Incoming and Outgoing Dial Tone - change to UK

Sadinn

Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
15
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Hi

I know it seems strange but I have an Elastix box with international settings set to UK, with a pure VoIP incoming/outgoing setup but all ougoing ringing tones and incoming ringing tones are the US type (one long ring) and I would like it to be the UK type (two short rings) as my clients often think they are calling me on holiday and that the phone has been redirected!

I have had a look through the forum and the EWT pdf and found nothing that refers to this specifically.

PLease help.
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#2

Sadinn

Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
15
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
Hmmm...

Well indications.conf gives 'Country=[uk]' so no joy there.

The specifics were as follows:

[uk]
ringcadence = 400,200,400,2000
dial = 350+440
specialdial = 350+440/750,440/750
busy = 400/375,0/375
congestion = 400/400,0/350,400/225,0/525
specialcongestion = 400/200,1004/300
unobtainable = 400
ring = 400+450/400,0/200,400+450/400,0/2000
callwaiting = 400/100,0/4000
specialcallwaiting = 400/250,0/250,400/250,0/250,400/250,0/5000
creditexpired = 400/125,0/125
confirm = 1400
switching = 400/200,0/400,400/2000,0/400
info = 950/330,0/15,1400/330,0/15,1800/330,0/1000
record = 1400/500,0/60000
stutter = 350+440/750,440/750

Which is all correct according to that website. However it is still doing the one long tone.

Any other ideas?
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
Then perhaps you have to check with your vendor that they will honour (perhaps not honor) those settings.
 

Sadinn

Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
15
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
Ah - are we talking about the voip provider? Hmm - I'll check that on monday and let you know.

Thanks
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
If by 2:30 on monday afternoon after they have had their tea, and if your provider is BT then please expect the normal four to seventy two weeks of typical English incompetence and way too much "thats more than my jobsworth" bullshit if you dare to ask them, If you have the balls then demand your provisioning and so apply it and it will work.
dicko
 

Sadinn

Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
15
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
haha - sounds like you have something against the english!

Unfortunately as I said before, BT is not our supplier as we have no PSTN lines coming into the box.

Our provision is VoIP both incoming and outgoing via an incoming SIP trunk from one supplier and an outgoing IAX2 trunk from another supplier.

I have spoken to both and as far as they are concerned, there is no reason from their end that there would be US ringtones as it would all be provided from our end. So they are pointing the finger firmnly at me.

Any ideas?
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#8
Not all, just some, that's why I left :)

just checking that in indication.conf you did replace

[general]
country=us

with

[general]
country=uk

you didn't say, I just assumed.

you can use that also to change a particular extension for example.
 

Sadinn

Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
15
Likes
0
Points
0
#9
Yeah - after your first post that was the thing I checked:

Indications.conf:

[general]
country=uk

[uk]
ringcadence = 400,200,400,2000
dial = 350+440
specialdial = 350+440/750,440/750
busy = 400/375,0/375
congestion = 400/400,0/350,400/225,0/525
specialcongestion = 400/200,1004/300
unobtainable = 400
ring = 400+450/400,0/200,400+450/400,0/2000
callwaiting = 400/100,0/4000
specialcallwaiting = 400/250,0/250,400/250,0/250,400/250,0/5000
creditexpired = 400/125,0/125
confirm = 1400
switching = 400/200,0/400,400/2000,0/400
info = 950/330,0/15,1400/330,0/15,1800/330,0/1000
record = 1400/500,0/60000
stutter = 350+440/750,440/750

Which is all correct as per the bt specifications. Odd thing is that even internal calls have the same issue so I am ruling out IAX / SIP carriers.

any idea whre to look next? The phones are all SPA942's and their config is GMT with the dial tones:

Dial Tone: 350@-19,440@-19;10(*/0/1+2)
Outside Dial Tone: 420@-16;10(*/0/1)
Prompt Tone: 520@-19,620@-19;10(*/0/1+2)

Which all looks right.
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#10
It might look right to you but it probably won't sound right :)

Sipura (Linksys, Cisco) stuff ignores the indications you set, the receiving end will however hear your calls U.K. style.

http://letmegooglethatforyou.com/?q=sip ... ndications

might fix you up though, (of course after your cuppa, and if it's not more than your jobsworth ), I suggest you try the first hit first . :) :)

sorry I just couldn't resist . . .

regards

dicko (a limey expat)
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,901
Messages
130,885
Members
17,562
Latest member
colak
Top