How to take Image of Elastix system

Kranti

Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
28
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Hi,

We configured some extensions and etc in the elastix system. We need the same kind of configuration in many systems.

Can anybody suggest that how to take the image of the system into CD?

Thanks,
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#2
I think at : Norton Ghost
 

Kranti

Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
28
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
I heard that Norton ghost is for Window Imaging. I need elastix (centOS) system image.
 

Usuarioforum

Joined
Nov 15, 2007
Messages
93
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
PBA. Personal Backup Apliance. Is an old distribution but if your hardware are supported is a very good solution.

Cheers
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#5

Kranti

Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
28
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
Hi danard,

I didn't understood what you said.

Can you please explain how to imaging

Thanks
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#7
there's a linux command:
>dd

With this dd command, you could make an iso file!

>dd if=/dev/hda of=/mnt/disk_sav/my_iso

You understand now? :blink:
 

rafael

Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
1,454
Likes
1
Points
0
#8
just for the record /dev/hda equals your first ide hard drive. If you use sata or scci you would be using /dev/sda

What dd does is copy byte by byte and exact copy to the file you put on of. I don't think this image would fit on a cd. Normaly the hard drive would be several gb and a cd can only have around 700 MB, a dvd around 4 gb.

You could use dd to clone to hard discs and it would work good. What I would recomend you is to use the backaup restore module of Elastix. That way you only back up the important data and not the whole disc.

Regards,

Rafael
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#9
hi rafael.

If he want clone the config, for reinstall on several server, he can use an external hard disk and not a DVD.
It's posssible no?
 

saleh

Joined
Apr 18, 2007
Messages
249
Likes
0
Points
0
#10

rafael

Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
1,454
Likes
1
Points
0
#11
@danardf
It is digital information so you can use any medium. The backup/restore module of Elastix is made for this.

Regards,

Rafael
 

lfain

Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
22
Likes
0
Points
0
#12

mattrh

Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
175
Likes
0
Points
0
#13
you can also use a product named Acronis. You can also admin it from a windows system. the best thing is that it will take a full image of the system while it is running and not interrupt your business. the down side is the price.
 

DaveD

Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
597
Likes
0
Points
16
#14
You can not beat Mondo rescue, it just works is easy to setup and no down time to make the image
 

velez

Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
55
Likes
0
Points
8
#15
Kranti said:
Hi,

We configured some extensions and etc in the elastix system. We need the same kind of configuration in many systems.

Can anybody suggest that how to take the image of the system into CD?

Thanks,
The elastix or freepbx backup works all you need is winscp to get the tar from the existing pbx and copy it to the new pbx. The only issue I have is that you have go over the complete extensions. Other option is Ghost for Linux (it is an ISO) you boot the pbx and it allows you to create a image or copy two disk. The new disk must me same size or bigger. The partition will be the same size
 

lfain

Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
22
Likes
0
Points
0
#16
Do you think that it is a good idea to make image of a live system?
Also, as far as I remember Mondo makes full disk image. In contrust, rapid-recovery allows you don't copy some folders rather just their structure (directory names). For example, you can avoid copying of call recording files and voice mails.
 

mattrh

Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
175
Likes
0
Points
0
#17
Acronis allows you to make full images, and you can also exclude files. it acts like a ghost software so there isnt any down time. we also have this loaded out on all our severs (75 windows, 12 linux) haven't had a problem yet. it also give you the option to make a boot cd that will make it so you can create an image in a boot loaded state, or reload an images.

you don't really want to avoid copying those files because it will cause errors on elastix with fire references that don't exist.
 

haamed

Joined
Jul 23, 2007
Messages
251
Likes
0
Points
0
#18
Wow really thanks, it works great,
 

itjumper

Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
81
Likes
0
Points
0
#19
Acronis is great, but if you want real time backup, use mondo
 

userfromca

Joined
Jun 30, 2007
Messages
30
Likes
0
Points
0
#20
I have successfully made a copy of elastix hard drive using clonezilla. (Another great open source software like Elastix). I used this as a backup before doing yum update from Elastix 1.0 to 1.3-2.

http://clonezilla.org/

It even allows you copy from smaller drive to larger drive adjusting the size and many more things like copying image to Samba server etc.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
30,951
Messages
130,979
Members
17,652
Latest member
joeljag_19
Top