Incoming call activates Zap channel?

Discussion in 'General' started by vtofa, Nov 15, 2008.

  1. vtofa

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having a strange issue on two systems running Elastix 1.3. Both of them have ZapMicro A400P cards.

    After rebooting the Elastix server I can't make an outgoing call over the Zap channels, until I make an incoming call. That somehow activates the Zap channel. Is there anything that could be done to fix this?
     
  2. DaveD

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had same issue on 1.4
    Here is the work around as posted in another thread from Bob

    zaptel.conf
    ===========
    change any fxsks to fxsls for all channels

    zapata.conf
    ===========
    change any signalling=fxs_ks to signalling=fxs_ls

    zapata-channels.conf
    ====================
    change any signalling=fxs_ks to signalling=fxs_ls on all TDM400 Channels

    Reboot and test
     
  3. vtofa

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried these, no go. Any other suggestions?
    Thanks!
     
  4. Bob

    Bob

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    1
    Vtofa,

    What Dave suggested should have worked. The fault you describe is exactly what was found, which was each Zap channel needed to be rung into before you could ring out of that Zap channel.

    The fault was an Asterisk bug. Elastix developers corrected the bug on Elastix, before Asterisk corrected theirs.

    I am not sure if Elastix version was released as part of the normal YUM update at the moment, but it is available via the BETA repository. If your machines are not in production (or you have the opportunity to rebuild), you may want to enable the Beta repository and perform a yum update asterisk* This will upgrade the Asterisk components to the latest Beta components, which I am running on several machines.

    Have a read of the Announcments topic for more info, in particular in the 1.4 beta thread

    Disclaimer: like all betas, use at you own risk, what may work on mine may completely fail on your machine, and require a rebuild.

    Regards

    Bob
     
  5. vtofa

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you Bob. I was able to get this to work without a full Elastix install/upgrade of Elastix 1.3 by doing the following:

    Do a yum upgrade of asterisk. (I also have Trixbox repos.)
    Download and mount the Elastix 1.4 beta ISO.
    Go to the Elastix directory.
    Run:
    # rpm -Uvh --replacepkgs kernel-*
    Copy, paste to command line to create script at the bottom of this post.

    Run the saved script:
    # ./zap-fix.sh

    Reboot.

    Now Asterisk is:
    # rpm -q asterisk
    asterisk-1.4.22.0-6

    Now kernel, etc. are:
    # rpm -qa | grep kernel-
    kernel-2.6.18-92.1.17.el5
    kernel-module-oslec-xen-0.1.1403-3
    kernel-module-zaptel-xen-1.4.12.1-2_2.6.18_92.1.17.el5
    kernel-xen-2.6.18-92.1.17.el5
    kernel-devel-2.6.18-92.1.17.el5
    kernel-module-oslec-0.1.1403-3
    kernel-module-rhino-2.2.6-9
    kernel-module-zaptel-1.4.12.1-2_2.6.18_92.1.17.el5
    kernel-headers-2.6.18-92.1.17.el5
    kernel-module-rhino-xen-2.2.6-9

    # uname -r
    2.6.18-92.1.17.el5

    Thansk!

    Code:
    echo '
    #!/bin/bash
    
    CMD="$1"
    [ "$CMD" == "" ] && CMD="ls"
    
    case "$CMD" in
        "ls")
            sed -i "s/fxoks/fxols/g" /etc/zaptel.conf
            sed -i "s/fxsks/fxsls/g" /etc/zaptel.conf
            sed -i "s/fxs_ks/fxs_ls/g" /etc/asterisk/zapata-channels.conf
            sed -i "s/fxs_ks/fxs_ls/g" /etc/asterisk/zapata.conf
        ;;
        "ks")
            sed -i "s/fxols/fxoks/g" /etc/zaptel.conf
            sed -i "s/fxsls/fxsks/g" /etc/zaptel.conf
            sed -i "s/fxs_ls/fxs_ks/g" /etc/asterisk/zapata-channels.conf
            sed -i "s/fxs_ls/fxs_ks/g" /etc/asterisk/zapata.conf
        ;;
        *)
    echo "Usage: $0 [ls|ks]"
    esac
    ' > zap-fix.sh
    
     
  6. ermali

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have the same issue..
    how to fix it without doing any upgrade...
    also i changed from xs to ls at zapata.conf and zapata-channels.conf
    i cant make outgoing call just incoming works for me.
    pls help...
     
  7. vtofa

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. datajarmarty

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure if this is the right place for this but I have a similar problem with my Zaptel card. When I first boot if I try to make an outbound call I get the dreaded, "All circuits are busy now". My workaround is to pull the cable out of the FXO port and put it back in again. I can live with this but it would be nice to find a fix.
    Any clues as to why this would happen?

    Something I notice too is that under Hardware Detection is says "No cards were detected on your system. Please press the "Detect New Hardware" button to detect new hardware." But clicking the detect button makes no difference. Yet the card works once I do the cable reset as described above.
     

Share This Page