IAX2 with my local service proider in the UK (AQL)

mintra

Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
36
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Hi

I have set up a telephone number through my local service provider, who has provided me with the instructions below, however the configuration files say the we should not edit them.

Can someone help me with how to translate the instructions into what I put where on the web interface?

_______________

To get connected to aql's wholesale gateways, you would need to create the following in your iax.conf file:

[__username__]
type=user
context=iax-inbound
auth=md5
host=sip.aql.com
username=__username__
secret=__inbound_password__
trunk=yes

[aql-outbound]
type=peer
context=iax
auth=md5
host=sip.aql.com
username=__username__
secret=__outbound_password__
trunk=yes

Also, you'd need to place the following in your extensions.conf file (where nnnnnn is the VoIP ID for the particular inbound number you want to use):

[outbound]
exten => _X!,1,Set(CALLERID(num)=nnnnnn)
exten => _X!,2,Dial(IAX2/aql-outbound/${EXTEN})

[iax-inbound]
exten => nnnnnn,1,Dial(SIP/100)
 

mintra

Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
36
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
I think what I am most unsure about is

1) Should I add the items for the iax.conf to iax_customs.conf and these for the extensions.conf
to the extensions_customs.conf.

OR

2) Should I not touch these conf files at all and do everything through the web interface, hence where I need some help to put what where.

OR

3) Is it a mixture of editing the conf files and doing something with the web interface.

I have a user ID and a username and password from the provider AQL
 

Patrick_elx

Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,120
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
you can do everything through the gui.
Create a new iax trunk:

in the peer detail enter:

type=peer
context=from-trunk
auth=md5
host=sip.aql.com
username=__username__
secret=__outbound_password__
trunk=yes

you maybe want a register string also.
 

mintra

Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
36
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
Thanks Patrick this helps, I was having some firewall blocking issues, but it still not working yet. AQL technical support is limited in this area, so if I can solve this I will try to do a how-to for them and me.

I have guessed the registration string is username:password@sip.aql.com

I guess also that the field user context is my account username however it could also be the id number I am not sure, I will try both.

Regarding the second part of the instructions below is this necessary and where in the GUI would I attend to this?

Also, you'd need to place the following in your extensions.conf file (where nnnnnn is the VoIP ID for the particular inbound number you want to use):

[outbound]
exten => _X!,1,Set(CALLERID(num)=nnnnnn)
exten => _X!,2,Dial(IAX2/aql-outbound/${EXTEN})

[iax-inbound]
exten => nnnnnn,1,Dial(SIP/100)
 

Patrick_elx

Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,120
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
mintra said:
Regarding the second part of the instructions below is this necessary and where in the GUI would I attend to this?

Also, you'd need to place the following in your extensions.conf file (where nnnnnn is the VoIP ID for the particular inbound number you want to use):

[outbound]
exten => _X!,1,Set(CALLERID(num)=nnnnnn)
exten => _X!,2,Dial(IAX2/aql-outbound/${EXTEN})

[iax-inbound]
exten => nnnnnn,1,Dial(SIP/100)
You don't need it that's what you are creating with the gui in inbound and outbound route.
 

mintra

Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
36
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
I can now make outgoing calls

If I make an incoming call I get

[Jun 10 11:14:20] NOTICE[3180]: chan_iax2.c:9680 socket_process: Registration of 'mintra' rejected: 'Registration Refused' from: '194.145.190.143'
elastix*CLI>

or

NOTICE[3177]: chan_iax2.c:9427 socket_process: Host 194.145.190.143 failed to authenticate as mintra


where 194.145.190.143 is the ip address of the aql iax2 trunk provider, they say I have the correct username and password. So I think I am putting something else in the wrong place.

I have tried the registration string as blank or the following format 'username':'password':sip.aql.com

AQL are saying.

Also, you will need to configure your system for inbound and outbound calls to use the following credentials, so the password our system sends with a connection is accepted by your system as the logins match, and the same on outbound:

What may I need to do to get inbound working

John
 

mintra

Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
36
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
I get there in the end I put the following in the user details which I got from the elastix without tears, the only different thing is the type=friend.

host=sip.aql.com
username="My username"
auth=md5
secret="mypassword"
type=friend
context=from-trunk
qualify=yes
insecure=very

The user context is set as my user name. The outbound caller ID is my IAX ID
Then I needed to make it such that the inbound route had my IAX ID is the DID number.

Now I can answer calls.
 

johnyoung6966

Joined
Jul 17, 2010
Messages
2
Likes
0
Points
0
#8
Hi,
I am having trouble getting incoming calls using AQL IAX trunk.

IAX peers registered ok - but whichever way I insert the "register string" I get not registered.

Can you post your full trunk setup please - would help loads

Thanks

John
 

mintra

Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
36
Likes
0
Points
0
#9
I have left the register string blank

The outbound caller id is the iax2 trunk number supplied by AQL

Trunk name whatever you like.

User context is my AQL user name

Then the user details are as posted above

he peer is as below

host=sip.aql.com
username={your aql username}
auth=md5
secret={your secret}
type=peer
context=from-trunk
trunk=yes
qualify=yes
insecure=very

Oh an of course AQL need to know your fixed IP address and you need to be sure no firewall is blocking the relevant incoming.

Good luck I had to use a lot of swearing to get this working, the AQL support mantra is read their link and that does not work.
 

mintra

Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
36
Likes
0
Points
0
#10
UPDATE FOR ELASTIX 2.x

Again I had to sweat buckets to get an IAX2 trunk working this time it was because
of the additional security in Elastix2.

I hope AQL will take the time to address the evolution of IAX2 within there support procedures
however the benifits of this forum are clear.

This post regarding editing

/etc/asterisk/iax_general_custom.conf

and adding

calltokenoptional = 0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0

or at least specify the IPs you want to allow

Was a life saver (literally as I needed to get a AIDS helpline working)

http://www2.elastix.org/en/component/ku ... nd-15.html
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,902
Messages
130,886
Members
17,564
Latest member
Mai Tuyen
Top