How to install network(IP) printer

Discussion in 'General' started by DjBac, Sep 13, 2009.

  1. DjBac

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been searching a lot on how to install a network-IP printer to Elastix in order to use it with the Fax module!!

    Any guide for it?
     
  2. donhwyo

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I would look at cups as it is the printing system used by centos. I am not sure if it is installed by default.
    Code:
    yum list cups
    will tell if it is installed.

    Good luck,
    Don
     
  3. DjBac

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried installing it but i cannot access the webgui!!
     
  4. donhwyo

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. DjBac

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can print a test page throught the CUPS webgui, but when I put the printer's name in avantfax I get no print!
    Could this have something to do with allow, deny?

    I've set it for now allow:all
     
  6. donhwyo

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    It sounds like your printer is installed now. I am not sure what you are trying to do but I assume you want to print incoming faxes. I think you need to look at hylafax to do that. As far as I know avantfax is a front end to hylafax. There is also the Fax setting under the Elastix web interface that may help. Also a front end to hylafax.

    Don
     
  7. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    It should be the name of the queue (not the printer name )

    you need to allow user uucp to print to that queue for avantfax/hylafax.

    AllowUser uucp

    in the right bit of /etc/cups/printers.conf (after you set up the printers)
     
  8. DjBac

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any info on where I could get the name of the queue?
     
  9. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    From your memory? you named it when you built it, no?

    CUPS is a head end for lp

    man lpadmin
    and
    man lp

    I suggest, for a little insight.

    http://<ipaddress>:631 for the gui, but only available to the host of the queue unless you edit /etc/cups/cupsd.conf
     
  10. DjBac

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's no option in CUPS webgui for any queue, is it?

    I tried it with lpadmin command, but I get connection refused!
     
  11. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    The CUPS daemon is a service it must be running to use it. It must be configured to allow admin outside localhost unless you have a local gui for full functionality.

    My queues never refuse me, back to the manual maybe?


    As I suggested before there is a hardware module for webmin that you might find less confusing.
     

Share This Page