Inbound Route from Zaptel channel to sip extension

Discussion in 'General' started by Terry, Jan 16, 2009.

  1. Terry

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear Sir,
    I am use FXO openvox card , How can I config with inbound route from PSTN
    Line 1 =FXO port 1 to sip extension 101
    Line 2 =FXO port 2 to sip extension 102
    Line 3 =FXO port 3 to IVR 1
    I have config sip extension 101 and 102 and IVR already

    Thanks
    Terry
     
  2. telecomtechnician

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there, pay attention to this:

    1) When an incoming call arrives to elastix, it should be answered by the IVR.
    2) There should be an option in the IVR to select the desired extension (zap or sip).
    3) Once the option is selected, it should ring the extension.

    Of course there are other ways of ringing the extension besides the IVR, but all of this depends on how you configure your inbound route. Through an specific DID is an option, another option is a direct or group ring.

    If you can be more specific in what you want, maybe I can help more

    Waiting for your comments

    David Medina
     
  3. Bob

    Bob

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    1
    Terry,

    As David pointed out, you need to be more specific, as your information and question is a little confusing.

    However, making some assumptions:

    1) You have three PSTN lines
    2) You have already setup extension 101 and 102 and call between extensions
    3) You want the first line to ring 101 direct
    4) you want the second line to ring 102 direct
    5) You want calls coming on third line to goto an IVR.

    With PSTN, you have no DID information coming through the line like you do with E1/T1/BRI. So in Freepbx, you have the ability to set DID's for each PSTN line. This is under Unembedded Freepbx call Zap Channel DID's. You need to read it as a small change is needed in the zapata-channels.conf (Freepbx describes it as zapata.conf).

    Then you can set the route for each Zaptel DID to go to the right place (extension, IVR etc).


    Regards

    Bob
     
  4. Terry

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear friends ,
    Actually, I know if i can get DID , all problems is disappear
    But I cannot get them now even PSTN's (CID)

    As BoB mention this is what I want (need)now
    1) You have three PSTN lines
    2) You have already setup extension 101 and 102 and call between extensions
    3) You want the first line to ring 101 direct
    4) you want the second line to ring 102 direct
    5) You want calls coming on third line to go to an IVR.

    How can I modify on zapata-channels.conf?Or how can I do now ?

    Thanks all of your helps

    Terry
     
  5. Bob

    Bob

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    1
    Terry,

    Just to make sure you understand

    DID - This relates to the number that the caller called to reach you
    CID - This relates to the caller number (e.g the callers phone number)

    Now normally the only lines that can produce DID numbers are E1/T1/BRI and most VoIP Providers (there might be other obscure types but these are the main ones).

    PSTN being an analog system cannot provide DID information to the Elastix/Asterisk system. So Freepbx has worked out a method of providing PSEUDO DID information for PSTN lines by using a mapping system that maps each PSTN line to a DID number.

    As mentioned in the previous post, you need to use the ZAP CHANNEL DID's which is found in the Unembedded Freepbx version which is accessible from the Elastix PBX menu.

    First of all, you need to write down what phone line is in each channel on your PSTN Card. e.g.
    Channel 1 : 98000220
    Channel 2 : 98000221
    Channel 3 : 98000222

    So in the Freepbx module you would add the following ZAP CHANNEL DID's

    Channel: 1
    Description: Terrys Direct line
    DID: 98000220

    Channel: 2
    Description: Johns Direct line
    DID: 98000221

    Channel: 3
    Description: IVR line
    DID: 98000222

    Now you need to manually edit /etc/asterisk/zapata-channels.conf

    and in each channel in this file, you will find a line
    Context=from-pstn (just above the channel number)

    this needs to be changed to

    Context=from-zaptel

    for each channel in that file.

    Thats generally it.

    In the inbound routes, you can now use the DID numbers that you just entered and direct them to the correct extension or IVR.

    Just a couple of notes,

    1)The DID numbers you enter do not have to be real, you could enter 4444 and 4445 and 4446, but it makes it a lot easier, especially when looking at logs, if the correct numbers for each line are used.

    2) if you don't know linux that well, look under TOOLS in the Elastix menus, and you will find a file edit. Scroll through the files and you will find the zapata-channels.conf. Edit it this way.

    After you have finised reboot your system to pick up the new configs...

    Regards

    Bob
     
  6. hitechwizard

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    As a side note, if all the fxo's are going to the same destination, you can create a catch-all inbound route by not specifying any DID Number. This will handle most situations (not this one obviously) for single line/hunt group setups without having to tweak the context.

    Does /usr/sbin/genzaptelconf use the zapata.conf.template to build this file? If so, why not fix it there as part of the next build/release?
     
  7. rafael

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    1
    You can set the zap channel insted of the did. Try setting DID number with values such as: zapchan1 for the first zap channel, zapchan2 for the second and so for in each inbound route.

    Regards,

    Rafael
     

Share This Page