Mobile phone as GSM trunk

Discussion in 'General' started by adopilot, Oct 2, 2009.

1. adopilot

First at all
    Thank all of Elastix team on great work,

I am newbie and it is past around a mount since my firs elastix box running well.

What I try to accomplish is
    To add one GSM trunk on my Elasix box, Just simple trunk with no more than two parallel lines,
    no needs for extra features or for high stability request.
    Since I have no experience whit VOIP hardware I trying to make test and do not know
    which hardware dedicated GSM gateway for small amount of money will fit my needs.
    (Yours suggestion for choice of equpmenet provider always are welcome)

So I start wondering can I connect any type of mobile selfphone to my elasix box
    and declare them as trunk.
    Did any of you guys did it using mobile phone as GSM Voice gateways.

Thanx in advance.
    Best Regars
    Admir
    from Sarajevo, Bosnia and Hercegovina

2. jessie

Hi adopilot,

Things that you could do are the follows:

1. You may look on the google and check on the GSM terminal or gateways.

2. If you have Analog FXO card like Digium or alike, you just need a GSM terminal. I used to have Nokia32, Teccom and Tellular GSM Terminal.

3. If you don't have FXO card on your server, you consider to get GSM Gateways - IP based GSM terminal. I recommend Teles.iGate or Vierling. Those two were very good as I used them too before.

There are so many GSM modem that you could look on too and they are so cheap.

Good luck,

Jessie

3. adopilot

@jessie
    Thanx on answer
    I did a google and found http://www.voip-info.org/wiki/view/VOIP+GSM+Gateways
    But there is over hundred devices

@others
    Ore always one GSM-SIM card using only one channel
    Or there is devices which can with one GSM SIM card make two parallel channels for voice

4. Bob

Bob

adopilot,