Migrating to 5.x from 4.x issues

bayobizzle

Forum User
Joined
May 30, 2019
Messages
11
Points
1
Hi,

I am using a self hosted registered version of elastix 4.0 currently and I want to migrate to 5.0. I have some questions regarding this.


1. Would I be paying for using Elastix 5.0? I'm currently not paying for the existing 4.0, the partner who helped in installing took care of that somehow (I don't know)?
2. My existing setup is on a Centos server, will it work with the Elastix 5.0? or would I need to tear that down and go to Debian?
3. My current setup is connected to a physical 30 channel E1 line supplied by a Telcom provider here in Lagos. Does this also play well with Elastix 5.0?

I followed the tutorial concerning the migration and I was referred to a webpage to convert the backup to 5.x standard but couldn't proceed cos the webpage asked me to "Email us at converter@3cx.com to initiate your PBX conversion to 3CX."

Below is my current version details

Kernel
Linux(x86_64)-3.10.0-229.14.1.el7.x86_64

Elastix
elastix-4.0.0-1
elastix-a2billing-2.2.0-0
elastix-a2billing-callback_daemon-2.2.0-0
elastix-addons-4.0.0-5
elastix-agenda-4.0.0-3
elastix-callcenter-2.2.0-17
elastix-email_admin-4.0.0-6
elastix-endpointconfig2-4.0.0-3
elastix-extras-4.0.0-3
elastix-fax-4.0.0-2
elastix-firstboot-4.0.0-3
elastix-framework-4.0.0-18
elastix-im-4.0.0-2
elastix-my_extension-4.0.0-2
elastix-pbx-4.0.0-8
elastix-portknock-0.0.1-0
elastix-reports-4.0.0-6
elastix-security-4.0.0-4
elastix-system-4.0.0-11

RoundCubeMail
RoundCubeMail-0.3.1-12

Mail
postfix-2.10.1-6.el7
cyrus-imapd-2.4.17-13.el7

IM
openfire-3.7.1-2

FreePBX
freePBX-2.11.0-26

Asterisk
asterisk-11.25.0-0.el7.centos
asterisk-perl-1.03-0
asterisk-addons-11.25.0-0.el7.centos

FAX
hylafax-4.3.11-1rh7
iaxmodem-1.3.0-0.el7.centos

DRIVERS
dahdi-2.10.2-0.el7.centos
rhino-0.99.7-0
wanpipe-util-7.0.14.3-0
 

AJP

Staff member
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
305
Points
68
Hello @bayobizzle

I will answer your questions

1. Would I be paying for using Elastix 5.0? I'm currently not paying for the existing 4.0, the partner who helped in installing took care of that somehow (I don't know)?

There is a free license you can use, but it depends what are your needs. You can find a edition comparison here:

https://www.3cx.com/phone-system/edition-comparison/

The free version is standard up to 8 simultaneous calls.

2. My existing setup is on a Centos server, will it work with the Elastix 5.0? or would I need to tear that down and go to Debian?

You need to install with Debian 9 amd64, not centos.

Here is the ISO file that will install debian 9 and the PBX

https://downloads-global.3cx.com/downloads/debian9iso/debian-amd64-netinst-3cx.iso

3. My current setup is connected to a physical 30 channel E1 line supplied by a Telcom provider here in Lagos. Does this also play well with Elastix 5.0?

If it is a SIP gateway you can integrate it to the PBX, if it is an analog card then you can not use it in the same server... In that escenario would be better to use the old system as sip gateway as showed here:

https://www.elastix.org/docs/elastix-pstn-card-gateway-3cx/


In order to migrate please create a backup as showed here:

https://www.elastix.org/docs/converter-tool/

Then send the backup file (upload it to drobox or drive) and let us know the digit length for the extensions

converter@3cx.com

Have a great day!
 

Yeison Camargo

Staff member
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
38
Points
8
Hello Bayobizzle,

Please find my comments:

1. Elastix 5 is now 3CX. So, you will need to migrate to 3CX and we have multiple versions free and non-free. So it is up to you which version you want to use. In the following link you will find the list of feature per version:
https://www.3cx.com/phone-system/edition-comparison/

2. You need to go to Debian 9. We have an ISO file that has 3CX and debian. So, once you install the ISO file it will install debian and then automatically install 3CX.

You can get it from here:
https://www.3cx.com/phone-system/download-links/

Another option that you have is to download the debian iso officially from the debian webpage and then install 3CX manually with the commands in the following link:

https://www.3cx.com/docs/manual/installation-linux/

3. Yes, it will work but you will need to use one of the supported gateways in 3CX. In the following link you will be able to find the list of supported gateways:
https://www.3cx.com/voip-gateways/

Then, all what you need to do is to add the gateway in the management console, export the configuration generated by the PBX, upload it to the gateway and connect the E1 to the gateway.

4. You will to take a backup from your current Elastix and then send it to the email that you are referring and then we will send you back a backup that will work with 3CX. This backup can be used in the installation wizard then you will have all the information in 3CX.

