instalation does not start

gute1

Joined
Jun 4, 2009
Messages
13
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
on the first screen after I press enter I get this:

I have just downloaded the latest iso (1.5.2)
I have tried for 32 and 64 bit, same results
I have tried to set the IDE to legacy in the BIOS
it is a SATA CD/DVD

any idea?
I am going to look for an IDE drive.
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#2
It's possible that there's problem with the SATA DVD!
Try with another device IDE.
 

gute1

Joined
Jun 4, 2009
Messages
13
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
I have tried to connect an old IDE CD. same screen.
I have tried linux text, linux nopop, same results.

what could be the problem. I don't want to stay with the trixbox.
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#4
hmmm... I understand you! :)

Your problem isn't cool. :angry:

So, for resume:
You have, now, a IDE DVD on primary IDE master?
One HDD SATA on your motherboard.
You can't boot from your DVD.
The bios don't detect the O.S?
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#5
I'm sorry, sorry...
PFFF. your hardcopy is from starting boot linux.
bahhh.. sorry.
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#6
You can have a problem with the compatibility between Elastix (boot), and your Sata controler, or other device from the motherboard.?!

If you have an old HDD IDE, try with this.
 

gute1

Joined
Jun 4, 2009
Messages
13
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
I have searced for the last line in google and find a tip:
use kernal parameter acpi=off
it works now
I hope the installation will go well, I erased my trixbox
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#8
Ha yes.... the acpi.
Sometimes there's some problem with this.

Let me know for the install result. ;)
 

gute1

Joined
Jun 4, 2009
Messages
13
Likes
0
Points
0
#9
now I am in deep shit. the installation was finished. I get the elastix screen where you can choos the OS. and then again same screen - ACPI.
how can I turn it off now?
I don't have my trixbox as backup so I have to solve it today.
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#10
yes, you must modify the grub menu.

From original file you must have this:
more /boot/grub/grub.conf
Code:
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that
#          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
#          root (hd0,0)
#          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
#          initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/sda
default=1
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
#hiddenmenu
title Elastix (2.6.18-92.1.22.el5xen)
        root (hd0,0)
        kernel /xen.gz-2.6.18-92.1.22.el5
        module /vmlinuz-2.6.18-92.1.22.el5xen ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
        module /initrd-2.6.18-92.1.22.el5xen.img
title Elastix-base (2.6.18-92.1.22.el5)
        root (hd0,0)
        kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-92.1.22.el5 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
        initrd /initrd-2.6.18-92.1.22.el5.img
you must modify :
Code:
title Elastix-base (2.6.18-92.1.22.el5)
        root (hd0,0)
        kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-92.1.22.el5 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
        initrd /initrd-2.6.18-92.1.22.el5.img
by

Code:
title Elastix-base (2.6.18-92.1.22.el5)
        root (hd0,0)
        kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-92.1.22.el5 acpi=off ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
        initrd /initrd-2.6.18-92.1.22.el5.img
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#11
It's ok?

You can boot correctly with this modification?
 

gute1

Joined
Jun 4, 2009
Messages
13
Likes
0
Points
0
#12
thanks, you can't edit any file because the kernal did not loaded.
but, it was solved if you do not choose to view/edit the instalation parameters.
it add it automaticly to the kernal instalation.

thank you.
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#13
thanks, you can't edit any file because the kernal did not loaded.
Yes you can edit this file.
In this case, you must boot for example whit a live CD as Ubuntu or other linux live CD. Mount your hard disk, and modify your file.

Ok, so now your Elastix install is done and work fine?
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,902
Messages
130,887
Members
17,567
Latest member
achilont13
Top