Incoming and Outgoing Dial Tone - change to UK

Discussion in 'General' started by Sadinn, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. Sadinn

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I know it seems strange but I have an Elastix box with international settings set to UK, with a pure VoIP incoming/outgoing setup but all ougoing ringing tones and incoming ringing tones are the US type (one long ring) and I would like it to be the UK type (two short rings) as my clients often think they are calling me on holiday and that the phone has been redirected!

    I have had a look through the forum and the EWT pdf and found nothing that refers to this specifically.

    PLease help.
     
  2. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Sadinn

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm...

    Well indications.conf gives 'Country=[uk]' so no joy there.

    The specifics were as follows:

    [uk]
    ringcadence = 400,200,400,2000
    dial = 350+440
    specialdial = 350+440/750,440/750
    busy = 400/375,0/375
    congestion = 400/400,0/350,400/225,0/525
    specialcongestion = 400/200,1004/300
    unobtainable = 400
    ring = 400+450/400,0/200,400+450/400,0/2000
    callwaiting = 400/100,0/4000
    specialcallwaiting = 400/250,0/250,400/250,0/250,400/250,0/5000
    creditexpired = 400/125,0/125
    confirm = 1400
    switching = 400/200,0/400,400/2000,0/400
    info = 950/330,0/15,1400/330,0/15,1800/330,0/1000
    record = 1400/500,0/60000
    stutter = 350+440/750,440/750

    Which is all correct according to that website. However it is still doing the one long tone.

    Any other ideas?
     
  4. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then perhaps you have to check with your vendor that they will honour (perhaps not honor) those settings.
     
  5. Sadinn

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah - are we talking about the voip provider? Hmm - I'll check that on monday and let you know.

    Thanks
     
  6. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    If by 2:30 on monday afternoon after they have had their tea, and if your provider is BT then please expect the normal four to seventy two weeks of typical English incompetence and way too much "thats more than my jobsworth" bullshit if you dare to ask them, If you have the balls then demand your provisioning and so apply it and it will work.
    dicko
     
  7. Sadinn

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    haha - sounds like you have something against the english!

    Unfortunately as I said before, BT is not our supplier as we have no PSTN lines coming into the box.

    Our provision is VoIP both incoming and outgoing via an incoming SIP trunk from one supplier and an outgoing IAX2 trunk from another supplier.

    I have spoken to both and as far as they are concerned, there is no reason from their end that there would be US ringtones as it would all be provided from our end. So they are pointing the finger firmnly at me.

    Any ideas?
     
  8. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not all, just some, that's why I left :)

    just checking that in indication.conf you did replace

    [general]
    country=us

    with

    [general]
    country=uk

    you didn't say, I just assumed.

    you can use that also to change a particular extension for example.
     
  9. Sadinn

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah - after your first post that was the thing I checked:

    Indications.conf:

    [general]
    country=uk

    [uk]
    ringcadence = 400,200,400,2000
    dial = 350+440
    specialdial = 350+440/750,440/750
    busy = 400/375,0/375
    congestion = 400/400,0/350,400/225,0/525
    specialcongestion = 400/200,1004/300
    unobtainable = 400
    ring = 400+450/400,0/200,400+450/400,0/2000
    callwaiting = 400/100,0/4000
    specialcallwaiting = 400/250,0/250,400/250,0/250,400/250,0/5000
    creditexpired = 400/125,0/125
    confirm = 1400
    switching = 400/200,0/400,400/2000,0/400
    info = 950/330,0/15,1400/330,0/15,1800/330,0/1000
    record = 1400/500,0/60000
    stutter = 350+440/750,440/750

    Which is all correct as per the bt specifications. Odd thing is that even internal calls have the same issue so I am ruling out IAX / SIP carriers.

    any idea whre to look next? The phones are all SPA942's and their config is GMT with the dial tones:

    Dial Tone: 350@-19,440@-19;10(*/0/1+2)
    Outside Dial Tone: 420@-16;10(*/0/1)
    Prompt Tone: 520@-19,620@-19;10(*/0/1+2)

    Which all looks right.
     
  10. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    It might look right to you but it probably won't sound right :)

    Sipura (Linksys, Cisco) stuff ignores the indications you set, the receiving end will however hear your calls U.K. style.

    http://letmegooglethatforyou.com/?q=sip ... ndications

    might fix you up though, (of course after your cuppa, and if it's not more than your jobsworth ), I suggest you try the first hit first . :) :)

    sorry I just couldn't resist . . .

    regards

    dicko (a limey expat)
     

Share This Page