5. Let me know if this helps or if you have further questions.
 

bayobizzle

Forum User
Joined
May 30, 2019
Messages
11
Points
1
Hello @bayobizzle

I will answer your questions

1. Would I be paying for using Elastix 5.0? I'm currently not paying for the existing 4.0, the partner who helped in installing took care of that somehow (I don't know)?

There is a free license you can use, but it depends what are your needs. You can find a edition comparison here:

https://www.3cx.com/phone-system/edition-comparison/

The free version is standard up to 8 simultaneous calls.

2. My existing setup is on a Centos server, will it work with the Elastix 5.0? or would I need to tear that down and go to Debian?

You need to install with Debian 9 amd64, not centos.

Here is the ISO file that will install debian 9 and the PBX

https://downloads-global.3cx.com/downloads/debian9iso/debian-amd64-netinst-3cx.iso

3. My current setup is connected to a physical 30 channel E1 line supplied by a Telcom provider here in Lagos. Does this also play well with Elastix 5.0?

If it is a SIP gateway you can integrate it to the PBX, if it is an analog card then you can not use it in the same server... In that escenario would be better to use the old system as sip gateway as showed here:

https://www.elastix.org/docs/elastix-pstn-card-gateway-3cx/


In order to migrate please create a backup as showed here:

https://www.elastix.org/docs/converter-tool/

Then send the backup file (upload it to drobox or drive) and let us know the digit length for the extensions

converter@3cx.com

Have a great day!
Thank you for your answers. With regards to question 3, I want to understand the difference between the analog card and the SIP gateway you are referring to. This is sample of what was installed on my PBX server.

caudalfin_cf_4201_e1_t1_j1_1.jpg

There is an E1 Line cable from my ISP that enters into that port without which we cannot place outbound calls or receive inbound ones. Is that the analog card you are referring to? If yes, does that mean that I'll have to keep the existing elastix 4.0 installation and then install the new 3cx on another server, then follow the guide to point the 3cx to the existing elastix server?
Is that an "Analog card"
 

Yeison Camargo

Staff member
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
38
Points
8
Please note that the analog card will not work with 3CX. Only the gateways listed in the link that I sent you.
 

bayobizzle

Forum User
Joined
May 30, 2019
Messages
11
Points
1
Hello Bayobizzle,

Please find my comments:

1. Elastix 5 is now 3CX. So, you will need to migrate to 3CX and we have multiple versions free and non-free. So it is up to you which version you want to use. In the following link you will find the list of feature per version:
https://www.3cx.com/phone-system/edition-comparison/

2. You need to go to Debian 9. We have an ISO file that has 3CX and debian. So, once you install the ISO file it will install debian and then automatically install 3CX.

You can get it from here:
https://www.3cx.com/phone-system/download-links/

Another option that you have is to download the debian iso officially from the debian webpage and then install 3CX manually with the commands in the following link:

https://www.3cx.com/docs/manual/installation-linux/

3. Yes, it will work but you will need to use one of the supported gateways in 3CX. In the following link you will be able to find the list of supported gateways:
https://www.3cx.com/voip-gateways/

Then, all what you need to do is to add the gateway in the management console, export the configuration generated by the PBX, upload it to the gateway and connect the E1 to the gateway.

4. You will to take a backup from your current Elastix and then send it to the email that you are referring and then we will send you back a backup that will work with 3CX. This backup can be used in the installation wizard then you will have all the information in 3CX.

5. Let me know if this helps or if you have further questions.


Thank you for your answers. With regards to question 3, This is sample of what was installed on my PBX server.

View attachment 197

There is an E1 Line cable from my ISP that enters into that port without which we cannot place outbound calls or receive inbound ones. Would this work with 3cx? On the current setup the card is detected by an hardware detector menu

Screen Shot 2019-05-30 at 4.06.56 PM.png

Regards
 

Yeison Camargo

Staff member
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
38
Points
8
I see.

However, the cards are not supported in 3CX. That means that you have 2 options:
1. To buy a gateway instead of the card. You can select anyone from the supported list
2. To have your current server and bridge it with 3CX. (but it does not make a lot of sense, you will need to computers/PBXs running at the same time)
 

bayobizzle

Forum User
Joined
May 30, 2019
Messages
11
Points
1
Please note that the analog card will not work with 3CX. Only the gateways listed in the link that I sent you.
I just checked my hardware now and I can see it is a "Sangoma E1 card" Does that mean that I have no chance of making this work with 3cx and as such I'm stuck with Elastix 4.0?
 

Yeison Camargo

Staff member
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
38
Points
8
Yes, you are right.

That card will not be detected with 3CX.

You need to replace your hardware (card) for a gateway.
 

Yeison Camargo

Staff member
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
38
Points
8
Although, you can have another option if you do not want to use any gateway or card which is to ask your provider to give you a sip trunk instead of an E1 in that case you will be able to connect it directly to the PBX without any card or gateway.
 

bayobizzle

Forum User
Joined
May 30, 2019
Messages
11
Points
1
I see.

