How to upload Cisco ip firmware from asterisk box

osama

Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Hi reveyone
I have Cisco Ip Phone 7911g but with SCCP firmware , i want to upload SIP firmware without useing Call manager , any one can help
 

donbaba

Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
5
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
Suggest to install to tftpd32 to your pc and follow the instructions. connect the phone directly to you PC using a cross cable. this will upgrade you firmware on the cisco phone. the easiest way. if you have many to do use a HUB or switch.
 

osama

Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
donbaba said:
Suggest to install to tftpd32 to your pc and follow the instructions. connect the phone directly to you PC using a cross cable. this will upgrade you firmware on the cisco phone. the easiest way. if you have many to do use a HUB or switch.
can you give me more details about that way plzz , iam sorry but iam a beginner and i need to do that badly
 

Patrick_elx

Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,120
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
do some google search.
You will find many help on the voip-info.org and the cisco website.

use keywords like 'upgrade cisco 79xx to SIP'
http://lodge.glasgownet.com/tech/upgrade-a-cisco-7911-to-sip-firmware/

You will find answers for 7960 phones, the files will probably not be the same, however the setup of the tftp server and dhcp options are the same.

Also if you have an Elastix already installed, your tftp server is already there. You just need to put the correct files in the /tftp folder and make sure that the dhcp server on your network is sending the proper option 66 and 150
 

osama

Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
Patrick_elx said:
do some google search.
You will find many help on the voip-info.org and the cisco website.

use keywords like 'upgrade cisco 79xx to SIP'
http://lodge.glasgownet.com/tech/upgrade-a-cisco-7911-to-sip-firmware/

You will find answers for 7960 phones, the files will probably not be the same, however the setup of the tftp server and dhcp options are the same.

Also if you have an Elastix already installed, your tftp server is already there. You just need to put the correct files in the /tftp folder and make sure that the dhcp server on your network is sending the proper option 66 and 150
you mean that i just do
1 - but the sip firmware files into /tftpboot dir
2 - connect the phone with server by cross cable
3 - turn on server
and the firmware will sending to my phone
that just what i do , or i miss understand you
 

Patrick_elx

Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,120
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
yes, as long as your elastix server has a DHCP server on to let your phone get an IP.
 

osama

Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
Patrick_elx said:
yes, as long as your elastix server has a DHCP server on to let your phone get an IP.
thanx alot , but in elastix server DHCP be "on" as default or i need to configure it
 

Patrick_elx

Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,120
Likes
0
Points
0
#8
no on Elastix DHCP server is off by default.

If you want to start it you need to do a
system-network-dhcp
and restart the server.

however, make sure that you don't have another dhcp server on your network at the same time (router, firewall, etc...)
 

osama

Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
0
#9
Patrick_elx said:
no on Elastix DHCP server is off by default.

If you want to start it you need to do a
system-network-dhcp
and restart the server.

however, make sure that you don't have another dhcp server on your network at the same time (router, firewall, etc...)
no network it will be the server connect with the phone just taht , right ??
 

Patrick_elx

Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,120
Likes
0
Points
0
#10
use a cross cable then if you are connecting your phone directly to the server (or add a switch / hub in the middle).
 

osama

Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
0
#11
Patrick_elx said:
use a cross cable then if you are connecting your phone directly to the server (or add a switch / hub in the middle).
I really appreciate that , I need the last thing , when i try to download a SIP firmware from cisco web site i cant cuz i dont have a rights to download from it can you help me for that
 

Patrick_elx

Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,120
Likes
0
Points
0
#12
No sorry I can't.
I do not have a SIP firmware for your phone.
You should open an account with Cisco and pay a subscription to have access to these firmware.

Search around on the web, you may be able to find some older releases. I've seen firmware for 7940/60 and 7905/12. There are probably others out there.
 

osama

Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
0
#13
Patrick_elx said:
No sorry I can't.
I do not have a SIP firmware for your phone.
You should open an account with Cisco and pay a subscription to have access to these firmware.

Search around on the web, you may be able to find some older releases. I've seen firmware for 7940/60 and 7905/12. There are probably others out there.
thanx alot after i search i found that if you need it
http://certcollection.org/forum/archive ... 19247.html
 

Members online

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,918
Messages
130,924
Members
17,601
Latest member
andrebr
Top