If my internet is down my PBX is down...

victorcasale

Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
46
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Dear Friends, I'm so lost... If my internet is down, my elastix stop working.. All internal extentions can't connect to elastix. I was reading in some posts about the need to install bind... Is it really necessary?

Any other method?

I Already tryed insertin srvlookup=no inside sip_custom.conf but nothing happened


Since now thank you all
 

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
There is a post somewhere here explaining how to setup a dns server/cache in your elastix box to avoid this problem.
 

Megabyte

Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
327
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
I will write two way you can take one:

method 1:

Create 2 boxes. Link both boxes using IAX. Make one of the boxs handles all your SIP
trunks (Box A). Make the other box (Box B) handles all your PSTN trunk and make sure
you comment out externhost from sip_general_custom.conf or sip_nat.conf in Box B.
Attach all your extensions to to box B
Direct all incoming SIP calls from Box A to Box B.
Direct all outgoing SIP calls from Box B to Box A.
Naturally you must create all the appropriate dial plans and routes to handles your
requirements in each of the boxes.
If for any reason internet is down, it will only effect Box A while Box B, where all your
extensions and PSTN trunks are will be spared. Of course if your router dies then all will
be dead.
Considering a basic box with 1GB RAM.

method 2:

Installing DNSMASQ



Either at the console or via SSH (Putty), after login type the following command



yum install dnsmasq



Wait for this to complete and show no errors



Now using your favourite editor in Linux (I use Nano) edit the following file



/etc/dnsmasq.conf



In dnsmasq.conf, you will find a line similar to the following diagram



dnsmasqconf1.png



Add this on the next line



server=172.22.22.5 ( naturally replace this with your router or ISP DNS Server)



So it now looks like the following diagram



dnsmasqconf2.png





Now access the System/Network Tab in Elastix and make the following changes



elastixdnssetup.png





1. The host remains as it is
2. The Gateway remains as it is
3. The primary DNS changes to 127.0.0.1 which is the local machine (Elastix Server).
4. The secondary DNS is clear



The reason for the secondary DNS to be empty is that if you add an address of your router or ISP in here, it will hang again, which is not what we want it to do. It checks DNSMASQ for a DNS address, doesn't get one, and falls straight through which is what we want.



REBOOT YOUR ELASTIX BOX (this is necessary).
 

johnme

Joined
Nov 28, 2008
Messages
148
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
Hi

Dnsmasq do the job but there is something else.

Elastix dies if cant find routers ip.

If you shut down your router, or there is a problem with the router and you can't ping to his ip, then asterisk dies.

So the problem with no internet is solved but there is one more step.

Hope there is an answer...

Hi again
John
 

johnme

Joined
Nov 28, 2008
Messages
148
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
Hi

I found 3 diferent solutions.
I will try them and if any of them worksi will let you know.

These are the 3 solutions for you to try.

1)
=========================================

1. I setup a SPA3000 as a SIP trunk with the trunk name
01-whatever (this made sure that the trunk sat right at the
beginning of sip_additional conf.

2. Then in etc/resolv.conf I have the following
192.168.1.1 (which is my routerip)
127.0.0.1

2)
============================================================

This has bugged me for a long time and I think I may have
solved it based on some suggestions above..

I created a SIP extension - ie 19999 and then a trunk
called SIPFAIL with the below:-

PEER DETAILS
username=SIP EXT
type=peer
secret=PASS
qualify=yes
host=IP ADDY OF * BOX

USER DETAILS
type=user
secret=PASS
context=from-trunk

REG STRING
SIPEXT:pASS@IP ADDY OF * BOX

It all registered OK and when the router was powered down,
all internal EXT worked fine - turned that TRUNK off and all internal EXT failed...

3)
==========================================================

srvlookup=yes

in etc/asterisk/sip_custom.conf

==========================================================

Hi again
John
 

johnme

Joined
Nov 28, 2008
Messages
148
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
Hi

I am one step from the solution.

Installing DNSMASQ

Either at the console or via SSH (Putty), after login type the following command

yum install dnsmasq

Wait for this to complete and show no errors

Now using your favourite editor in Linux (I use Nano) edit the following file

/etc/dnsmasq.conf

In dnsmasq.conf, you will find a line similar to the following diagram



Add this on the next line

server=172.22.22.5 ( naturally replace this with your router or ISP DNS Server)

So it now looks like the following diagram




Now access the System/Network Tab in Elastix and make the following changes




1. The host remains as it is
2. The Gateway remains as it is
3. The primary DNS changes to 127.0.0.1 which is the local machine (Elastix Server).
4. The secondary DNS is clear

The reason for the secondary DNS to be empty is that if you add an address of your router or ISP in here, it will hang again, which is not what we want it to do. It checks DNSMASQ for a DNS address, doesn't get one, and falls straight through which is what we want.








REBOOT YOUR ELASTIX BOX (this is necessary).

Now before you get going, make sure that you can ping a domain name from the Linux command prompt. e.g. I used one I have used before and also a site I have not pinged before. If it resolves the name then it is working.
=====================================================================
Now my stuff

After all that put in sip_general_custom.conf defaultexpirey=600 otherwise you will have problem with the registration of your external sip accounts.
in etc/rc.d/rc.local at the end of the file put:
/usr/sbin/amportal restart

in etc/asterisk/sip_custom.conf put:

srvlookup=no

With this configuration even with my router power down elastix is still working.
I did an amportal restart and still working.
But when i did a reboot the elastix dies.

So if we loose the router then we should not reboot elastix till we found the solution for the reboot.

I'm waiting for it....

Bye
John
 

telecomtechnician

Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
422
Likes
0
Points
16
#7
hi there

Can you be more specific in configuring the DNSMASQ? I cant find or see the diagram dnsmasqconf1.png

Thank you

David Medina
 

johnme

Joined
Nov 28, 2008
Messages
148
Likes
0
Points
0
#8

telecomtechnician

Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
422
Likes
0
Points
16
#9
Hi there

Thanks for your link.

I did the changes and it works fine, if there is no internet, elastix still works, but now I do not see my sip trunks. I erased them created all, and created from scratch and they do not appear in the CLI when I do sip show peers. I do a sip show peer XXXXXX (XXXXXX is the sip trunk) and it says it cannnot find it. It is like it does not exist.

The sip trunks DO APPEAR in the FOP and freepbx and in the sip_additional.conf file.

Definetely something changed in the .conf files after the installation and configuration of DNSmasq.

I would appreciate your help

David Medina
 

Members online

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,915
Messages
130,920
Members
17,594
Latest member
knethardsolutions
Top