However, the cards are not supported in 3CX. That means that you have 2 options:
1. To buy a gateway instead of the card. You can select anyone from the supported list
2. To have your current server and bridge it with 3CX. (but it does not make a lot of sense, you will need to computers/PBXs running at the same time)
Thanks, option 2 might work I just need to know if there is any real benefit with migrating to 3cx considering that It would incur more cost using 3cx since I'm not incurring any cost for elastix 4.0

So in lay man terms can you help with the benefits of migrating to 3cx?
 

bayobizzle

Forum User
Joined
May 30, 2019
Messages
11
Points
1
Although, you can have another option if you do not want to use any gateway or card which is to ask your provider to give you a sip trunk instead of an E1 in that case you will be able to connect it directly to the PBX without any card or gateway.
This makes sense. I can ask them about this on phone. I would revert with a feedback.
 

Yeison Camargo

Staff member
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
38
Points
8
Sure,

1. Yes, you are right. You need to see the pros and cons.
2. I can give you some ideas:
a. Please note that Elastix 4 is a software with no support and deprecated. This means that you will not be able to find support of any kind in case you have a problem.
b. Since 3CX is in current development you will have multiple feature not available in Elastix like:
-Video conference
-Web client (you can have a softphone from a webpage with audio and video)
-Softphone for windows, mac, ios, android
-Fail-over features
-Higher security and latest software updates (development frameworks technologies)
-Call center features (real time statistics, ringing strategies...)
-Easy management and configuration
-CRM integrations
-Office 365 integration
-Hotel module integration
-Works on windows and linux
-Call flow designer: You can develop your own apps.
-Current update for firmware and template configuration for ip phones (we have a list of supported phones and work with these manufacturers constantly)
among others.
3. You can find a list of features for 3CX here:
https://www.3cx.com/phone-system/edition-comparison/
 

bayobizzle

Forum User
Joined
May 30, 2019
Messages
11
Points
1
Sure,

1. Yes, you are right. You need to see the pros and cons.
2. I can give you some ideas:
a. Please note that Elastix 4 is a software with no support and deprecated. This means that you will not be able to find support of any kind in case you have a problem.
b. Since 3CX is in current development you will have multiple feature not available in Elastix like:
-Video conference
-Web client (you can have a softphone from a webpage with audio and video)
-Softphone for windows, mac, ios, android
-Fail-over features
-Higher security and latest software updates (development frameworks technologies)
-Call center features (real time statistics, ringing strategies...)
-Easy management and configuration
-CRM integrations
-Office 365 integration
-Hotel module integration
-Works on windows and linux
-Call flow designer: You can develop your own apps.
-Current update for firmware and template configuration for ip phones (we have a list of supported phones and work with these manufacturers constantly)
among others.
3. You can find a list of features for 3CX here:
https://www.3cx.com/phone-system/edition-comparison/
Thank you very much. I fully understand now. Two last questions, the payment for buying, is it an annual payment or monthly? also in elastix 4.0 I can do campaigns by uploading CSV of numbers and let the system auto dial and assign to agents on queue, is that possible with 3cx?
 

Yeison Camargo

Staff member
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
38
Points
8
Please find my comments:

1. Yes, this possible. However, i am not in the sales department. So, it will be better to contact a sales representative.
2. Yes, that is a predictive dialer. For that you will need to create an app and you can do it with csv, database, webservice...
In the following link you can find how to do it:
https://www.3cx.com/docs/call-flow-designer-examples/
 

bayobizzle

Forum User
Joined
May 30, 2019
Messages
11
Points
1
Please find my comments:

1. Yes, this possible. However, i am not in the sales department. So, it will be better to contact a sales representative.
2. Yes, that is a predictive dialer. For that you will need to create an app and you can do it with csv, database, webservice...
In the following link you can find how to do it:
https://www.3cx.com/docs/call-flow-designer-examples/
Thank you very much for your timely help so far. Does this licensing affect self hosted versions? What happens if I don't renew my license after a year?
 

Yeison Camargo

Staff member
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
38
Points
8
It is my pleasure.

This answers will be better answered by a sales representative. I am in the technical department so I do not have such details.
 

bayobizzle

Forum User
Joined
May 30, 2019
Messages
11
Points
1
It is my pleasure.

This answers will be better answered by a sales representative. I am in the technical department so I do not have such details.
Thanks I would contact the sales rep.

Another question is this. I don't know if its really sales related but I'm thinking, remember I mentioned my current setup uses an analog Sangoma E1 card and one of the suggestions to make it work is to leave it on the current installation and point it to a new 3cx installation (like a bridge) as described in this help link. Now my Analogue card is 30 channels enabled and from my understanding It means I can make 30 simultaneous calls. But 3cx pricing is based on number of simultaneous calls. My question is that is 3cx going to disregard the fact that my card can make 30 simultaneous calls and sort of limit the number of calls that can go out on that trunk? or would i be able to make 30 simultaneous calls based on the capabilities of my analogue card on the free tier of 3cx?
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,987
Messages
131,100
Members
17,716
Latest member
Orbit114
Top