How to upgrade modules

Discussion in 'General' started by vaibhavs, Oct 2, 2009.

  1. vaibhavs

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have been using Trixbox for the past 2 years.
    I have just moved from to Elastix and I am must say its a refreshing experience.

    How do I upgrade the modules in Elastix ?

    Should I use the Unembedded freePBX >> Module Admin or is there any option within Elastix GUI ?

    Thx for the support in advance.

    Vai
     
  2. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    vaibhavs:

    Welcome, I'm glad you've come over from the darkside.

    The safest way is to use the Elastix upgrade process (that will get you to 2.5.whatever of FreepBX. Does trickybox still call it FreePBX since they forked it up?).

    If you need to be "better" than what works, then, yes use the unembedded, many of us have, there are a few gotchas if you go that route (search the forums for details)

    dicko
     
  3. vaibhavs

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thx dicko.

    In Elastix GUI, System >> Updates seems to be dealing with OS level updates only?

    I need to upgrade my Asterisk packages as shown in Unembedded freePBX >> Module Admin.
    See screenshot.

    I tried Elastix GUI : System >> Updates >> Repositories Update too.
    After some processing, I got a message that everything was already updated.

    But Unembedded freePBX >> Module Admin shows Online Upgrade Available against many modules.

    What should I do?
    Should I upgrade using FreePBX interface ?
    This is a production environment server, hence I want to move carefully.

    Are there any downsides or stability issues with FreePBX Online upgrade.

    Please advcie.

    Thx
    Vai [​IMG]
     
  4. Mirko87

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've updated my PBX half an hour ago, from Free PBX... and all works good...

    By the way... in the shell you could run: yum update
     
  5. vaibhavs

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thx Mirko87.
    Simply yum update does it all ??
    Or do I need any additional decleration after yum update ?

    Thx again.
    Vai
     
  6. Mirko87

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, yum update upgrades your system (CentOS repository and Elastix Repository)... After all, you can look at free pbx module update manager, and if something is available you could complete the upgrade from the gui...

    Regards,
    Mirko
     
  7. vaibhavs

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have just hit yum update

    Code:
    Transaction Summary
    =============================================================================
    Install      9 Package(s)
    Update     212 Package(s)
    Remove       0 Package(s)
    
    Total download size: 362 M
    
    This should put the house in order!

    Thx Mirko!
     
  8. vaibhavs

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    For the records, "yum update" did not help in upgrading FreePBX modules.

    Please see the attached screenshots of "yum update" and FreePBX Module Admin.

    Did I miss anything ?

    I finally did a yum update for OS & FreePBX Module Admin to update all FreePBX modules. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page