Most common prob Nat & Remote Extensions

rollinsolo

Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
279
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
I have a new scenario of remote extensions that I am trying to fix, I have an elastix pbx 1.5 at my home with a static 20/5 Mbps internet connection. I have 5 static ip's one of them is used for the router and the other 4 are for other boxes, One points to my pbx and I use sip trunks for pstn.

if I leave sip_nat.conf blank my two remote ip phones will register along with stun = true, and I can make calls out just fine, but cannot extension dial from IVR to the phones. This is a problem. So I remembered to add the statement in sip_nat.conf of externip, localnet, and nat = yes. Once I restart asterisk now I can extension dial but with no audio both in or out, and can make calls out but no audio cant even hear the dialing tones. They remote site has the same internet service but its dynamic instead of static. Would this make a big difference. Its a different scenario for me compared to last time. But maybe not, its behind the same natted firewall that my pbx is just dynamic instead.

When I do sip show peers I see the remotes using 2054 and port 49152 and I know I have only 10000-20000 udp to my pbx in my router. I have tried every other solution I have found in the forums and have had no luck. The last time I got it to work with 1.3, is something different in 1.5 that I would need to make another change to get this. Thanks all.
 

rollinsolo

Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
279
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
Looking for s in from-sip-external (domain mydomain.com)
elastix*CLI>
<--- Transmitting (NAT) to 72.64.19.1:49152 --->
SIP/2.0 200 OK
Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 72.64.19.1:49157;branch=z9hG4bK164481157314504936;received=7
2.64.193.1
From: Lauren <sip:804@mydomain.com:5060>;tag=307804006
To: <sip:mydomain.com:5060>;tag=as502245fc
Call-ID: 283202563420239-30513192322962@72.64.19.1
CSeq: 1 OPTIONS
User-Agent: Asterisk PBX
Allow: INVITE, ACK, CANCEL, OPTIONS, BYE, REFER, SUBSCRIBE, NOTIFY
Supported: replaces
Contact: <sip:17.78.14.6>
Accept: application/sdp
Content-Length: 0

Not sure If I have seen this before looking for the s ???
 

rollinsolo

Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
279
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
Here is an rtp debug from an outgoing remote extension call:

Sent RTP packet to 72.64.193.1:10705 (type 00, seq 047966, ts 2080603616, len 000160)
Sent RTP packet to 72.64.193.1:10705 (type 00, seq 047967, ts 2080603776, len 000160)
Sent RTP packet to 72.64.193.1:10705 (type 00, seq 047968, ts 2080603936, len 000160)
Sent RTP packet to 72.64.193.1:10705 (type 00, seq 047969, ts 2080604096, len 000160)
Sent RTP packet to 72.64.193.1:10705 (type 00, seq 047970, ts 2080604256, len 000160)
Sent RTP packet to 72.64.193.1:10705 (type 00, seq 047971, ts 2080604416, len 000160)
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
rollinsolo:

you said:

I have a new scenario of remote extensions that I am trying to fix, I have an elastix pbx 1.5 at my home with a static 20/5 Mbps internet connection. I have 5 static ip's one of them is used for the router and the other 4 are for other boxes, One points to my pbx and I use sip trunks for pstn.

Can you clarify the local neywork you say you have a /29 sized network and account for all five usable host's (or is it just 5 ip addresses on a larger network), in what network are your "local" extensions? and can you post the output of ifconfig on the Elastix box (mangle the first three octets but please leave the last one of host and gateway and netmask.)
 

rollinsolo

Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
279
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
Nice one I dont even know where you got that from but most likely from experience,the snom is at the remote site, my local extentions are on the 173.78 ip's and here is the ifconfig

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:14:85:03:93:31
inet addr:192.168.1.3 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: hi0::214:85ff:fe03:9331/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:22109 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:13873 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:5293359 (5.0 MiB) TX bytes:3902779 (3.7 MiB)
Interrupt:177

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:5567 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5567 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:770647 (752.5 KiB) TX bytes:770647 (752.5 KiB)
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
Then next your router settings, WAN and LAN (WAN mangled of course)
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
Nice chatting B)
 

rollinsolo

Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
279
Likes
0
Points
0
#8
Good One.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,902
Messages
130,886
Members
17,563
Latest member
dineshr
Top