Migrating from pure Asterisk to Elastix

Discussion in 'General' started by nachogomez, Sep 12, 2008.

1. nachogomez

Hi list,

I'm new to Elastix but I have several years installing/customizing Asterisk (just plain * without any GUI admin utility) for my clients needs.

I've been evaluating some Asterisk stacks, such as Asterisk/FreePBX (self compiled/installed), Trixbox, AsteriskNOW and recently Elastix, but I have some trouble in order to replicate the setup I've have on my production servers.

The main issue I have right now is to assign call permissions to certain extensions, and by that I mean, giving access to call i.e. mobile phones or long distance call to just a group of users/extensions.

In my Asterisk setup I just create context with some dial rules (a pattern matching like "_904[12][2468]XXXXXXX" for mobile phone calls) and then I include it on the appropriate context.

I'm a linux console guy so I'm not used to the scheme that FreePBX implement, but I'm willing to learn new stuff :cheer:

Anyone have suggestions on this matters??? or anyone knows how to replicate my configs in Elastix even if it implies a start from scratch???

Thanks in advance for any post...

Raul

2. chocho

You can use custom-context module for freePBX.
    It is a unsupported, but works very good.

3. rafael

You can create the contexts as you use to do with asterisk, but add them to: /etc/asterisk/extensions_custom.conf that way freepbx would not override it. What we normally do is create several groups with different user levels.

Then you can use the context name and add the user to that Context on the extension dialog on freepbx. That way your client that does not like a shell as much us you can change the context of an extension in freepbx.

Regards,

Rafael

4. telecomtechnician

Hi Raul

Tell me something, are you really open to learn new stuff or you realize that a pure asterisk installation has its limitations?