Need some information

Discussion in 'General' started by dchah, Sep 4, 2009.

  1. dchah

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i would like to know the full list of all the ports needed to make Voip Server Active like the IM and IKA and remoting in to my boxs to manage it and any others need to complete the installation behind a nat Router

    Regards David
     
  2. jessie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi David,

    Below are ports to make your VoIP server works. I include here the network ports for you to manage it remotel.

    SIP on UDP port 5060. Other SIP servers may need TCP port 5060 as well
    5060 to 5085

    IAX2- the IAX protocol
    UDP port 4569

    IAX - most have switched to IAX v2, or ought to
    UDP port 5036

    RTP - the media stream
    UDP poty 10000 to 20000

    MGCP - if you use media gateway control protocol in your configuration
    UDP port 2727

    SSH
    TCP port 22

    FTP
    TCP port 20 - 21

    You may refer to this link for other ports you needed.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_TCP_and_UDP_port_numbers


    Cheers,


    Jessie
     
  3. rafael

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    1
    For IM you would need 5269/tcp

    Regards,

    Rafael
     
  4. dchah

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Guys it is almost working just need to find out how remote in to the system from a external location. if someone can supply that then i will be on my way
     
  5. dchah

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK got my client to log in from remote location and my friend to, to my server. but when making a call to each other the xlite pickup the call but no audio is coming through what would cause this issue or have i left out another port. please help
     
  6. jessie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi dchah,

    if your setup is like this: isp--->modem--->router--->Elastix. This is a common setup and the issue you are encountering with is also a commong problem when you put Elastix behind a firewall or a NAT router. To fixed that you need to do come hands-on reconfiguration. You can follow the below steps.

    1. On Router side (or firewall)
    - Forward port 5060-5085 UDP to the Elastix IP address
    - Forward port 10000-20000 UDP to the Elastix IP address

    2. Edit the file /etc/asterisk/sip_general_custom.conf and put this line:

    bindport = 5060 ; Port to bind to (SIP is 5060)
    bindaddr = 0.0.0.0 ; Address to bind to (all addresses on machine)
    insecure=invite
    defaultexpiry=160
    tos=0x68
    srvlookup=no
    callevent=yes
    disallow=all
    allow=ulaw
    allow=alaw
    nat=yes
    externip=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx ;your Router WAN IP
    localhost=192.168.xxx.0/255.255.255.0 ; your LAN IP block


    3. You may reload the Elastix and then you're ready to go.


    Regards,

    Jessie
     
  7. jammerz

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    dchah,

    looks like jessie's got you going in the correct direction though to help with the learning curve it is well worth your time to check out the downloads section and pull down this PDF manual under "Elastix without Tears" * Latest Version link if you haven't done so already.

    good luck to you.

    jf
     

Share This Page