ip tables disables my web interface !

Discussion in 'General' started by Mike M, Mar 17, 2011.

1. Mike M

Hi all
    I am a complete newby when it comes to VOIP - so bear with me if I have missed something obvious.
    We are a small business with 2 offices and want to move to VOIP.
    We have installed Elastix in the main office, and are using trunks supplied by our VSP.
    All has gone fine.
    The Elastix box is behind a firewall using NAT.
    We can make and receive calls from inside the main office and from the remote office.
    We want to use iptables on the elastix box to limit accepted incoming packets to Elastix to the following source addresses:
    - the main office LAN - 192.168.0.0/24
    - the VSP xx.x.xx.x
    - our remote office yy.y.yy.y

I've installed Webmin on the elastix box to manage IPtables. I've set rules to limit incoming packets to the above addresses. All other rules (eg forwarded packets, output etc) are set to accept.

When I activate IP tables:
    - phones on the LAN can make and receive calls via the VSP trunks - as expected
    - phones in the remote office can register and make and receive calls via the elastix box - as epected
    - but when I try and access the elastix web interface from inside the main office LAN - it doesn't work. (I can get the system tab only, and it shows 0 extensions and 0 trunks - no other tabs respond.)

The same PC that I use to access the Elastix web interface has no problem registering a soft phone on elastix, and I can use that to make calls.

As soon as I de-activate IPTables, the web interface starts working again.

Anyone have any ideas why the elastix web interface is being stopped from working ?

2. dicko

welcom Mike M:

Strange, please post the output of

iptables -L (reasonably obfuscating any external IP's)

and the IP address of your server on the LAN

do you web access the box by ip or name?

can you still get to webmin on the port I hope you changed it to run on?

dicko

3. Mike M