for storing temporary output
    tempdir=/var/spool/asterisk/tmp/
    
    [festival]
    #path to text2wave binary
    text2wave=/usr/bin/text2wave
    
    [asmanager]
    # server to connect to
    server=localhost
    
    # default manager port
    port=5038
    
    #username for login
    username=admin
    
    #password for login
    secret=elastix456
    
    [cepstral]
    #alternate text to speech engine
    swift=/opt/swift/bin/swift
    voice=David" > /etc/asterisk/phpagi.conf
    
    ####
    
    wget http://www.elastix.org/images/fbfiles/files/main.txt && mv main.txt /var/www/html/recordings/includes/main.conf.php && chown asterisk:asterisk /var/www/html/recordings/includes/main.conf.php
    
    Edit as needed
    Dicko do I have enough warnings in there. B)

    Don
     
  2. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes,
    Nice, thanks.
    I'll try it tomorrow.

    Dicko


    (and a nice little bonus in the two penultimate lines, kudos!)
     
  3. donhwyo

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    I forgot to add one more warning. You may need to read some documentation. Oh wait, never mind. They haven't posted any yet!

    We all need to harass Aastra to start supporting us. They are supporting Trixbox and PIAF why not us. They told me no body has asked. I guess that makes me nobody! B)

    Their support is on the darkside over at trixbox.org. Soon there phones will be show trixbox when they boot. Oh wait that should be another topic. Never mind.

    Don

    Beta doc link.
    http://65.205.71.13/xml-beta/PA-001009-00-03.pdf

    Code:
    Link to new docs
    http://65.205.71.13/2.2.0/Aastra XML Scripts - Trixbox CE-PA-001009-00-03.pdf
     
  4. donhwyo

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. torontob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Donhwyo,

    Can you please write about your experience with the new xml scripts? Any neat new features? or does it just break stuff and doesn't add anything?

    Thanks,
     
  6. donhwyo

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haven't had time to play with it much yet but there are some nice new features. Look in the trixbox forums. I will be out of town for a week so wont really get to do much with them till I get back. First observation there were many more settings in the config file. And the documentation has improved.

    Don
     
  7. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don:


    I hacked the pbxinaflash script a little:
    Code:
    cd /usr/src
    mkdir aastra
    cd aastra
    script_version="2.2.0"
    phone_version="2.4.1"
    SOURCE="http://pbxinaflash.net/source/aastra-xml-$script_version"
    wget $SOURCE/mDNSResponder-108.5-1.i386.rpm
    wget $SOURCE/mDNSResponder-util-108.5-1.i386.rpm
    yum -y install php-gd
    yum -y install libtool-ltdl-devel
    wget $SOURCE/mpg123-0.59r-1.i386.rpm
    wget $SOURCE/aastra-ipphone-$phone_version-1.noarch.rpm
    wget $SOURCE/aastra-xml-scripts-$script_version-1.noarch.rpm
    
    # MODIFY FIREWALL RULES FOR MDNS RESPONDER
    #echo -n "Modifying firewall rules for mDNSResponder..."
    #res=`grep 5353 /etc/sysconfig/iptables`
    #if [ "$res" = "-A INPUT -p udp -m udp --dport 5353 -j ACCEPT " ]
    #then#
    #       echo "Nothing to do"
    #else
    #       iptables -A INPUT -p udp -m udp --dport 5353 -j ACCEPT >/dev/null 2>/dev/null
    #       iptables-save > /etc/sysconfig/iptables 2>/dev/null
    #       service iptables restart >/dev/null 2>/dev/null
    #       echo "Done"
    #fi
    
    # Change read/write mode to be sure + Cleanup
    chmod -R a+rwx /tftpboot
    chown -R asterisk.asterisk /tftpboot
    
    rpm -ivh mpg123-0.59r-1.i386.rpm
    rpm -i aastra-ipphone-$phone_version-1.noarch.rpm
    rpm -Uhv --force aastra-xml-scripts-$script_version-1.noarch.rpm
    rpm -i mDNSResponder-108.5-1.i386.rpm
    rpm -i mDNSResponder-util-108.5-1.i386.rpm
    
    
    
    sed -i 's/RewriteEngine Off/RewriteEngine On/g' /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf
    
    echo "Aastra XML scripts $script_version successfully installed."
    echo "Please run setup-aastra-xml to generate aastra.cfg."
    echo "Please reboot your server to finalize the installation."
    
    the commented out bit is too allow mDNS through iptables (which is unfortunately probably not running on most Elastix boxes) and probably not needed in most deployments

    It's a philistine hack for which I make no apologies, (what do you expect for 30 mins work) currently the network config bit of setup-aastra-xml will only work if you have a properly setup masqueraded wan/lan type multihomed thingy.

    Other than that it works like a champ, and could easily be spliced into your script.

    I only checked it with one 57 and a 9133 (same old option 66 tftp:// hack needed) but so far so good
    And it was on a beta3 build but I believe it should work on any build (except of course a production system, when it will completely screw up everything BE WARNED!!)

