How to setup manual control for day/night

Discussion in 'General' started by Uzasa7, Aug 13, 2010.

1. Uzasa7

Hi

i have a problem where i need to setup this day/night where i can turn it ether on or off using the user phone, It should go to voicemail the recording. so it would be something similar to an answering machine. i would like to know if this can be done and if so how do you do it?

Cheers

Chris

2. dicko

Well, one way to do that would to be to read the day/night control page pertinent to the one you want to control.

do you have something that looks a bit like:-

Use feature code: *280 to toggle DAY/NIGHT mode

(If you have more than one, I believe that they will increment to match.)

if not maybe you need to update your system, (it's been there for quite a while) what versions of Elastix/FreePBX are you using?

dicko

3. elwood8

I have been using such a setup in production for several months now, with great success (on an Elastix 1.6 install).

Hopefully I am remembering the steps I took to set it up properly... Here's a brief list of what I did:

1. Go under 'Unembedded FreePBX' under the main 'PBX' tab on your Elastix web interface.
    2. Set up a new Day/Night mode definition with the 'day' and 'night' behaviour your desire
    3. Save it. I think it defaults to *280 as the day/night feature code to switch it from a phone.
    (in my case I use a ring-group destination during the day, and VM at night)
    4. Use the 'Apply Configuration Changes' button-thing to activate this.
    5. Go to 'Inbound Routes', and change the route of the line(s)/DID(s) you wish to control to point at your Day/Night mode you just set up (this will be a new option at the bottom of the Inbound Route screen now that you set one up).