need help with external extension...

Discussion in 'General' started by souxinh, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. souxinh

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I have been using elastix for quite some time now, but I still can't successful register external extension.

    internal working fine, incoming and outbound working perfectly but when tried setup xlite from other network (friend's house) I got either 408 or sometime 503....but most of the time is 408.

    Here are the setup of my system. If anyone see what's wrong please suggest, Thanks.

    My elastix version is 1.6-12.... http://forum.elastix.org/old_files/setting-20110408.zip
     
  2. hinzinho

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are trying to connect from outside the network, first area to check is your firewall and make sure your ports are open. Other option is to use a VPN software to connect back inside the network.

    As to attach an file to here, there is a option (above the submit button) that has "Select file to attach" with the browse button.
     
  3. souxinh

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    The attachment contain the image file in GIF, showing all my setting including router port setting....

    I got message saying that I am only allow to attach zip or txt files only.... http://forum.elastix.org/old_files/setting.doc
     
  4. jgutierrez

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    In order to make it work, you will to accept traffic on your firewall for ports 5060-5062 UDP, once accepted, then you will need to forward them into Elastix.

    If it is not working, it is due to 3 simple reasons:
    1. The firewall is not correctly configured / is not working
    2. The remote side has disabled outbound 5060 UDP port
    3. On the remote side, the extension is entering incorrect information.

    If you still want to check if you are receiving traffic, you can execute the following command from console:

    tcpdump port 5060 and host your_remote_ip

    And you will see in which direction traffic is going on (if you have both ways, then, there is no issue...)
     
  5. souxinh

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you.

    I did open port 5004-5082 both udp/tcp and 10000-20000 both udp/tcp. I am be able to connect to elastix login page no problem. Please see attachment for all my setting.

    For XLite configuration at my friend's house, I use extern ip address and specific port 5060 but can't register. but for my own internal network it working fine.

    I will try the tcpdump when I get to my friend's house. Any other suggestion for my setting?

    Thanks

    Souxinh
     
  6. souxinh

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re:need help with external extension...**Solved***

    Solved.....

    in sip_nat.conf

    I changed from
    localhost= 192.168.3.168/255.255.255.0

    to
    localhost = 192.168.3.168

    and it work. I could registered from anywhere now using my dyndns name.....

    Thanks for everyone.
     
  7. jgutierrez

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    That configuration is incorrect, what is goes on sip_nat.conf, is for be able to have audio on oth ways, not to be able to register.
    The correct way to define it, is:

    nat=yes
    localnet=192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0
    externip=xx.xx.xx.xx
    or
    externhost=mydns.com
     
  8. souxinh

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now I am back to square one, can’t registered any remote extension (iphone) and no audio both way with internal extension. But I can use the phone call in and out fine, just the extension…from computer base software (xlite, portsip)
    My setting as follow;
    My router connected directly to my internet provider’s box which gave me the
    Wan ip: 2AB.CDE.F.G
    Router: 192.168.3.1 <- gateway IP
    Router ports open as;
    UDP/TCP: 5004-5080;
    UDP/TCP:10000-20000;
    My elastix ip: 192.168.3.5
    Elastix network parameter setting as: gateway: 192.168.3.1
    My sip_nat.conf
    externhost=mmm.gotdns.com
    nat=yes
    externrefresh=120
    localnet=192.168.3.5/255.255.255.0
    rtp.conf
    rtpstart=10000
    rtpend=20000
    with this setting I can call from outside in or call from my ata out to anywhere fine, with no issue.
    Question 1.
    In my sip_nat.conf:
    The localnet ip should it be
    a. 192.168.3.1 My gateway ip
    b. 192.168.3.0 <- dot 0 mention by jgutierrez
    c. 192.168.3.5 my elastix ip
    (I tried all and reboot the elastix each time, it make no different in that still no audio when using softphone extension)
    Question 2.
    I follow every step to setup elastix from Elastix without tear, which setting in my router or any setting I much change to be able to registered my iphone (remote extension)? I also tried IAX before but same result, Please help/suggest.
    Question 3.
    My new provider setting as follow;
    Trunk:
    host=ttt.voxbeam.com
    type=peer
    disallow=all
    dtmfmode=RFC2833
    allow=ulaw&alaw
    nat=yes
    canreinvite=no
    context=from-trunk
    insecure=invite,port
    Just with the prefix, and dial patterns which they received and connected the call fine, BUT NO AUDIO at all. Any idea or any question I should ask this provider so I can correct/change the setting to make this work……Any one?????

    Thanks

    Souxinh
     
  9. jgutierrez

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the extension is not registered, there is no point dealing with one way audio...
    The first step that you need to handle is registration issues... If you think that everything is ok, then try using another router...
     
  10. souxinh

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    do I have to use new router?

    internal extension register fine, only remote.....
    but I will fine a good use one to try and will let you know.

    Thanks

    Souxinh
     
  11. villbonaload

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    yah the same problem with mine.. I already port forward the 5060 udp and 10000 -20000 port udp but still no luck connecting to my remote ext. does anyone know exactly what we''re talking about. Ive tried to test my 5060 port if it is open, the port checker said close. the router confirmed me it's already forwarded as I reviewed the setting. 2 weeks already hope someone could help
     
  12. ewahl64

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your fast answer, and many thanks.

    I hope i have understanding, the hostname is = the name by the ddns. (sample)

    hostname: myserver.voip.dlinkddns.com
    the IP Adress of the server comment´s out.
    The ports I have understanding.

    Tbnak you.
     

Share This Page