How to setup Wildcard TDM400P

Discussion in 'General' started by drinkndrive, Sep 23, 2009.

1. drinkndrive

im a newbie.... i got soft-phones to talk to other soft-phone within LAN...and i have a Wildcard TDM400P card install on my server...and the problem is ...i want to use a standard phone that connects to the card and be able to make call to my other soft-phone within LAN....any one know how to do this ?

PS: Elastix has already detected my hardware...but i have no idea what is the next step...

Ps: im using Elastix 1.1-7

2. DaveD

You Have the TDM400P card but to connect a standard analog phone you will need an FXS module on the card, do you have this ?

Also I recommend Elastix without tears as a good read to set you in the right direction

3. drinkndrive

hi DaveD !
    thanks for answering my question.

i have 2 FXO on port #1 and #2 and both are active....!!!
    do i need FXS ? or FXO would work just fine ?

i have read tho Elastix without tears ....but i still don't get it....
    i wonder ...if i only want to use the analog phone in LAN ..do i need to setup "incoming route" "outbound route" and "ZAP Trunk" ? can't i just set it up like how i done it with soft-phone or SIP phone by giving it an extension number and point it to the TDM400P port #1 ? ...

4. dicko

Before Elastix . . .

We had a physical "Telephone", (which was pretty stupid on it's own) and we paid a "Telephone Company" every month for a "Telephone Line", which was clever and made our phone ring when somebody called that number, and listened to what a "Telephone" had to say.

Connect a "Telephone" to a "Telephone Line" and it works!

"Telephone Lines" connect to FXO ports, (Technically the FXO ports "sink" current) , "Telephones" connect to FXS ports (Technically The FXS ports "source" current).