Live backup

Discussion in 'General' started by itjumper, Nov 19, 2008.

  1. itjumper

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone knows how to backup a live Elastix?

    I have tried dd and partimage. Both failed to backup a LIVE partition.

    I tried to install mondo, but lots of dependencies are required.

    I would appreciate if anyone has a detailed instruction on backing up a LIVE partition, w.r.t. Elastix 1.3
     
  2. DaveD

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Create a file "/etc/yum.repro.d/mondo.repo", containing:


    [mondorpms]
    name=Fedora Core $releasever - mondo
    baseurl=ftp://ftp.mondorescue.org/fedora/$releasever/
    #gpgkey=http://somethin/RPM-GPG-KEY
    enabled=1
    gpgcheck=0

    Don't worry about the "Fedora Core" bit.Then at console do "yum list mondo*, then do"yum install mondo". After mondo is installed, run "mondoarchive", and away you go


    This works for me with no issues
     
  3. itjumper

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent. Mondo installed with no issue. Thanks
     
  4. itjumper

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works great. Can even restore a system with sata to one with ide
     
  5. DaveD

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it does work great,I use it on all new systems and tape the backup image on cd to the inside of the case

    That way the client can't go losing the restore image and you end up doing a rebuild
     
  6. itjumper

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    I stick a 8G FAT32 usb drive into the box, schedule a cron job to run every 2 day and copy the iso (4G in size) to the usb drive (always unmount the usb drive at the end) ... should be good if the box die ...
     
  7. itjumper

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to clarify my post regarding rstoring sata to ide.

    sata is treated as scsi and the "ide" system actually has an 2.5" ide drive (atom cpu), which was treated as scsi as well (may be it's the controller).

    That's why it worked. It will not work with true 3.5" ide drive
     
  8. Stinger81

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, and how do I determine $releasever? Or is that a system variable?

    Oh, and another question for itjumper: How did you configure mondo and cron?
     
  9. fenixdemetal

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    itjumper!, may you please tellme how to do do that : "schedule a cron job to run every 2 day", if you have a script or something it would be really helpfull to me,

    Thanks
     
  10. itjumper

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used webmin
     
  11. itjumper

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    and scheduled to run a script with the following content to save the image to a 16G SD card

    #!/bin/bash

    echo Backing up $HOSTNAME

    mkdir /mondo
    /usr/sbin/mondoarchive -Oi -d /mondo -E "/mondo" -9 -s 4000m -p $HOSTNAME

    mount /dev/sdf1 /mondo/hd
    cp /mondo/*.iso /mondo/hd -u
    umount /mondo/hd
     
  12. ramoncio

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can use webmin, as itjumper points out
    Or you can do it in the console:
    crontab -e
    edits your crontab
    crontab -l
    lists your programmed jobs
    You only have to know how to use vi and read a little about crontab
     

Share This Page