How to setup Trunk for outbound only

jandir

Joined
Aug 24, 2008
Messages
65
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
I have a zap trunk that I want to use for outbound calls only. For incoming calls I have a fax machine to take the call. The Fax machine is connected in parallel to the Elastix box directly to the POTS line.

However for an incoming call on the POTS line the Elastix box tries to route the call using one of the inbound routes. I have a IPKall inbound route for Any DID/Any CID which, I believe, tries to handle the call and rings a group of extensions.

How do I stop Elastix from handling any incoming calls on the Zap trunk?

Thank you.
 

jandir

Joined
Aug 24, 2008
Messages
65
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
Another related question

"How can I tie or bind an inbound route to one or more trunks?"
 

busster8

Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Messages
50
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
Remove all incoming routes.
 

jandir

Joined
Aug 24, 2008
Messages
65
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
Well... I do need to handle incoming Calls, just not from this trunk.
 

busster8

Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Messages
50
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
Asterisk does not determine the incoming call. Your service provider does. If you have sip trunks from providerA and providerB, you can direct your outbound calls over which ever provider you want. The incoming calls are determined by which ever provider has the local telephone number(s) or toll free services you subscribed to. If you are getting 5 channels from providerA on telephone number 212-555-1234, ProviderB does not terminate this calls. You arrange with providerA your incoming calls.
 

busster8

Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Messages
50
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
If the fax line is terminated both on the fax and into the Asterisk box, make the incoming destination with in Asterisk an extension without voicemail. It will ring both at the fax and Asterisk. Asterisk will just let it ring, Fax will autoanswer after a couple of rings.
 

mvrossum

Joined
Mar 20, 2009
Messages
5
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
Old posts are still very helpfull !
thanks for this solution, works like a charm !
 

fmvillares

Joined
Sep 8, 2007
Messages
1,785
Likes
0
Points
0
#8
of course they are, thats the point of search engines!!! maybe a little karma up to the guy that post the solution will help even more
 

jandir

Joined
Aug 24, 2008
Messages
65
Likes
0
Points
0
#9
Eventually I had setup NVFax to receive faxes instead of the Fax machine. That way i could also use the POTS line to receive voice calls since NVFax could distinguish between voice and fax call and would route the incoming call accordingly. Also, receiving faxes digitally was more convenient.

The Fax machine was still connected to the the line but only used to send faxes.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,915
Messages
130,920
Members
17,595
Latest member
feparra121
Top