    (Make sure your dhcp server is running first)
     
  8. donhwyo

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great maybe this way will turn out better. I installed the beta version of the scripts to a 1.4 beta so I agree it should work on anything. Maybe some day Aastra will support us Too.

    Don
     
  9. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don:

    (and anyone who cares) when you return, do you care to work on this mutually, ( lets include fail2ban, sort out the stupid but consistent, nat problems problems people have, the fcuk-up when the network "goes away", the integration of the excellent aastra xml scripts to endpoint configuration bits, etc. etc. let's include the beta program but in my experience it needs a kick up the ass from us implimentors, (sorry beta guys, maybe you can't see the forest because of the trees in the way, despite your statement that after abandoning 1.4 and that 1.5 would be "the latest available" software, you fail in many directions, so far core centos, freepbx to name a couple), (I offered my critique and resources but have not yet got a valid response to several of my (I believe) valid concerns) ) (the script would in effect be an "Update Patch" with optional "improvements" for 1.3 while wait for 1.5

    Surely this is the best integrated disto, but why are we so stuck in 2007?
    (just my 2cents as ever, and I bet it stirs up the chicken coop!)
     
  10. donhwyo

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure I would like to do that. If we did it as a module I think it could still be compatible with or at least coexist with the official end point system. I think the Aastra stuff is all gpl so maybe get that into the distro some day.

    Failtoban would be an excellent idea. I installed it and it was quite painless. Would love to see that one in the distro. Didn't look at any licensing issues though. Have you heard any more about a security forum lately? Looks like Bob is now a moderator so maybe he will push for it. Got to go look for that thread.

    Making an automatic nat system could prove to be a major project on its own. Have you got an idea for this? I use a hodge podge of tools and methods to look at things and could not begin to automate it. Might be easier to give some good examples for some common setups. Maybe a template for people to fill in with what works for them so new people could see what works for other people with similar setup. That of course assumes they would read it.

    Gone to Vegas for a business meeting,
    Don
     
  11. donhwyo

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like your version of the scripts better. It gets us away from trixbox and seems to install better.

    It seems I missed libtool-ltdl-devel and never noticed it. Thought the force was just to get around some trixbox nonsense. Although I don't see it as a requirement in the docs. libtool-ltdl was installed.

    This was on 1.3.

    Thanks,
    Don

    Actually it is in the piaf docs but not the trixbox docs.
     
  12. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don:
    Sorry my friend I suffer from CRS but I believe I forced it to get around a freepx thingy.

    I might remind you that you posted the source link in #16552, I just followed it, stripped out it's secretive nature, and brutally kicked it into submission (I find it hard to take credit for that barbarianism, BTW I thought you were in Vegas!)
     
  13. torontob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    All right, I have a naive question now. I guess the more you know the less you know applies in my case.

    Can I simply use the php path in the programable keys of Aastra Phone with the key set to XML but not actually provisioning the phone? I have a situation where phones will not connect to TFTP to download configuration even though server is setup to do so. But I still want to take advantage of the Aastra XML scripts that I have installed. I am specially intrested in DND since it shows DND ACTIVATED and DND DEACTIVATE on screen. I can do this with simply putting *76# to toggle but XML would be nicer. I tried puttin the path for DND php and set the key to XML on an Aastra 53i but it doesn't work.

    Any suggestions?
     
  14. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see why not if the server is available through the firewall/router.

    BTW tftp requires udp port 69 to be open through that device, (as ever be cautious of what you open though)
     
  15. torontob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello All,

    What is the Night/Day mode options. It seems to display on all of my Aastra 53i phones while provisioned. I checked the soft keys and there is no daynight.php mode assigned to any of the keys in 53i. This is an annoying display and I am not even sure if it's usefull. How to take it off?

    Thanks
     
  16. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    To get the most out of the XML scripts you need to edit the /var/www/html/aastra/asterisk/dem*.prf files. It would probably help if you read the XML documentation available on the aastra site.
     
  17. torontob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Dicko,

    Unfortunately Day/Night mode is from the beta xml and not documented but I found this:

    http://www.trixbox.org/wiki/Aastra-day-night

    However, this doesn't help me because I am not sure as to why the phone picks up Night mode by default or does it even display night/day mode.
     
  18. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just comment it out in 53i section of the .prf file and reprovision the phones
     
  19. torontob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    My friend, by defautl, 53i section in user-demo.prf does not include these lines:

    Code:
    #prgkey3 type:xml
    #prgkey3 label:Day/Night
    #prgkey3 value:http://$$AA_XML_SERVER_AA$$/$$AA_XMLDIRECTORY_AA$$/asterisk/daynight.php?user=$$SIPUSERNAME$$
    And I haven't added any Night/Day mode. What happens is that the phone has a display of NightMode all the time on this phone. So, it's not only 53i section of config in the .prf file that determines the display on this phone. It's probably set somewhere else and I am trying to find it. Also, apparently it ties with FreePBX Day/Night which I don't know where that is...

    Thanks
     
  20. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm. . .
    What is in the <mac>.cfg files in /tftpboot? something is setting those keys, which key is set and what does the http server on the phone show for that key?
     

Share This Page